Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.846155
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

The League does a great job at many levels of promoting active participation in US democracy (protecting voting rights, registering voters). However, their understanding of complex policy issues is amateurish at times (they're enthusiastic volunteers, of course, and mean well). This makes their voter recommendations unreliable for those who want to fully understanding the repercussions of the vote. The demographics of their members also skews their point of view substantially.
August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

I give many hours of my time to Smart Voter, LWVC's comprehensive voter education website. I tell people, there are lots of voter ed sites on the web but Smart Voter is the only one that gives you local information. This nonprofit deserves your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give your focus to Smart Voter. I believe it's the future of League.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 6, 2013

Who invited me to join? or did I join on my own ? It doesn't matter because bottom line, being a member of the League of Women Voters California has enriched my personal and professional life for more... more

August 10, 2014

The League of Women Voters of California is an organization with a stellar reputation and
esteemed history. This is a non-profit organization where I donate my time and money gladly because
the League provides what no other resource can provide; non partisan, free, multilingual resources
to help people understand all about elections and voting.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Who invited me to join? or did I join on my own ? It doesn't matter because bottom line, being a member of the League of Women Voters California has enriched my personal and professional life for more than 20 years. There are MEN and women in this volunteer organization who share their skills and time in service of one goal: improving our democracy by engaging more people to become informed and active citizens. The League is unparalleled in its non partisan reputation and also a great place to volunteer or to join as a member, if you want to see real impact on what's important for our future. You don't have to be an expert, the League is a welcoming place for all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I've always used Smart Voter to assist me in making informed decisions at election time. In addition, I've volunteered with LWVC and was very impressed with their ethics, sincerity, and responsibility in getting things right.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more staff capacity

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

I use Smart Voter at all elections. All the information on the ballot measure or candidate is accessible from this one central place. Fabulous!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

This is an organization full of staff and volunteers who are deeply committed to honest, impartial, straight-forward information for voters. I've been volunteering on a committee for a few months now, and I'm so impressed by the dedication to democracy that drives these *incredibly* smart and talented women (and a few men). Democracy isn't just a concept to them - it's a vital activity, and they work really hard to carve out and defend voters' access to useful information that is free from corporate and partisan influence. The CaVotes.org website is a fantastic, high quality, easily accessible resource for voters in California. Possibly the most valuable resource the League offers during elections is their focus on local democracy, local issue information, and voter registration. They make being a well-informed voter much easier! Also, you know that when the League takes a position on something, it's completely trust-worthy, well-researched, and carefully thought out - you don't have to go looking for who funded their opinion.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I have been a volunteer with the League of Women Voters for many years and joined because I believe in the mission and purpose of the organization. The League is most concerned with voter registration and then providing education. The League is respected for its study of issues.
Members are
offered the opportunity to be involved at the local, state and national levels. Only a small percentage of the dues go to support paid staff. One may feel good about donating to the League because of its education focus, much of which is done by volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Attract a younger, more racially diverse and male membership to better ensure the work is meeting the needs of everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

The League of Women Voters of California Education Fund provides an invaluable resource for the community. Their programs are carefully thought out and meticulously executed.

Our local League often relies on the expertise of the LWVC Education Fund and its impressible members. Their
knowledge, accessibility, and willingness to help make them a leader in their field. The organization repeatedly demonstrates its skills in collaboration, ability to foster community, and member accessibility.

LWVC Education Fund does not only lead by example, but also provides real guidance, support and resources to local Leagues all over California.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 6, 2014

I have been a volunteer with the League of Women Voters for many years. As we have moved around the country, the League is always one of my first calls in a new community. By joining and volunteering,... more

August 8, 2014

My time volunteering for the League provides huge satisfaction for me -- working on great projects, helping make the community I live in stronger for everyone, and continuing to grow and learn personally.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer with the League of Women Voters for many years. As we have moved around the country, the League is always one of my first calls in a new community. By joining and volunteering, I am tied in to the community immediately. I always find smart, caring people doing work to make our community better. It's a great place to feel at home and to make the community I live in a little bit stronger.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more people who are willing to spend a little time making our communities stronger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

Extraordinary, detailed, non-partisan and trustworthy work in civic engagement and voting rights. The League is the go to, dependable source for both basic information and thoughtful positions impacting voters.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers