Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 6, 2012

I am a member of a local board in Utah, not the main board. I looked up our rating because of a dues issue upcoming at National. League has been very worthwhile and I work hard at educating our members and our neighbors about what's happening in our state. LWV is a "thinking person's organization." If you are thinking of joining, do go to our national LWVUS website and find your local group, you will never regret it except at the end of the legislative season, when you can't hear about another bill proposal. By the way, LWV is different at the local level than most NPO's because we only raise enough money to do our work--learn, educate, and inform. We raise little money and spend it mostly on those three things. And an office person, too.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There are several ways in which LWV is very effective in Utah. A large group of members attend every Legislative session, sending a daily update on action there, on radio; emails go to state and local governments & all our members. We are highly respected for this. We are working on education policy positions, in small and large groups, very successfully. My work on "natural resources" has given us publicity and respect. LVW positions make policy differences here.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to attract more young people, college and newly employed ages, to join us. It would be good for them, and it would invigorate us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I belonged a zillion years ago when I was a young mother, joined here because I had free time and wanted to do something worthwhile and mentally stimulating.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Register more voters and stop the spread of restrictive voting rules. Locally we have an "ethics in government" problem and serious environmental challenges that need to be publicized and then receive educated public attention.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Nationally I believe registering and educating voters, and protecting voting rights are primary. Ethics in government run a close second. After that we care about the environment, schools and education, etc. Whatever it takes to produce an active, educated, and informed electorate which goes to the polls regularly and picks carefully.

October 4, 2011

more

October 4, 2011

My time with the League of Women Voters of Greater Pittburgh has been good and infulential. The members are very knowledgeable and equipped to share their expertise with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

When I married and moved to a new places, little did I know that the League of Women Voters would be one of my best "friends." It introduced me to civic concerns in cities like Philadelphia, Butler, and Pittsburgh: for example, saving a public health department in a reluctant community; sharing river resources in the Delaware Watershed; learning about U.S. foreign aid and trade during the Cold War; Governance reform in Allegheny County, and, more recently, the Marcellus Shale debate, schools for the next generations, and always informing citizens about candidates and hot topics.

Everywhere, the LWV attracts men and women who want Good Government. It's a "2 for 1:" Know your Town and Know New Friends.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I HAVE BEEN A MEMBER OF LWV FOR FIFTY YEARS AND HAVE GROWN IN MY UNDERSTANDING OF IMPORTANT ISSUES, FROM ALL SIDES OF EACH QUESTION. oUR STUDY GROUP INVESTIGATES FACTS, DISCUSSES EACH ISSUE BEFORE COMING TO DECISION. IN THAT WAY LEAGUE HAS TAUGHT ME TO EVALUATE COMPLEXED ISSUES WITH FACTS AND REACH MY OWN DECISION. . I HAVE PARTICIPATED IN THE LEAGUE SPONSORED BI PARTISAN PUBLIC FORUMS ON ISSUES AND WITH CANDIDATES. PROUD TO BE AN INFORMED CITIZEN BECAUSE OF LEAGUE. OUR BOOK CLUB DISCUSSES AND READS NON FICTION BOOKS REPRESENTING ALL POLITICAL VIEW POINTS AND COVERING A BROAD AREA OF ISSUES.
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

As a long time League member, I note the many ways that the League has helped me grow. Developing leadership skills, understanding government on all levels, research and advocacy are among the important areas.
Friends who are involved and concerned are a bonus.
I recommend that all
interested citizens (men and women) join this non partisan and effective organization.

Please give--maintaining democracy is demanding!
September 29, 2011

more

September 29, 2011

I've been a member of the League of Women Voters for over thirty years. It has been an extremely empowering and rewarding experience. Informed and civil civic engagement is one of the most important gifts we can give to our society. League members do it with pride.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Board membership and leadership

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have more member/volunteers

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Friendships, skills, carefully weighed information

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Pride and urgency about how much it is needed

September 10, 2011

more

September 10, 2011

Sometimes we feel hopeless. "What can I do to change things?" The League provides an answer. It's one of the most patriotic things you can do - support League and join League. Promote informed voting. Encourage citizens to vote and help them to do so. You CAN do something!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As a Board member, I've gotten back so much more than the effort I've put in. I feel involved and productive.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is in need of help to keep up with constantly changing technologies, so I help with that while feeding my inner geek.

June 3, 2010

more

June 3, 2010

The League of Women Voters works to get all citizens involved and active in government. Local Leagues around the country have active and dedicated volunteers. Priorities are clean government and election laws, voting rights and civil rights. In recent years the League has supported strong environmental and health care legislation.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

personal growth and education in many areas of my life. I learned about public policy issues (taxes, healthcare, the environment, how government really works, voting laws) plus made good friends. I'm not as active now but am still involved.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers