Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
August 18, 2012

more

August 18, 2012

I have been both a volunteer and a donor for LCE. I was impressed because: their services are targeted where most needed; the staff is well-organized and able to inspire the volunteers; service delivery is efficient and cost-effective; and beneficiaries respond well to the caring and improvements provided. LCE well-deserves additional support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

What I appreciate the most about LCE is it's commitment to excellence in representation. They make doing pro bono legal work easy--a good choice of cases, helpful support staff, and backup from top notch lawyers. I represented an LCE client in a probate matter, and an LCE staff attorney helped me think though the implications of certain approaches to the case. As a result I was able to obtain excellent results for my client and develop my own expertise. LCE does an outstanding job representing clients and supporting pro bono attorneys.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

The AARP Legal Counsel for the Elderly provides free legal services to the vulnerable elderly in Washington, DC. As a leader in the aging services in the Districts, I've seen first hand how they've helped seniors save their homes from predatory lending and tax sales, get the services they need to stay in their homes and apartments, helped nursing home residents get the quality care they deserve and help recognize and report Medicare fraud. They also perform a host of other sevices including wills, powers of attorney, ID theft prevention, benefits access and more. Because AARP provides office space and expenses for overhead, donations go directly to serving clients. They also do an amazing job of partnering with the big law firms in DC who provide pro bono help to people who really need it.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

I volunteer as a poverty paralegal for AARP Legal council for the elderly. We help the needest people with most of their legal problems,wills, bankruptcy. improper evictions, help with social security and medicare problems, improper billing and many other problems. As a poverty paralegal I do not give advice but I do take down information that the attorney's use to solve the problems. Because of this help many seniors now remainin their homes. and have proper health care and the right amount of government support that they are entitled to.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2011

more

March 18, 2011

AARP Legal Counsel for the Elder is one of the best volunteer experiences that I have ever had. As an undergrad, I was not entirely sure how an office functions in it's day to day life, but LCE was very welcoming and helped me adjust to a more professional lifestyle. Probably the best part of volunteering is reaching out to DC seniors and knowing that you are helping those in need. Although I volunteered in Outreach and Development, I was able to speak to and get to know many volunteers throughout LCE's different programs as well. Every conversation I've had with the volunteers and employees has been a good one, and I have learned something new every day.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen the articles that i have written on volunteers experience be posted on LCE's facebook page, with favorable reactions from the people who they were written about. I am proud that I had the opportunity to help tell their stories and that I help recognize them for their great accomplishments.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that i can personally think of.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers