Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Legal Counsel for the Elderly (LCE) has a phenomenal staff that personally impact and uplift the poor elderly residents of Washington, DC. Beyond that personal interaction, LCE goes one important step further, by identifying systemic issues that are essentially obstacles to elderly residents living their best lives. Equally important is the fact that some of the most successful attorneys and law firms in the city provide their services pro bono to LCE. Priceless!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do more to get the word out about this wonderful service and expand it beyond the borders of Washington, DC

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with the Legal Counsel for the Elderly for over 20 year, and it is a terrific organization. The staff is totally dedicated to the mission and wonderful to work with. LCE fills a critical need in the District of Columbia protecting the rights of the city's elderly population.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

I have enjoyed working with Legal Counsel for the Elderly and assisting their clients in the preparation of wills and powers of attorney. The training provided was very helpful and the responsiveness of the organization to questions has been very quick.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

From personal experiences, I know that Legal Counsel for the Elderly is dedicated to its mission of providing representation for elderly residents of the District of Columbia. The staff of lawyers is led by Jan May, who not only is expert is elderly law but provides counsel to the greater community, works to achieve legislative goals and provides advice to the executive branch of city government. I should note my belief that the program works independently of AARP, its creator, so it can advocate for its clients without regard to any commercial interests. A solid program that should be replicated elsewhere.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Simplify access to its offices and redesign its computer system.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

I am a retired attorney who lives in Washington, D.C. in a diverse neighborhood with a mix of all income brackets and ages. I am periodically approached for advice. I particularly noted that the elderly were particularly vulnerable and often taken advantage of by landlords, and creditors attempting unlawful collection actions against Social Security and VA benefits.
I identified this organization and referred 2 very needy senior citizen to them for help. I was so impressed with the compassionate help they provided at no cost that I became a recurring contributor. I have been so touched by the impact of their work and the peace of mind it gives to some of the most vulnerable of our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Their customer service is great. I would suggest they keep doing what they are doing so very well

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013

more

January 3, 2013

Smart programs, dedicated staff, meaningful impact. As a nonprofit professional and graduate of Indiana University's School of Public and Environmental Affairs, I gained the opportunity to work with and study a variety of nonprofit organizations. Legal Counsel for the Elderly (LCE) ranks first on my list of the best nonprofits I've had the privilege to serve. Enthusiasm for their mission and devotion to their constituents is strongly felt throughout the organization. When combined with carefully crafted programs and thoughtful application of resources, LCE greatly exceeds the criteria of a model organization. Serving an area of great need in the District, LCE makes meaningful use of every donor dollar and if you are looking to support one organization, put LCE at the top of your list.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As a Masters of Social Work student from Howard University School of Social Work, with a concentration in displaced populations, I have had the honor and privilege of interning at Legal Counsel for the Elderly: Alternatives to Landlord/Tenant Court Project, for two years. While under the supervision and guidance of the Licensed Clinical Social Worker, I have had the opportunity to assist the Alternatives Project in their proactive efforts to prevent homelessness and eviction for vulnerable elderly tenants in DC. Words cannot express how fortunate and gracious I am to have had the opportunity to observe such compassionate, empowering, non-judgmental, and holistic services to at-risk elders and their families; often facing mental, emotional, social, and environmental challenges. The team at LCE: Alternatives Project are truly an incredible illustration of how effective the collaboration of lawyers and social workers can be in insuring that vulnerable elders are not obtaining a Band-Aid, but acquiring comprehensive support services that attend to all of their psycho-social needs. I am a better social worker and individual from my experiences here at Legal Counsel for the Elderly: Alternatives to Landlord/Tenant Court Project.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

My time working with AARP Legal Counsel for the Elderly (LCE) after law school was truly life changing. LCE is a group of passionate advocates for the elderly community in the District of Columbia. I had the opportunity to work with talented legal professionals and volunteers who prioritized every client and treated everyone with respect no matter the issue and no matter the person's circumstances. My favorite part of working with LCE was the one-on-one client interaction. Books cannot give you that type of interaction. It was a great learning experience that taught me a person-centered approach to advocacy, and I know my time with LCE will impact the rest of my career.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

LCE has a tremendous volunteer network, and it could not touch so many lives without the support of its passionate community of volunteers.

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

LCE provides vital services to the vulnerable elderly in DC. Their staff is lovely to work with and truly cares about making a difference in their clients' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The attorneys and support staff at Legal Counsel for the Elderly are all consummate professionals who are dedicated solely to advancing the interests of Washington, DC's vulnerable seniors. They are also a great group of people to work with -- friendly, passionate about their work, and confident that they are making a difference in their clients' lives. I would highly recommend this organization to others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers