Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

The L.E.E.K. preserve, located near Oswayo, Pennsylvania, offers an invaluable service to America's Wounded Warriors. This venue offers guided hunts to service members who might not otherwise be able to enjoy nature's splendor. Volunteer guides direct the hunts and get to spend time with those who have served our country valiantly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having a chance to serve our military for at military personnel was a humbling and gratifying experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

L.E.E.K is an outgstanding organization, which has provided excellent service to our well-deserving wounded warriors. These men and women of the Armed Services have taken the time to protect us and keep us safe. L.E.E.K is a great organization that helps us say a hearty "Thank You."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've watched the organization grow from a dream to reality, and its growth has rejuvenated my own spirit of volunteerism.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes!

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

This review is dedicated for the LEEK Hunting and Mountain Preserve in Oswayo, Pennsylvania.

I am pleased to say that in my many years of volunteering, I have never met a more dedicated group of individuals committed to excellence.

As a veteran business owner in upstate NY I would
have to say to my readers that if you want to understand some of the challenges facing our returning soldiers...volunteer at LEEK.

You will not only strengthen your skills at farming or preparation of game for that soldier who has spent one of the most incredible weeks of their lives hunting, fishing, socializing and only to realize that tomorrow is already here and it's time to go home.

You will quickly learn that preparing to receive 10 soldiers for a week long hunt takes many months in preparation. From the small outdoor shows to the major indoor events...Team LEEK is there, letting America know that they truly care.

More importantly, when you finally grasp a moment to visit and talk with those soldiers who have made sacrifices and listened to their story of how the visit to LEEK has impacted their lives...you begin to understand the significance of your efforts.

I have had the distinct honor of meeting hero's and their families, shared grief with those who have lost a son or daughter, seen an entire town come together to continually support what I consider America's finest outdoor recreational program for our wounded soldiers.

You won't find some commercial based program with penned animals who hover around a feeder, no expensive film crew to please wealthy supporters...you will only find a pure Pennsylvania hunting and outdoor experience provided by pure individuals who truly care.

I am honored to have served my country, more importantly, I am honored to serve those who have sacrificed.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I actually learned many aspects of land and wildlife management and met some pretty incredible people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Extremely rewarding, well worth the time and effort.

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

I VOLUNTEER AT LEEK. ALTHOUGH I AM NOT A VET I HAVE BEEN A DOUBLE AMPUTEE FOR 28 YEARS. I ENJOY SHARING MY EXPERIENCES WITH THE VETS THAT VISIT. BEING A PART OF LEEK HAS BEEN SO REWARDING FOR ME. SEEING THE VISITORS AND VOLUTEERS ENJOY EVERYDAY LIFE WITH OUT LIMITATIONS MAKE ME PROUD TO BE A VOLUNTEER. I AM VERY THANKFUL FOR MY FRIENDS, THE FISHER FAMILY, WHO MAKES LEEK AN ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE FOR ALL.
.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

FEELING GOOD ABOUT MYSELF AND MY DISABILITY BY HELPING OTHERS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULD MAKE IT AVAILABLE TO MORE VETS AND THEIR FAMILIES.

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

My wife and I have known the founders of LEEK for over 20 years, with Lou serving in the Coast Guard and Ed in the Army, both now retired. The first time we volunteered we had no idea what to expect but we soon found out this was a great thing we were involved with. On the surface it seems a small effort is all that it takes to operate, once into it, one can see that it could easily be a full time job.
Being a part of LEEK has allowed us to give back to the returning vets by helping with the farm and equipment needs and assisting anywhere we can. To see the smiles on the soldiers faces as they move freely around the property with or without assistive devices is a blessing. I have seen sullen faces turn into beaming smiles, men in wheelchairs turn into children when they find the motorized track wheelchair and can navigate the slopes and inclines most of us don't even realize would be a problem. The community has come together around LEEK and has embraced it as an orginization which is great, but they have embraced the people of LEEK even more atesting to the spirit of the people behind the effort. I look forward to our volunteer time and I personally recharge when we spend time with Ed, Kate and Kelly. I will continue helping behind the scenes or wherever needed at LEEK as long as I am allowed to by man or by my Maker.
Thank you LEEK for providing us an outlet to serve this generation of Warriors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have enjoyed watching the Warriors gain their self confidence in some areas, watched them experience mobility from being confined to a wheelchair and generally enjoyed their joy and enthusiasm

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more to allow expansion of their outreach such as assist with a new structure that allows families and caregivers to also experience the outdoors with their loved ones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, I have a great time and will continue to volunteer

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made new friends in the comunity and have learned new skills such as plowing and planting. I have learned a bit about proper land management from the local community and nearby land owners.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I enjoyed this so much. When we spend our time at LEEK, I am recharged and go back to work refreshed with a renewed outlook.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

Lasagna & Soldiers
A few of years ago I went on a DICE Run for a place called L.E.E.K. Hunting & Mountain Preserve. The DICE Runs are motorcycle rides put together for “good causes.” During the rides, there are stops where you roll dice, purchase raffle tickets, buy chances (you get the
idea.) At the end of the ride everybody turns in their little papers, which were used to keep track of the dice rolls. One of the ride organizers sits there and figures out who rolled the highest throughout the day and the High Roller wins half the money that’s been collected. (High Roller always give their half back to the organization that we’re riding for)… nice, right? They’re always a lot of fun, and nice amounts of money are donated to the cause that the ride was set up for! I’m sure most of you have even participated in such events. I’m trying to paint a picture here… bear with me. Oh, yeah… Chinese auctions are part of the fund raising events, also…
After that ride for L.E.E.K., I found myself thinking about that place. I thought “that really is a wonderful idea, that L.E.E.K. place…” The long and short of this place is this… it’s two Brothers, US Military Brothers who, in memory of their DAD, came up with a hunting and fishing get-away-and-have-fun place for severely injured Soldiers! I cried the first time I was there. I cry every time I think about it. I can’t help it – I’m a weenie like that!
The wounded Soldiers who get to enjoy this little adventure are (a lot of them) coming right out of the US Military Hospitals. Most of them are young. They’re missing body parts. Sometimes both legs are gone, sometimes half of a leg. They’re blind in one eye because of an injury. Some are missing half of an arm. Some have all of their limbs, but the limbs don’t work anymore because of a brain injury. Brain injuries are caused by the Soldiers suffering strokes due to severe blood loss. Other Soldiers suffer brain injury caused by concussions they’ve suffered from bombs used in the wars today. Some “look” okay, but they’re having a hard time of it, mentally/emotionally. The L.E.E.K. gang welcome one and all… well, all that they can – it’s a small operation. Oh, I forgot to tell you, the name of the guys who started this whole thing, are Edward and Lewis Fisher. Their wives are also part of the team, as well as the volunteers. The “L” is for Lewis, one “E” is for Edward Fisher, the other “E” is for Elaine, who is married to Lewis and the “K” is for Kate Fisher, who is Ed’s wife.
Anyway, I found myself always thinking about this place. Thinking about how much damn fun those Soldiers were having. I kept thinking about their smiles and the way they all razzed one another. The volunteers who take the Soldiers out on the actual hunts and/or fishing for the day drag all kinds of gear out to the hunting blinds and tree stands (if the Soldiers can use a tree stand.) They take whatever the Soldiers need to the bank of a lake, or to the edge of a river. Volunteers are taking wheel chairs, crutches, braces, etc. The hunting/fishing guides carry Soldiers, when they have to! Some Soldiers can ride on 4-Wheelers. They do whatever the hell they need to do to get them to their hunting and/or fishing spots! They make this a fun time, a healing time, and a memorable time. Thankfully, L.E.E.K. recently was able to purchase (because of donations) these two really cool track chairs… they go over all kinds of terrain. That saves the backs of the volunteers who carry the Soldiers and allows the Soldiers to be more independent! Nice, right???!!!
I also found myself going to their website, reading more about it. What didn’t make any sense is why I would be drawn to something that had to do with hunting! I am not a fan of hunting (I let spiders out of my house, unless its winter time, then they can stay) … nor, am I an advocate of these wars! SO, what the hell? Why can’t I shake thinking about it? THEN, it hit me!!! It doesn’t matter what my political views are…. And it’s also not about whether I’m a fan of hunting.
I FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT!!! Why I kept feeling a pull. It was seeing what I had seen. It was the life altering injuries of these young Men. It was me feeling guilty for NOT doing something to pay back! What the hell took me so long to finally figure it out (I thought???!!!) I OWE THESE SOLDIERS MY SUPPORT! They deserve a week of fun, a week of “feeling normal again!” THANK GOD it only took me like a year to figure this out! I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING!
I started out small… I started out by going back to the L.E.E.K. website to see what they needed. There’s a wish list on the site. Hunting blinds were on their list. Okay… I saved up my money… and ordered them a hunting blind. I drove over to drop it off to Lewis Fisher… he was very, very appreciative. I thought “Oh, good, I did something.” Well, that must not have been enough because I was still always thinking about that place. Okay – back to the L.E.E.K. website (after a couple of months of those Soldiers still popping up in my head)… Oh, look… they have people who volunteer to make meals for everybody, when the Soldiers come out. I can cook – I just don’t cook very often.
Here comes the Lasagna part of my title… see, how I’ve made you guys read all of this to get to the Lasagna part???!!! Anyway, I make a kick ass Lasagna. That was the meal that I made. I had to take a day off of work – that’s how much time was needed for the amount that I made. I’m (now) famous for my Lasagna! I’m also getting more involved with this wonderful place. I’ve brought my Son over to volunteer. The Dice runs continue… Ed Fisher has asked if I would join the “Open House Committee”… I feel very humbled and honored that the Fisher Family thinks that much of me. Ed also thinks that I would be good at fund raising. Thought that it would be a good thing for me to do – you know, bring me out of my shell. Give me practice in speaking out, meeting people, mingling… since I’m such a shy and quite person. (KIDDING!)
Thank GOD for L.E.E.K. Hunting & Mountain Preserve. They have made me a better person. I’ve got a long way to go… but, I’m pointed in the right direction thanks to them!
It’s simple really, RESPECT FOR OUR HEROES!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being around the Soldiers who get to come out and spend time at L.E.E.K. Words don't have to be spoken... I see their smiles.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes to the organization. I wish that I could do more, personally... that's all I would change. I know that the organization would GREATLY benefit from having more room for more Soldiers and their Families. It would be nice if they were able to raise enough money for a bigger facility. The Soldiers would really benefit if there was more "housing" space and bathroom facilities that are designed for people who are wheel chair bound, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

These guys couldn't improve my volunteer experience any more than what they already do... Honestly - they're just really, really nice people! So appreciative of everything that anyone does, etc.! But, if I should answer this question, thinking that my answer would benefit the group... I would say that they should do more fund raisers throughout the year... Like, maybe a carnival at the property... maybe we could hire the "Harlem Globe Trotters" for a basketball game fundraiser... I had mentioned to Ed maybe doing a "Black Tie Dinner" - I know that what these guys do, takes lots of money... and, they could do so much more if we could raise more money! I'm volunteering!!! Sign me up!!!!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I'm a better person for meeting the L.E.E.K. crew.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Makes me feel like I want to do more! Makes me happy to see other people happy!

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

I have volunteered at LEEK since it was started and it has moved me in ways it's hard to describe. I really just donate my time and do whatever I can to help during big events such as the open house and some big hunts. First the organization brings out the absolute best in everyone involved. When you help out at LEEK you're physically helping out wounded vets and there families. One specific example I can remember is a soldiers wife drove up from VA straight through to pick him up, she was exhausted. When she arrived we got her a bed to sleep in and then we moved almost all the activities for that day away from the place where she was sleeping to let her rest... This is a weird story to tell but I think it provides the best example of the overall level of caring that this organization puts into wounded vets and there families. They treat them like you would treat your relatives when they come to your house for a vacation or celebration. This is what sets LEEK apart from other organizations.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping me relate to wounded vets on a personal level that I've carried back to my community and given me an even greater respect for their sacrifice.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more funding and help them expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2011

more

November 1, 2011

I have been helping with the fall LEEK Preserve Wounded Warrior hunt for the past two years and have found it to be an event of comaraderie and healing for those who participate as well as those who volunteer. The sacrifices made by the brave men who are served by this organization far outweigh the time and effort we could ever dedicate to honoring them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have handled my versatile hunting dogs on guided upland bird hunts for the Wounded Warriors and hunted along side the participants. I have seen the expressions on the faces of men who clearly thought they would never again get to enjoy an experience like they had just completed. The results are priceless.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

raise additional funds to expand the program

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers