Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
February 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with the League of Women Voters for many years. As we have moved around the country, the League is always one of my first calls in a new community. By joining and volunteering, I am tied in to the community immediately. I always find smart, caring people doing work to make our community better. It's a great place to feel at home and to make the community I live in a little bit stronger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more people who are willing to spend a little time making our communities stronger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of the League of Women Voters from my mother who volunteered as a precinct worker at every election, sharing election duties with civic-minded League members. Years laters as a young stay-at-home mother needing some outside activity to stimulate my days, I joined the League. What a boon it has been to meet and work with so many intelligent people who embrace the same mission for civic engagement, can agree to disagree, can advance their leadership skills, and make a difference in their community! Now, almost 52 years later, I credit my League friends as the most valued assets I have. In the vernacular of the day, they have my back and I have theirs. League membership starts with an understaing of what is, moves toward what can be at the local, state, and national levels of governmet, then sets priorities to actively create more equitable, more doable, more engaged local communities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

develope a stronger national ad campaign.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For over 30 years I have used and shared election time information frim the League of Women Voters. First print only but growing into a wonderful electronic resource for voter information at all levels of government. Only one reason I am a proud, long time member of the Leaague.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 6, 2011

For over 30 years I have benefitted from my membership in the League of Women Voters. I have served in various capacities on local and state League Boards, and helped with voter registration, candida... more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined the League in 1975. My mother and two of my sisters belonged to the League and I was fairly new to my community and was looking for like-minded people who shared my interests in government and civic engagement. I have found the League to be a trusted source of information; a place where I could always find a stimulating discussion; an organization with a good deal of gravitas in our City, and a place where it was easy to make lifelong friendships. I have participated in League studies, served on the local League and State Boards, and moderated many public forums. My League friends, male and female, keep me engaged, aware, and knowledgeable. I have had a ton of fun, too!
League's work in the community, educating the voters, promoting civic engagement, registering voters, and studying the issues, is important and worth my support. I wholeheartedly support the League with my time, talent and treasure and hope many others do so, as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more members to help in our important work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

For over 30 years I have benefitted from my membership in the League of Women Voters. I have served in various capacities on local and state League Boards, and helped with voter registration, candidate's forums, pros and cons meetings on ballot issues, community issues forums, and participated in studies on a myriad of subjects - from Community Colleges to Health Care. So what did I get? A lot of knowledge, many good friends, a sense of contributing to something meaninful and helpful, among other things. Why do I love this organization? It is fair, inclusive, deliberate and does real "stuff." It is respected nation wide for its work. I am proud to be an active member of the League. It is not just for women (my husband is also a member, as are many men; our current local League president is male.) It is not for complainers or whiners, but a place where we can actually DO something to make our political life better and engage in contributing to the civic good. Join the League!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing improved understanding of issues. Improved my own knowledge. Helped to insure transparency in government operations. Made many long term friends and acquaintances.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work with the leadership to increase the use of technology by the membership and improve the efficiency of the decision making process so that it can be more nimble.

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Not only has LWVC Ed Fund developed an outstanding web platform for unbiased, non partisan voter information on candidates and ballot measures, they make it possible for local Leagues to add information on local elections as well. This makes SmartVoter.org a "one stop shop" for local voters to become educated on their elections. I realized this especially when a few years ago, I helped put our local contests on SmartVoter. That maked me realize both how much this service helps voters, and how much responsibility we bear in making sure the information is truly not biased and is helpful in educating voters so they can make informed decisions.

I have also, of course, used SmartVoter virtually every election, to learn about candidates and ballot measures myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After being dogged for months by a friend I finally joined the League over 15 years ago. It is a perfect fit. My father was an immigrant who said to me - get the best education you can and VOTE!!! LWV's Eduction Fund combines both. It educates voters in a non partisan way so they can be informed before they cast their ballot. It is a wonderful, ego-free organization that supports educating the public about important issues in our Democracy. Join us! Try it, you'll like it!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate as much money as possible to support their efforts to educate us on important issues.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The best source of complete, non partisan, unbiased and WELL RESEARCHED information on ballot measures and election-related issues. I am so proud of the LWVC Education Fund.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I grew up with the League. My mother was an active League member, and I was her helper. She gave me my first membership, and I have maintained that wherever I've moved. The League provides an immediate connection to people who care about -- and are active in -- their community. As a volunteer, I have have learned great skills -- research, writing, public speaking, fundraising -- and done it while providing a service to my community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it stronger -- with more people power.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Who invited me to join? or did I join on my own ? It doesn't matter because bottom line, being a member of the League of Women Voters California has enriched my personal and professional life for more than 20 years. There are MEN and women in this volunteer organization who share their skills and time in service of one goal: improving our democracy by engaging more people to become informed and active citizens. The League is unparalleled in its non partisan reputation and also a great place to volunteer or to join as a member, if you want to see real impact on what's important for our future. You don't have to be an expert, the League is a welcoming place for all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I joined my local League over 20 years ago when they were participating in a national study on health care. I knew the League as a respected source of information. My exposure to the process of conducting a study of an important social issue by enlisting members to study various aspects and present their findings in public meetings with great non partisan discussions leading to consensus of the group gave me even more respect for the LWV.

I joined my local board which helped me build leadership skills and involved me more deeply in my community. Later I was elected to the state board where I learned more governance skills. I have always felt that the time and effort I gave helped my community and the voting public while expanding my own knowledge and understanding of issues and government processes. For me, the League's brand as a good and open government organization has made me a better citizen.

There is also love and laughter in the League. I have had the pleasure of developing deep respectful friendships over my years with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers