Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I was fortunate enough to travel with LearnServe International to Zambia and Paraguay to work with HIV/AIDS and community development projects and participate in the DC based LearnServe Fellows Program. The organization works hard to live up to the name. Participants learn about community issues from local leaders and serve side-by-side, with the utmost respect for "sustainable development". The LearnServe Fellows program united me with a cohort of incredibly diverse DC Metro Area teens that desired to make lasting changes. Together, we learned how to build a socially conscious business/ non-profit model to address problems in the community. LearnServe changed my views about life so much, that I returned to Paraguay to independently practice sustainable "ground-up" development. Later, I retuned to LearnServe to help teach social entrepreneurship with the LearnServe Fellows Program. I highly recommend LearnServe International to all high school students in the greater Washington, DC Metro Area.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I attended the LearnServe International Coffee House event last year and was blown away by the passion of the young people involved and the quality of presentations (elevator pitches) they made for more than 100 people. I was so pleased that LearnServe invited me to return in the Spring to serve as a panelist for the Venture Fair, where the students present their plan for a venture to address the problem they identified in the previous Fall. These were professional presentations that many adults could not have made. LearnServe empowers young people to make a difference. It does so by teaching them valuable life skills, like writing a business plan, developing a strategy and presenting before a group of people. I have now recruited a few friends and colleagues to participate as well, as all of them have been equally impressed!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been involved with LearnServe International for four years and I know it has changed my life for the best. Before LearnServe International, I didn't know the type of person I wanted to be, but with the support of this organization, I now know. With being a part of LSI, I have met so many great people including Directors, Scott Rechler and Sabine Keinath. I travelled abroad to Zambia for the LearnServe Abroad trip in 2010. Because of LSI, I was given the amazing opportunity to intern for Ashoka, a global organization, which deals with the worlds leading social entrepreneurs, and I serve on the Advisory Board as a LearnServe Alum, I am proud to have my 15 year-old sister take part in the LearnServe Fellows Program as I did. Overall, I am such a fan of LearnServe! Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have had the honor of serving as a guest speaker and observer of Learn Serve International (LSI) and I am a huge fan. This program motivates young people to not only discover a passion but to problem solve and seek solutions to the problems they discover. I think student walk away with an expanded awareness of issues and empowered to do something about it. I also think they gain valuable friendships that are mind and culture expanding. I highly recommend participation by young people if they want to learn, grow and impact their community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Often in our society, high school students are expected to act responsibly, and yet are not trusted enough with important jobs or positions. LearnServe International empowers students to discover that they have the potential to change the world. I was fortunate enough to participate in the program, and through their guidance was able to start a business by the time I was 17. LearnServe provided the kind of training, support, and motivation that I needed to become a social entrepreneur, and now I am in college and I’ve just won a business plan competition to start a new social venture. I owe my initial seed of inspiration entirely to LearnServe and I cannot thank them enough. The leaders at LearnServe provide an experience that is much like dunking each student in a barrel of freezing cold water; the program is entirely eye-opening and showed me a whole new world of entrepreneurship that was truly transforming.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers