Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.592595
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 23, 2014

I have known this organization for many years and it was a helpful resource. However, recently, the website has been removed, and it's even difficult to contact people affiliated with the organization. I know there were new board members, and several key leaders in the organization have departed - apparently taking the talents and ideas behind the organization with them, leaving what seems to me to be a shell organization! The current people seem to have no clear mission, and have disconnected themselves from the community that was historically served by this organization. Very sad to see a once helpful, thriving non-profit dedicated to promoting a variety of educational methods no longer there!
August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I *had* been a client served,but when I went to look for resources at the website, it's gone. The Facebook page, which I had found very helpful and interesting over the last few years, has disappeared as well, and there was some unfavorable press in the local newspaper about the organization recently. I'm disappointed, since LI4E had been such a nice resource for informal ed and good tech and science news.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

In a surprising turn around this once open, creative and highly collaborative nonprofit has become closed and insular, adopting a top down administrative model that through micromanagement and attrition has effectively cut off communications within the community and with program partners. Additionally, there are now serious potential conflict of interest concerns with a too close affiliation between the nonprofit and a for profit venture from whose offices the nonprofit now operates. Sadly, I urge caution to potential partners and constituents, and certainly to donors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Urge board members to revisit the mission and vision of the organization, as well as their conflict of interest statement, and honestly evaluate whether their new business model is complimentary to or compliant with either. The "Curiosity Driven Life" cannot thrive in a closed environment.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I've worked with this program for four years and I really enjoyed every bit of it. Learning Is For Everyone is a great organization all together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have it in more places

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

LI4E provides opportunities for individuals of all experience levels and backgrounds to explore the world and stretch their imaginations in a tangible and real-life applicable manner. By collaborating with other organizations, LI4E brings the best that others have offered together to offer students in Tampa Bay and beyond the benefit of years of experience from teachers/mentors all over the world!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

As volunteer program director for Learning is for Everyone, I'm excited about the great work we're doing bringing innovative learning and empowered living to more people, especially through the development of our Community Innovation Center program. Collaborating with area libraries and other organizations, the Community Innovation Center concept promises to revitalize libraries and neighborhoods, helping make people empowered creators of their own futures and ours. Everything we do - from hosting TEDxYouth@TampaBay, now in its fourth year, to our FIRST Community STEM education programs, to our Makers Festivals - is designed to bring accessible, inclusive, inspired creativity to as many people as possible, helping us change culture from passive consumption to active creation.

The future is limitless and LI4E provides a marvelous canvass for creating the lives we imagine, for ourselves, our families, our children, our communities and our country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help LI4E become more visible in the community, so more people could enjoy all the great resources and learning opportunities available to them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

A long, long time ago I got an Erector set for Christmas when I was about 5. I learned an amazing amount of engineering skills from this one basic set. Unfortunately, I was never able to convince my parents that I needed the electric motor kit for more involved creations but fortunately, I had to improvise a solution for powering my projects. This led to scrap 110V clock motors and lots of bare wires and quite a few electrical shocks. But I learned. Then came the chemistry set and electric trains with the same results. These were not only fun toys, they were great engineering learning experiences and I carried these skills with me for the rest of my life. As the owner of a small machine shop I have turned these early engineering experiences from a hobby into a business where I provide my customers with "Special Projects, Invention & Wizardry".
I have been a mentor to LI4E and TEAM DUCT TAPE for several years and have worked closely with the LI4E team on all their robotics projects and a couple of Red Bull challenges. I see LI4E as the modern day equivalent of those early Erector and chemistry sets. The kids get real hands-on experience in real world engineering challenges and in just one build season get more practical engineering experience than my toys provided me in several years of use. I had to figure things out for myself. The LI4E team is a streamlined way to introduce students to a future in engineering and many of the past team members have already gone on to pursue an engineering education if not jumping right into an engineering career.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

That would be nit-picking.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a retired media specialist and have had the opportunity to observe LIFE, Inc. activities for about ten years. This is an amazing group with ever-widening interests. Originally a home-schoolers' group, it now serves the whole spectrum of life-long learners, providing resources and opportunities for people of all ages and abilities. If I ever have a question about where to find an answer LIFE, Inc's website is one of my first stops. With their new involvement with Makers, they have opened a new window on the world for me.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

LI4E is a wonderful vehicle that provides not-so-cookie-cutter opportunities for people of all ages and encourages them to share their interests and skills.

Three years ago, our son was introduced to LI4E via its FIRST FTC Robotics team at the USF
Engineering Expo. At this outreach
event, LI4E’s “Team Duct Tape” was demonstrating their robot to the public. Our son was interested in joining a robotics club but had not been able to locate one nearby in which he could participate. When we followed up with Terri Willingham at LI4E, she explained the program and offered our son a chance to join the team as an apprentice when the new season started.
It was not long before he was a full-fledged member, spending his Saturdays building robots and
competing in FTC matches. We were happy to see that the team operated in a manner that reflected
the values in the LI4E mission statement of collaborative learning. Our son is now starting his third year with the team. And last year, we became coaches for Team Duct Tape which has been both challenging and fulfilling.

Our family has participated in other inspiring LI4E activities, including the Mini-Maker Faire, Red Bull Challenge, and TEDx events. We are always interested to learn about LI4E projects because they often
provide an unusual opportunity that you are glad to make time to attend.

We recommend LI4E for its goal to inspire love of life-long learning and its commitment to providing worthwhile programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2013

more

September 23, 2013

As a recently retired, middle school science teacher, I first became involved with L.I.4.E. Inc. as a volunteer for another non-profit, The Concourse Council Inc. Over the course of a few months, I worked on almost a daily basis with the project manager of the non-profit, Tampa Bay Mini Maker Fest. My knowledge base regarding S.T.E.M. education was limited, but because of T.B.M.M.F., LI4E, associated websites, newsletters and my collaboration with the project manager, it has grown by leaps and bounds. The addition of intelligent ways of combining curriculum to be more inclusive is very exciting. S.T.E.M. education is the wave of the future and the addition of all aspects of the many and varied programs encompassed by LI4E addresses real educational reform. I hope to work with the project manager again in the near future as I feel her organization can help reengage many students in K-12 education. Enlightened public/private school representatives should avail themselves of the LI4E project manager and her unlimited resources to improve their S.T.E.M. curriculum offerings. In my opinion, there is not a more vital, necessary, and more deserving non-profit than LI4E on so many different levels. Please feel free to contact me for details on our non-profits experiences with the aforementioned groups. Thank you for the opportunity to shed light on the best chance of moving education forward for the majority of children for the next generation. Sincerely, Jim Wilcox jimi44@hotmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would do everything in my power to advertise all the positive benefits this organization provides now for the future of our children by enhancing their learning. There is no more important promise we can offer than a complete, well balanced education for ALL of our children. Please do everything possible to increase the exposure of this very worthy non-profit so more benefactors can support their mission. Thank you. Jim Wilcox

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

*help staff a Community Innovation Center *teach a workshop Volunteer