Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I have been volunteering in the Share of Cost clinic organized regularly by the Legal Aid Society for years. It is a very well organized program, with good training and training refreshers at the beginning of every clinic, and there are always attorneys around to help with questions you have as they come up. I would definitely encourage others to work with this great nonprofit organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I have volunteered several times over the past few years at the Share of Costs" clinic to help clients who have lost their medical coverage obtain coverage. Athough the training was excellent and I have practiced law for over twenty years, it was a very humbling expreience to work with clients in an area of law that was unfamiliar to me.The supervising attorney, Trish, was amazing. She always seemed poised and unflappable, despite having multiple volunteer attorneys all trying to get her attention at once to ask for help. When she comes to your table to provide help, she very quickly helps you clarify the issue and guide you to formulating advice to provide the client in a manner that well serves the client's needs and doesn't make you feel like you don't know what you are doing. After each volunteer session I felt that in some very small way I was helping people in dire need of assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Share of Costs clinic is a very good program. They provide good training materials, and excellent backup help is always available during the clinic.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My law firm and I have worked directly with Legal Aid of Society of San Mateo County for many years. The staff attorneys are excellent, not only are they very knowledgeable but they mentor and assist the volunteer attorneys. My volunteer experience has been very rewarding and would strongly encourage other legal professionals in the area to work witih this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been volunteering at Legal Aid for a few weeks now and can tell you it is rewarding. Legal Aid's lawyers and staff are super knowledgeable and their level of care for their clients is unparalleled. There are so many people in San Mateo County that are in such dire need of even basic legal counsel let alone help with evictions and other court related matters. It is a wonderful feeling to know these people can find solace and advice from such a fabulous organization that is aimed at providing and filling a need in our community. I am proud and honored to be a part of Legal Aid.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This is a great organization, not only to work with but also in providing a valuable service to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Legal Aid Society of San Mateo provides essential services to the community. Their attorneys have incredible expertise in their field and passion for their work. I have worked alongside them in the monthly Share of Costs clinic helping low income seniors and people with disabilities obtain the critical health services they need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Among its programs, the Legal Aid Society of San Mateo hosts a monthly "Share the Costs" clinic for poverty-level residents having difficulty negotiating the complexity of federal and state medical expense suport programs. Attorneys at this clinic regularly resolve major life crises for people who are suffering significant medical problems and simultaneous encountering crushing expenses for their care. And, for those with problems too complex to be resolved in a law clinic setting, the Society's in-house counsel provides the necessary continuing legal representation so they find themselves supported during these difficult life periods.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I worked for Legal Aid for a little less than one year, but it left a lasting impression on me. Even when I moved to another organization, I have continued to volunteer with Legal Aid. I participate in the Share of Cost clinics and am a volunteer for the annual Golf Tournament. The organization works tirelessly for the residents of San Mateo County. The Share of Cost clinics, which I volunteer for, provide an opportunity to help as many individuals as possible on one afternoon. The clinics bring in individuals who are having problems with their Medi-Cal. Since all of the individuals served at these clinics are elderly, disabled, or both, if they are without Medi-Cal, that can be a death sentence. I have learned that even a small amount of time and assistance from my end can have a dramatic impact on someone's life. The clinics are a very effective vehicle for educating individuals about issues with their Medi-Cal and how to resolve problems on their own, when possible. Legal Aid always assists the individuals fully, and takes many cases per year in an effort to make sure that no one in the county goes without their basic needs (this includes the services provided in the housing clinic and other departments within Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County).

Working as a volunteer for Legal Aid provides an opportunity to give back and make a difference. The organization is filled with lawyers who work for the good of individuals who desperately need assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As an attorney who volunteers for Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County, I have come to appreciate the quality with which this organization provides legal services to needy residents of San Mateo County. In the several months I have volunteered there, I have met many caring staff members helping the public in so many ways, and who are always willing to help volunteers like me as questions arise.
I have seen how Legal Aid's new office space in Redwood Shores provides a professional facility that sets needy persons at ease and gives them confidence, starting with dedicated off-street parking, a comfortable waiting area with amenities for children, and private offices that allow confidential consultation with Legal Aid attorneys and staff.
I have also enjoyed volunteering at the clinics run by Legal Aid to provide services in the community for the benefit of low-income tenants facing eviction.
In every way, my volunteer work has been so fulfilling because, with the support of the dedicated staff at Legal Aid, I have been able to help so many people so well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Obtain funding for a high-speed color copier/printer/scanner and transition to paperless case files for greater efficiency and reduced environmental impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers