Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Yes, LearnServe changes the lives of the students it serves through their Fellows and Abroad programs, but more importantly, these young people change the lives, for the better, of others and inspire their school communities to take action. They discover that one person can make a difference, and that lesson will stay with them for their lifetimes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Learn Serve is an organization which brings students together from independent and public schools to develop ventures in social entrepreneurship that benefit their communities. The participants learn not only from their association with one another as Fellows and from developing their projects, but also some of them have the opportunity to travel together to Africa, South America and Jamaica for service projects. I have been involved almost from the very beginning and am convinced of the huge value of the work and the passion that the staff brings to this very important educational enterprise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

My passion is the educational experience that makes you say, "Oh, I never thought about it that way before!" Over the years I have found that international travel is a guaranteed incubator for this kind of experience. But in the six years I have volunteered with LearnServe, it has shown me that this can happen across the world or right in your own back yard when you bring students and teachers from all corners of the community and focus them on creating constructive change. I love the energy, passion, honesty that the LearnServe Fellows bring to their social project planning across the DC metropolitan area. They learn from each other as much as they learn from the program, and they turn it back into their communities. In the summer, I love reading the blogs the students and teachers write from their travels with LearnServe Abroad, working in developing communities in Zambia, Paraguay or Jamaica. Again, they learn from each other and they learn from those they meet. As they work in these foreign communities, they reflect on the differences and similarities with their home communities. LearnServe programs are filled with "ah-ha" moments. I am passionate about what LearnServe accomplishes, real learning and honest service to our communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with LearnServe International for four years and I know it has changed my life for the best. Before LearnServe International, I didn't know the type of person I wanted to be, but with the support of this organization, I now know. With being a part of LSI, I have met so many great people including Directors, Scott Rechler and Sabine Keinath. I travelled abroad to Zambia for the LearnServe Abroad trip in 2010. Because of LSI, I was given the amazing opportunity to intern for Ashoka, a global organization, which deals with the worlds leading social entrepreneurs, and I serve on the Advisory Board as a LearnServe Alum, I am proud to have my 15 year-old sister take part in the LearnServe Fellows Program as I did. Overall, I am such a fan of LearnServe! Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers