Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

With the extensive use of Drugs & Alcohol, This Coalition is an incredible group of people that care for the welfare of everyone involved. They bring to the table subjects that are usually not looked at. Sharing the information they have with the Adults, Teens and children will help in the Prevention of the use of Alcohol & Drugs.
October 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
March 28, 2013

Drug House Odyseey is an exceptional program offered in Lee County. Each year we provide a walk through play, showing a group of teens, making choices along the way and how these choices affect not on... more

October 23, 2014

I have worked with the Drug Free Coalition since 2008 and am currently a board member. As the Injury Prevnetion Manager for Trauma Services i became involved with the Drug Free Caolition with the Drug House Odyssey. This walk through play for 5th graders is educational for the children as well as parents. The lead agency is the Drug Free Caolition which has brought many agencies together to put this progrm on annually. Children in the area look forward to their turn to attend the play each year. As evidenced by the children talking about it at various health fairs and in the community. The Drug Free Coalition also plays an important role in providing and coodinating community needs assessments. Completing these community needs assessments to better sere our community and to bring in programs that are evidence based to help with edcuting the youth and parents of our community. This is accomplished with the Executive Director Deb. Comella having the ability to coordinate various groups and leaders in the community to work together. The Drug Free Coalition is actively working iwth our local youth to hear their concerns and solutions. Several Town Hall meetings have been down with Area youth on topics of alcohol and marijuana. These have been videoed for us by Street chicks in Recovery which is a local orgnization that wokrs closely with the coalition.
March 28, 2013

Drug House Odyseey is an exceptional program offered in Lee County. Each year we provide a walk through play, showing a group of teens, making choices along the way and how these choices affect not only them but others around them. The play is done with people in each scene who work in this area daily. The teens are students from our local high school drama club. We are able to provide this program to over 2600 students in Lee County and open it to the public one evening. The program has a profound effect on the youth. Many of the students this year commented on how it showed them to be a leader not a follower. As well as not to use drugs or alcohol. This year was the Drug House Odyssey 20th year. The program is done completely by donations. This program needs to continue for future generations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I am the CEO and Owner of Street Chicks in Recovery. We tell stories from women in recovery from alcohol and drug addiction. Our youth are in a real war against drug abuse and alcohol abuse.
Prevention in the only way to help the kids win this war. We believe Drug House Odyssey has a
profound long lasting educational effect.

Stop them now because there's not always a later.
Leslie Robinson
www.streetchicks.net
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I am a fifth grade teacher who had the pleasure of taking her class to the Drug House Odyssey this past year. The real life dramatizations really helped the students to understand the severity of bad decisions as well as the consequences they could face. I am so thankful for the law enforcement officers and all of the other volunteers that worked so very hard to make this exhibit beneficial for my students as they head off to middle school. I would love to take my class back every year!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

In 2014, the Coalition opened up their Drug House Odyssey event to allow the Red Cross to teach 5th graders how to do Hands-Only CPR. The result was that more than 800 5th graders can now get involved in saving a person who has a sudden-collapse. The kids had a great time while learning a life-saving technique. Congrats to the Coalition for stretching their mission to address a critical need.
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

We were so priveledged to have been able to attend the Drug House Oddessey this year. This is such an important program to the education of drug prevention. Our students receive so much useful information and the come away knowing things we don't have time to teach in school. Thank you so much for the invitation and we hope to be chosen next year as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

I am a 5th grade teacher in the community and I can't say enough positive remarks about our field trip to the Drug House Odyssey. We look forward to attending each year and the message of drug prevention is so important for my students who will soon attend middle school. Movement through each of the "plays" is highly organized and presents real-life senarios of the dangers of alcohol and drug abuse. All of the volunteers are amazing and my students couldn't stop talking about the experience.
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Lee County Drug Free Southwest Florida Coalition does a fantastic job with bringing all the various organizations, agencies, and schools together for this Annual event Drug House Odyssey. This walk through play shows kids the consequences of the choices we make. The youth of this area look forward to their turn to attend this walk through play. Many have had brothers and sisters who have gone thorugh before them. This walk through experience does have a positive impact on them. following the Drug House Odyssey I have been contacted by a parent a few times letting me know that their child decided not to go to the party being held on the weekend at someone's else. Please help the Drug Free Coalition of Southwest florida to continue the Drug House Odyssey for our students and families for years to come.
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

As principal of an elementary school I cannot thank Drug-Free Southwest Florida enough for their work on Drughouse Odyssey. Our school is a Title I school with more than 75% of our students receiving free and reduced lunch. These students NEED to hear the message they receive at this incredible event. Our fifth graders come back with an absolute resolution to NOT take drugs EVER! Drughouse Odyssey gets the message across in a way they internalize. Thank you for your great work in our community!
April 6, 2014

more

April 6, 2014

I've been having conversations with one of the members of this organization and even though I am not a person of influence I value the time and dedication they have towards their program. This coalition is doing their very best for the community and are passionate about spreading drug awareness. They have reached out to the anti-drug page I help run on facebook to get the word out. Their awareness for networking and their drive for truth is inspiring. Please give them their full support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, my only wish is they were a nationally recognized team.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with a community prevention event! Volunteer