Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
December 11, 2012

more

December 11, 2012

LearnServe International is truly an amazing organization. I've witnessed first hand its tremendous impact. LearnServe is an enabling and mentoring organization that provides the tools and confidence to teenagers to be social entrepreneurs and "changemakers." It's impressive to see what young people can do once they identify a need in their community and are given the support and know how to make things happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I was a LearnServe Fellow from 2011- 2012, and I am now a LearnServe Ambassador. When I applied for the Fellows program, I had no idea how much it would impact my life. The program taught me how to turn an idea into an active social venture project, from the starting a needs assessment to running a pilot program. It changed the way I think about and interact with the world around me, and turned me into a leader. Throughout, I met passionate and committed people that continue to inform and inspire me. LearnServe also has incredible alumni programs, aimed at helping venture projects grow after graduation. Furthermore, my participation in the fellows program has opened up a variety of outside opportunities. LearnServe has changed my life, and I am thrilled to be an Ambassador!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I was a LSI Fellow last year and loved the program so much that I came back as an Alumni Ambassador to help out this year! I can't praise Learnserve enough; it gives high schools students the tools and skills to do something amazing for their communities and encourages global awareness and leadership. I wish every high school student could have the extraordinary and unique experience that LearnServe offers. I'm so lucky to be part of a team and organization that is so positive and passionate about making the world better for everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

LearnServe International is the best thing that has ever happened to me! LearnServe taught me how to be a CHANGEMAKER, a SOCIAL ENTREPRENEUR, and a SPOKESPERSON FOR MY CAUSE. LearnServe has phenomenal cohort leaders who are trained to teach students how to launch and sustain ventures that will change their communities. LearnServe helped me to get my non-profit, ScholarCHIPS, off the group and currently serves as our fiscal agent. Without them my work would not be possible. It is thanks to LearnServe that I had the opportunity to get a scholarship and go to Zambia, Africa to spend 18 days doing service as a junior in high school. I would not change that experience for the world. LearnServe International is way beyond its years in innovation, using today's youth and preparing them to be tomorrow's leaders, while giving back to the United States community and to those abroad! Thank you LearnServe International...YOU ARE A GREAT NONPROFIT!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Yes, LearnServe changes the lives of the students it serves through their Fellows and Abroad programs, but more importantly, these young people change the lives, for the better, of others and inspire their school communities to take action. They discover that one person can make a difference, and that lesson will stay with them for their lifetimes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Learn Serve is an organization which brings students together from independent and public schools to develop ventures in social entrepreneurship that benefit their communities. The participants learn not only from their association with one another as Fellows and from developing their projects, but also some of them have the opportunity to travel together to Africa, South America and Jamaica for service projects. I have been involved almost from the very beginning and am convinced of the huge value of the work and the passion that the staff brings to this very important educational enterprise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

LearnServe empowers students to take on life's challenges head-on, and at an early age. As a volunteer I have seen students plan and execute well thought out business models and create nonprofits that make real change. Their teachers are challenging and motivating, and the students learn a lot from community leaders who volunteer their time to help review the students' projects. The students have said that LearnServe gives them confidence, direction, and helps focus them on what they want to accomplish. I would definitely recommend any teenager to this program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

My passion is the educational experience that makes you say, "Oh, I never thought about it that way before!" Over the years I have found that international travel is a guaranteed incubator for this kind of experience. But in the six years I have volunteered with LearnServe, it has shown me that this can happen across the world or right in your own back yard when you bring students and teachers from all corners of the community and focus them on creating constructive change. I love the energy, passion, honesty that the LearnServe Fellows bring to their social project planning across the DC metropolitan area. They learn from each other as much as they learn from the program, and they turn it back into their communities. In the summer, I love reading the blogs the students and teachers write from their travels with LearnServe Abroad, working in developing communities in Zambia, Paraguay or Jamaica. Again, they learn from each other and they learn from those they meet. As they work in these foreign communities, they reflect on the differences and similarities with their home communities. LearnServe programs are filled with "ah-ha" moments. I am passionate about what LearnServe accomplishes, real learning and honest service to our communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

LearnServe changed my life. It opened my eyes to the vast world of challenges we face, but more importantly, it gave me the keys -- the knowledge, skills, and community -- to devise the solutions. Because of LearnServe, during my Junior year of high school I was able to launch a school-wide program to help empower more teens as movers and shakers within our community via social entrepreneurship. LearnServe gave me my first experience abroad--in Paraguay. Here, our delegation of young people collaborated with the local high schoolers there to design efforts aimed at alleviating poverty in the most destitute areas imaginable. LearnServe places teens in the drivers seats like no other organization. It is why I hope to give my life to something bigger. Every teen needs to experience the awesome impact of this organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

Learnserve is wonderful incubator of young social entrepreneurs and changemakers, while providing experienced professionals with an opportunity to use their skills and expertise to make a difference. I've been blown away by the participant's commitment, care, and dedication, and it's been a wonderful organization to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers