Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

Love working with Team LEEK and seeing the reaction from these wounded soldiers of the outpouring from the community. It is really overwhelming to them that we care, and we do care and appreciate everything that these HEROES have done for this country. My son and his Boy Scout Troop 558 of Millport, have done several hours of community service for LEEK, and Team LEEK takes care of our scouts too, including letting them campout for the weekend of their annual Open House in May. I have several photos of the scouts and the wounded warriors, including Jason Dunhams' parents. This program helps these warriors forget for a minute that they are wounded or injured and CAN do outdoor activities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

person through volunteering during the Open House with my son's Boy Scout Troop, and providing a meal for these warriors to eat. Most don't get a HOME COOKED meal, only a hospital meal. They rave about getting a filling meal made with sincerity and appreciation. Sitting down with these warriors and talking to them, they are not different for me and you, they are funny, comical and have lots of stories to tell, just sit and listen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

absolutely not make any changes. What happens here can only be improved through monetary donation and personal giving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2011

more

November 4, 2011

Me and my wife are personall freinds of the owners of LEEK and what this family has done for the wounded warriors and the surrounding community support to provide recreation for the wounded soldiers and their families while at Leek has far exceeded expectations that we wittnessed what has been provided for the brave warriors. This outpouring of support for what these warroirs have done for this country so we can enjoy what we have today is so much appreciated and anything we can do to help raise donations so the facilities can accomidate any warrior with disabilities to be able to enjoy the outdoors and help take away pain and stress to give back for what they have done for USA. You can see the happiness on the warriors for something like LEEK provides to help rehabilitate the fine warriors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

Im a wounded warior and the guys at leek were great not just the volenter's the whole comunity steped up and helped out I had a blast and cant say thank u enough to everyone at leek

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

They helped me to hunt and make me feel normal again and showed me I can still do things with only the usr of one arm

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

From walter reed medical hospital

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To show methat I still can hunt and have a good time with my disabillity

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

The L.E.E.K. preserve, located near Oswayo, Pennsylvania, offers an invaluable service to America's Wounded Warriors. This venue offers guided hunts to service members who might not otherwise be able to enjoy nature's splendor. Volunteer guides direct the hunts and get to spend time with those who have served our country valiantly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having a chance to serve our military for at military personnel was a humbling and gratifying experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2011

more

November 3, 2011

L.E.E.K is an outgstanding organization, which has provided excellent service to our well-deserving wounded warriors. These men and women of the Armed Services have taken the time to protect us and keep us safe. L.E.E.K is a great organization that helps us say a hearty "Thank You."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've watched the organization grow from a dream to reality, and its growth has rejuvenated my own spirit of volunteerism.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes!

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

This review is dedicated for the LEEK Hunting and Mountain Preserve in Oswayo, Pennsylvania.

I am pleased to say that in my many years of volunteering, I have never met a more dedicated group of individuals committed to excellence.

As a veteran business owner in upstate NY I would
have to say to my readers that if you want to understand some of the challenges facing our returning soldiers...volunteer at LEEK.

You will not only strengthen your skills at farming or preparation of game for that soldier who has spent one of the most incredible weeks of their lives hunting, fishing, socializing and only to realize that tomorrow is already here and it's time to go home.

You will quickly learn that preparing to receive 10 soldiers for a week long hunt takes many months in preparation. From the small outdoor shows to the major indoor events...Team LEEK is there, letting America know that they truly care.

More importantly, when you finally grasp a moment to visit and talk with those soldiers who have made sacrifices and listened to their story of how the visit to LEEK has impacted their lives...you begin to understand the significance of your efforts.

I have had the distinct honor of meeting hero's and their families, shared grief with those who have lost a son or daughter, seen an entire town come together to continually support what I consider America's finest outdoor recreational program for our wounded soldiers.

You won't find some commercial based program with penned animals who hover around a feeder, no expensive film crew to please wealthy supporters...you will only find a pure Pennsylvania hunting and outdoor experience provided by pure individuals who truly care.

I am honored to have served my country, more importantly, I am honored to serve those who have sacrificed.


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I actually learned many aspects of land and wildlife management and met some pretty incredible people.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Extremely rewarding, well worth the time and effort.

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

I have been invited to the upcoming Blackbear hunt this month. I have been in contact with Ed for about 8 months and am really looking forward to the trip. Everything I have read and after emails and speaking with Ed, I know this will be a trip that will be a lasting memory. Being Handicap accessible is going to be a huge help that I normally wouldn't have while hunting.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending an upcoming hunt

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I have found so far

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

internet

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

I've known COLONEL Ed Fisher USA (ret), the co-founder of LEEK, since we served together at US Central Command in the 90s. There is not a more honorable or standup guy, or one who has done more with less to support wounded warriors. Ever since he first told me of his plan to build LEEK, I have supported his efforts both financially and by helping spread the word to other potential donors. These volunteers take nothing for themselves and always give 110%. Considering what the young men and women they are helping have been through, you would be hard pressed to find a more worthy cause to support.

Colonel Bill Kohnke, USAF (ret)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reading about the lives of the people they have touched and encouraged to overcome their injuries and wounds. Their stories inspire me whenever I think I'm having a tough time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to tie it in with similar organizations around the country. It would be great if we could get a network of such groups going in every state or region. The VA, VFW, American Legion, NAUS, MOAA and other organizations might be able to help with any networking or affiliations.

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

I VOLUNTEER AT LEEK. ALTHOUGH I AM NOT A VET I HAVE BEEN A DOUBLE AMPUTEE FOR 28 YEARS. I ENJOY SHARING MY EXPERIENCES WITH THE VETS THAT VISIT. BEING A PART OF LEEK HAS BEEN SO REWARDING FOR ME. SEEING THE VISITORS AND VOLUTEERS ENJOY EVERYDAY LIFE WITH OUT LIMITATIONS MAKE ME PROUD TO BE A VOLUNTEER. I AM VERY THANKFUL FOR MY FRIENDS, THE FISHER FAMILY, WHO MAKES LEEK AN ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE FOR ALL.
.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

FEELING GOOD ABOUT MYSELF AND MY DISABILITY BY HELPING OTHERS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I WOULD MAKE IT AVAILABLE TO MORE VETS AND THEIR FAMILIES.

November 2, 2011

more

November 2, 2011

My wife and I have known the founders of LEEK for over 20 years, with Lou serving in the Coast Guard and Ed in the Army, both now retired. The first time we volunteered we had no idea what to expect but we soon found out this was a great thing we were involved with. On the surface it seems a small effort is all that it takes to operate, once into it, one can see that it could easily be a full time job.
Being a part of LEEK has allowed us to give back to the returning vets by helping with the farm and equipment needs and assisting anywhere we can. To see the smiles on the soldiers faces as they move freely around the property with or without assistive devices is a blessing. I have seen sullen faces turn into beaming smiles, men in wheelchairs turn into children when they find the motorized track wheelchair and can navigate the slopes and inclines most of us don't even realize would be a problem. The community has come together around LEEK and has embraced it as an orginization which is great, but they have embraced the people of LEEK even more atesting to the spirit of the people behind the effort. I look forward to our volunteer time and I personally recharge when we spend time with Ed, Kate and Kelly. I will continue helping behind the scenes or wherever needed at LEEK as long as I am allowed to by man or by my Maker.
Thank you LEEK for providing us an outlet to serve this generation of Warriors.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have enjoyed watching the Warriors gain their self confidence in some areas, watched them experience mobility from being confined to a wheelchair and generally enjoyed their joy and enthusiasm

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give more to allow expansion of their outreach such as assist with a new structure that allows families and caregivers to also experience the outdoors with their loved ones.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Nothing, I have a great time and will continue to volunteer

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have made new friends in the comunity and have learned new skills such as plowing and planting. I have learned a bit about proper land management from the local community and nearby land owners.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I enjoyed this so much. When we spend our time at LEEK, I am recharged and go back to work refreshed with a renewed outlook.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers