Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

As a nonprofit professional, I have an intimate knowledge of how important organizations are to people that are disenfranchised and in need of support. I am a firm believer that real change happens in a bottom up format, empowering those who need support to change their circumstances and develop in order to reach their true potential. LI accomplishes this with innovative and precise programs- helping communities survive and thrive in a sustainable fashion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Leadership Initiatives is determined to change the world, one community at a time. I have volunteered with LI since 2003 and visited projects in both Namibia and Nigeria. One difference this organization has is their constant presence. I have met many people in developing countries that have gone through training of some kind through one organization or another. More often than not, these people struggle to apply their skills outside of the classroom. Leadership Infinitives' Computer Literacy course is a great example for taking the abstract and making it applicable. I had an opportunity to meet Ibrahim, a graduate of this program. He now makes a living servicing peoples printing needs, creating banners, business cards, advertisements and wedding invitations. Throughout his transition from student to entrepreneur, LI has been there, checking in on him and assisting along the way. Ibrahim is more than just a success story for LI, he is a teacher and supervises the development of new graduates. He is one of the many people involved in that is committed to changing the world, one community at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Having spent many years living in developing nations, I have been impressed by the model of sustainable economic development put forward by Leadership Initiatives. The model builds entrepreneurial leaders at a community level, taking local entrepreneurs through a process of identifying a business/service that is needed, developing a business plan, and raising the necessary funding from within their community. The results are sustainable businesses that empower individuals and their communities to invest in their futures. The success of the new businesses and the willingness of successful entrepreneurs to reinvest in new projects is a compelling model that I feel proud to support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Leadership Initiatives (LI) is an outstanding example of how we should guide and direct our foreign policy initiatives in regards to peace-building and international development. LI strives to create an atmosphere where the people of Nigeria have the largest say in how their needs are met, thus this does not create dependency and allows for more brighter days to come in Nigeria. After having had the opportunity to meet individuals who have been affected by LI's work, I am forever hopeful that LI will only grow to do greater things in the years to come. Leadership Initiatives has taken social entrepreneurship to a whole new level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

I have been involved with Leadership Initiatives for the past two years, and have been familiar with the organization for the past four years. I was first introduced to Leadership Initiatives when my older brother was involved with the organization, working to raise money for the “Water for Nigeria” project. His group raised enough money to build a water purification facility in Bauchi State, Northern Nigeria. After seeing how my brother was able to help a deprived community through Leadership Initiatives, I knew I wanted to somehow be involved. I was then fortunate enough to be asked by Marshall Bailly, the Executive Director, to be the group leader of the Fish for Freedom project. As the group leader, I am now able to be a part of some of the incredible projects that Leadership Initiatives is involved with.

While working with Leadership Initiatives, I have been privileged enough to work with those who need the help the most. Our group project is focused on providing affordable fish to the people of Birshi State in Nigeria, and we are currently in the midst of raising money to help expand the fish farming program into other areas of the state. In doing so, we are helping regions that have been severely depleted of crucial nutrients for years, specifically quality protein and Vitamin B.

My work with Leadership Initiatives has been occasionally interrupted by the actions of political and religious extremists throughout Nigeria. Leadership Initiatives’ ability to overcome the constant adversity faced each day by these extremists is truly remarkable. It is a well run organization and repeatedly completes projects that have a lasting impact on many less fortunate communities in Nigeria. I am proud to be a part of this respected organization, and I anticipate further growth of their humanitarian efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Leadership Initiatives’ International Business Alliance Program (formerly Sister Schools Program) connects emerging businesses abroad with high school students across the United States. American student leaders are tasked with solving local development issues through business development, thus fostering cross-cultural collaboration. High school students involved in the program have been instrumental in increasing capital for their business partners through business process changes that enhanced efficiency and minimized costs. The success of the International Business Alliance Program on the high school level led LI to introduce its first program at the university level this past year at Georgetown University, with plans to expand to other colleges/universities in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Leadership Initiatives is a great example of social entrepreneurship. The people behind the organization are driven -- their bottom line is social capital. The LI model is to provide just enough assistance and infrastructure that the people in the community can establish their own businesses -- which often beget more businesses. I have watched this organization grow from the inspired idea of a college student ten years ago to an engine for social change fueled by altruism, business savvy, and a sincere desire to help improve people's quality of life -- by showing folks how to do it themselves. I have taught in the university system for over 25 years and specialize in social entrepreneurship. Leadership Initiatives is an example of the best of the best.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Leadership Initiatives creates businesses, but there's more to it than that. In a time where relationships between countries have become very tense and unpredictable, LI takes everything back to the very basics, which is presenting oneself and seeing others as humans with emotions and desires and goals. By connecting leaders in the beneficiaries' communities with outstanding US high school students poised to become leaders for their own generation, we promote intercultural relationships with teamwork. This results in a continuing positive relationship. US students will take this positivity with them to college and beyond. Finding ways to improve cross-cultural relationships can be difficult, but often times the answer to the problem is the simplest solution.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I joined Leadership Initiatives this year, and am already impressed by the widespread effect this organization has on all aspects of the community. Leadership Initiatives promotes developing businesses, creating a safe environment for entrepreneurs in the Nigerian and Bauchi community. These developments are facilitated by the youth of the International Business Alliance Program which fosters the promotion of leadership skills among high school and college students, allowing the next generation to become active members in their community and the world. This organization not only strives for a wonderful cause but is also possesses the progressive and effective skills to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

My commitment to Leadership Initiatives (LI) grew exponentially when I realized that the businesses that LI had helped to create turned into engines of community development. The businesses are not only succeeding but are building infrastructure in their own communities, are creating orphanages to fill in for absent social services, and are faithful donors to LI as well as volunteers to one another. LI demonstrates the achievements that can be accomplished by committed volunteers working with dedicated international grass-roots entrepreneurs and local micro-financing from community middle-class sources. By partnering U.S. students with the local entrepreneurs to provide help as project managers and fund-raisers, LI is creating a learning opportunity that gives our next generation of Americans a powerful understanding of grass-roots business development and international exposure. Training for the local entrepreneurs includes skills, leadership, and financial classes to ensure not only success in the short-run, but sustainable growth in the future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist with curriculum development Volunteer