Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 28, 2013

more

March 28, 2013

My wife and I have been there for a few years and help out in every way we can. I have never met such wonderful people as the LEEK "bunch" and what they do for veterans is incredible. I am so happy we got involved with them and look forward to many years of supporting them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 3, 2011

The L.E.E.K. hunt is a great chance to give back something to our wounded heroes. This is an "all volunteer" organization that is completely reliant on it's sponsors and contributions from the publi... more

November 20, 2012

This non-profit is all volunteer, which means every penny goes to helping the Wounded Men and Women. I have been a volunteer for 3 years now, and it just keeps getting better and better. From the first time I was there, I fell in love with the people and the mission. It is so rewarding to be able to give back and help in anyway possible, to these men and women who have put there lives on the line for our freedom. And as a result of that decision, became wounded and/or disabled as a result. To be able to help them heal, physically, mentally and spiritually, is the the least I can do for them....Dave Waters

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2011

The L.E.E.K. hunt is a great chance to give back something to our wounded heroes. This is an "all volunteer" organization that is completely reliant on it's sponsors and contributions from the public. I can say, that it has been my pleasure and an honor to help these warriors in any way that I can. To be honest, we laugh, cry, talk, listen, and just be there for them, whatever they need. It is all about them. the volunteers work from early in the morning until late at night to make everything go smoothly. The entire community supports the effort. I am proud to be a small part of it

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The testimonies from the warriors. Listening to the comments about the hunt, and the impact it has had on them getting their lives back together. Showing them that they can still accomplish their goals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

if money was available, continue to upgrade the facility for the benefit of more warriors.

More feedback...

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

again, probably facility upgrades for the warriors, meeting area, food area etc.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Last year I took a week of my vacation and volunteered at L.E.E.K. The same this year. I just wish I had more time to give.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It made me proud to able to help the warriors.. it changes the way I view challenges in my own life.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

1. What is your "main" purpose for volunteering your time to help our Wounded Warriors?

It's to give back something of myself to those that have given so much more. LEEK's purposes could not be accomplished without a heavy dose of volunteerism. And I find huge satisfaction in engaging
these warriors on a more personal level. Sweeping floors, carrying firewood and picking up trash, the myriad of mundane but essential tasks in the LEEK effort, opens the door. I need to generate credibility before they consider opening up, because they eventually find out that I'm an active duty Navy Captain, they're pretty sharp. On this last trip several the young Marines couldn't believe that I would take leave and use my own resources to get from California to support them in their activities. And I'm thinking, why wouldn't I?

2. From your perspective, how have they responded to, and benefited from, having the opportunity to hunt and fish?

All you have to do is look at their smiles when they bring in their deer or drop a pheasant in full flight. It gets them out of their hospital setting and gets them doing something completely different and rewarding. For some a completely new experience, for others a familiar one they left behind to serve. And the community support is outstanding. They're treated like someone special, because they are. It's good for their morale, good for their spirits, good for their healing, mentally and physically, good for them to know there are people out there that recognize their tremendous contribution and sacrifices to our nation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2011

more

November 15, 2011

Both my wife and I have been volunteers at the LEEK Hunting and Mountain Preserve for several years. All the people associated with this organization are serving as volunteers for one reason - serving the wounded service men and women. It is an endeavor of the heart, and it shows. We are constantly amazed at the attitude of these wounded troops. They all, for the most part, have positive attitudes, and have accepted their injuries, and are anxious to get on with their life. We are honored to associate with these individuals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The joy the LEEK Preserve provides is evidenced in the response the wounded vetrans show.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leave it alone! It workes just fine.

More feedback...

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Being able to associate with these wounded vetrans is a blessing. We feel honored to be able to suppoort "The LEEK!" Meeting these "heros" introduces us to new friends.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

GREAT!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2011

more

November 12, 2011

I don't know how to start this out as I am not a very good writer. I hope I can convey the upmost respect I have for this organization,volunteers and the family that started it. For me this started with a grandpa's love for potter co. and the same love and values Lew and Ed's dad had for hunting and fishing. My grandpa loved potter co. as I do. I am self employeed and a veteran myself. My wife and I always take our vacation/aniversary the second week of deer season and this is where it started for me. My wife picked up a copy of mountain home magazine and the article about L.E.E.K was in there she read it and told me I should read it. A couple days later she asked if I read it yet. I said no so I sat and read it and told her I have to drive up and find this place. My grandpas cabin is about 30-45 min. away so I drove up and got to meet Ed Fisher one of the founders. Ed took the time to show me around and explain where they started and the future they were striving for. I knew at this point I wanted to help in some way. I am not a rich man by no means so I was hoping they could use another volunteer. As it turned out they took me in and treated me like I was there for ever. Ed,Lew,Kate,Elaine and Kelly the founders are the sweetest down to earth poeple you will ever meet. They are dedicated 100% to seeing that the veteran's they see at camp have a good experince and can take home some good memories. I have only just begun to help alittle, the few times I was there the volunteer's spend as much time and are as dedicated as any I have ever seen and this includes the support of all neighbors. I have seen the neighbors bring truck loads of food all ready prepaired for the vets when they come from the feild. I always wanted to help somewhere and vets are near and dear to my heart. When you add vets,potter co.,wanting to honor my grandpa and L.E.E.K. add them together what a combination. Anyone interested in volunteering or donating please do so your time any money I know for a fact is so much appreciated and will keep veterans in the field hunting and fishing and just having a good time. First and formost to all the veterans to L.E.E.K and all the volunteers you have my upmost graditude and thanks. I hope to keep volunteering and helping where I can. Rick L. Lint

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

meeting like minded volunteers was great. I wish I could remember names better

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I would like to do more and hopefully in the future have more time availible to do so. It gives you a good feeling knowing just maybe you made a difference for good.

November 7, 2011

more

November 7, 2011

My name is Amber Woods and I am a volunteer at LEEK Hunting & Mountain Preserve in Oswayo where I serve as the preserve's Public Affairs Officer. The time I spend at LEEK is the most meaningful hours of my life. Since becoming involved with the program, I have seen veterans come back to life with the joy of knowing life goes on after severe injuries-and it goes on quite well! The Fisher family who founded the preserve, the surrounding community who all pitch in and cook meals, serve as guides for the wounded warriors and embrace us is something you can't find any other place on earth. I often write about it in feature stories about our Wounded Warriors, but the truth about LEEK is simple and yet so profound: when we love each other and take care of our own, magical things happen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 6, 2011

more

November 6, 2011

This is one of most close to American Loving back to nature organizations Ive ever been involved with. I support this with all my hart and soul. Thanks and GOD bless Randy.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Ive seen the love for our Troops in family and friends.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Advertise so more troops could come and enjoy this wonderful experience.

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

LEEK is a non-profit brings injured warriors to "God's Country Potter County, Pennsylvania for hunting trips. Leek supplies everything the warriors need for a successful hunt... dry warm housing - Dunham Barracks named after local Medal of Honor recipient Corporal Jason Dunham, meals, hunting gear, guides and many local landowners have opened their properties to the warriors. Our warriors come to us in wide variety of conditions from wheelchair bound, to limbs missing, traumatic brain injury, spinal injuries. LEEK allows these warriors to realize they can still do the things they loved to do prior to their injuries. I've had a number of them thank me time and time again for showing them they can do things they once did.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen warriors to come LEEK and be able to let their hair down and enjoy themselves, while realizing - "hey - I can still hunt and enjoy the great outdoors". Most of our deer hunts have a very high success rate. All of our hunts feature some great properties and great opportunities for the warriors to enjoy lots of wildlife.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see more injured warriors come and enjoy LEEK's program

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It shows me how blessed and fortunate I am to live ...in the Land of Free and Home of the Brave. A number of the injured guys that have come to our hunts still keep in contact with me. These guys inspire me with their positive attitudes and humor.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great! Being able to serve those who gave so much for this great nation and the freedoms we enjoyed. These injured guys inspired me to do more for others. It was very satisfying to be able to show these injured warriors they can still do the things they used to such as hunting.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

Love working with Team LEEK and seeing the reaction from these wounded soldiers of the outpouring from the community. It is really overwhelming to them that we care, and we do care and appreciate everything that these HEROES have done for this country. My son and his Boy Scout Troop 558 of Millport, have done several hours of community service for LEEK, and Team LEEK takes care of our scouts too, including letting them campout for the weekend of their annual Open House in May. I have several photos of the scouts and the wounded warriors, including Jason Dunhams' parents. This program helps these warriors forget for a minute that they are wounded or injured and CAN do outdoor activities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

person through volunteering during the Open House with my son's Boy Scout Troop, and providing a meal for these warriors to eat. Most don't get a HOME COOKED meal, only a hospital meal. They rave about getting a filling meal made with sincerity and appreciation. Sitting down with these warriors and talking to them, they are not different for me and you, they are funny, comical and have lots of stories to tell, just sit and listen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

absolutely not make any changes. What happens here can only be improved through monetary donation and personal giving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

Me and my wife are personall freinds of the owners of LEEK and what this family has done for the wounded warriors and the surrounding community support to provide recreation for the wounded soldiers and their families while at Leek has far exceeded expectations that we wittnessed what has been provided for the brave warriors. This outpouring of support for what these warroirs have done for this country so we can enjoy what we have today is so much appreciated and anything we can do to help raise donations so the facilities can accomidate any warrior with disabilities to be able to enjoy the outdoors and help take away pain and stress to give back for what they have done for USA. You can see the happiness on the warriors for something like LEEK provides to help rehabilitate the fine warriors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers