Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Among its programs, the Legal Aid Society of San Mateo hosts a monthly "Share the Costs" clinic for poverty-level residents having difficulty negotiating the complexity of federal and state medical expense suport programs. Attorneys at this clinic regularly resolve major life crises for people who are suffering significant medical problems and simultaneous encountering crushing expenses for their care. And, for those with problems too complex to be resolved in a law clinic setting, the Society's in-house counsel provides the necessary continuing legal representation so they find themselves supported during these difficult life periods.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I worked for Legal Aid for a little less than one year, but it left a lasting impression on me. Even when I moved to another organization, I have continued to volunteer with Legal Aid. I participate in the Share of Cost clinics and am a volunteer for the annual Golf Tournament. The organization works tirelessly for the residents of San Mateo County. The Share of Cost clinics, which I volunteer for, provide an opportunity to help as many individuals as possible on one afternoon. The clinics bring in individuals who are having problems with their Medi-Cal. Since all of the individuals served at these clinics are elderly, disabled, or both, if they are without Medi-Cal, that can be a death sentence. I have learned that even a small amount of time and assistance from my end can have a dramatic impact on someone's life. The clinics are a very effective vehicle for educating individuals about issues with their Medi-Cal and how to resolve problems on their own, when possible. Legal Aid always assists the individuals fully, and takes many cases per year in an effort to make sure that no one in the county goes without their basic needs (this includes the services provided in the housing clinic and other departments within Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County).

Working as a volunteer for Legal Aid provides an opportunity to give back and make a difference. The organization is filled with lawyers who work for the good of individuals who desperately need assistance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

As an attorney who volunteers for Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County, I have come to appreciate the quality with which this organization provides legal services to needy residents of San Mateo County. In the several months I have volunteered there, I have met many caring staff members helping the public in so many ways, and who are always willing to help volunteers like me as questions arise.
I have seen how Legal Aid's new office space in Redwood Shores provides a professional facility that sets needy persons at ease and gives them confidence, starting with dedicated off-street parking, a comfortable waiting area with amenities for children, and private offices that allow confidential consultation with Legal Aid attorneys and staff.
I have also enjoyed volunteering at the clinics run by Legal Aid to provide services in the community for the benefit of low-income tenants facing eviction.
In every way, my volunteer work has been so fulfilling because, with the support of the dedicated staff at Legal Aid, I have been able to help so many people so well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Obtain funding for a high-speed color copier/printer/scanner and transition to paperless case files for greater efficiency and reduced environmental impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

It serves such a great service in our community. We have a large number of people from all walks of life in need. Everyone that works there has a great heart for the people they help. I admire them all for their contined caring and devotion to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing. It is well run and fundraiser a are well attended.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012

more

December 4, 2012

LSAMC serves a widely diverse community and serves many more than their staff should allow. They serve children to elder on issues. housing to DV. They set up matters in a way that makes the pro bono volunteer's work easy to start and are always there with a helping hand to keep things moving. Their training programs and staff are top notch. They are a great blessing to the penninsula region and their impact is felt far beyond the region by their coordination with other agencies statewide.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Legal Aid Society of San Mateo has a wonderful domestic violence restraining order clinic. This program is able to provide great training to pro bono attorneys and to quickly match them up with clients who need their services in navigating the legal system. At a recent hearing in San Mateo Superior Court, I met four other attorneys representing clients in obtaining restraining orders that morning. These attorneys were from both large and small firms, which shows that the clinic has a rich network. I look forward to working with this organization in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

For many years now, I have been consistently WOWED by the Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County. It offers such a diverse array of critical services -- FOR FREE -- to needy families in the community. It has been quite an honor to be able to volunteer with this great organization on occasion. Janet Seldon, the E.D., is particularly fantastic -- knowledgeable, smart, and caring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County has an amazing staff of talented and devoted attorneys.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Legal Aid Society of San Mateo County provides legal services to the members of our community who are the most needy- the elderly, the homeless, the unemployed with children, the disabled- who simply cannot afford legal representation, and they provide these services at a high quality level. The attorneys and staff at Legal Aid are some of the most dedicated professionals you will find in a non-profit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Legal Aid is deeply rooted in San Mateo County legal community. It attracts the faithful support of lawyers because of the direct legal services it provides for the county citizens. The staff lawyers are respected not only for their sterling credentials but also because of their effective advocacy and concern for the least privileged in our community. Their collaboration with county government, health care professionals, and social workers is well-known. Sitting in their offices and clinics for even a few minutes brings home the fact that these lawyers are giving 100% to their clients. Their results are outstanding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers