Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
113 Reviews
1234.98235
Write A Review
October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 17, 2010

My review of Lazarex Cancer Foundation would be without a doubt 5 stars. They actually deserve 10 stars in their outstanding service, caring, love and hope for their patients. more

October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My mother was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer again in 2008. Knowing that she had to travel to California in order to seek treatment we had no idea how this was going to work financially for us. if it had not been for Lazarex she would have never been able to financially afford to take this treatment. With the financial help she received for housing, she is still alive and doing very well. We cannot thank Lazarex enough for everything they did for our family. We love the Lazarex team.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 17, 2010

My review of Lazarex Cancer Foundation would be without a doubt 5 stars. They actually deserve 10 stars in their outstanding service, caring, love and hope for their patients.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This is the most incrediable foundation I have ever experienced. Mom experienced it first hand with the funding which has enabled her to be in clinical remission. Love, Hope, Dignity is what Lazarex is all about. We can't thank them enough.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the love and peace they provide their recipients.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Unbelieveable. Kind, Loving, Caring, Hopeful. They just make you feel like such a special member of their family.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Provide financial assistance to so many patients who are told there is no treamtent left for them. So many families could experience the hope and joy we now have.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2013

I was diagnosed with Chronic Mylogenous Leukemia (CML) at age 46 in 2009. The FDA approved treatments did not work for me so after the first year of heartbreaking defeat, I applied for a clinical tri... more

October 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a patient of Lazarex Cancer Foundation. When I was diagnosed with Chronic Leukemia and the FDA approved treatments did not work for me, Lazarex Cancer Foundation helped me enter a clinical trial for a new drug. Without the help of Lazarex, I would not have been able to participate in this trial. I had to relocate to San Francisco to participate and Lazarex paid all my housing, airfare, rental car fees so I could go. I had to stop work and without Lazarex helping me financially, I don't know where I'd be now. They saved my life! Lazarex still supports me today because I am still in the trail. THANK YOU LAZAREX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with Chronic Mylogenous Leukemia (CML) at age 46 in 2009. The FDA approved treatments did not work for me so after the first year of heartbreaking defeat, I applied for a clinical trial at UCSF. In order to participate in the clinical trial I had to relocate to San Francisco for the first 3 months, then return every month for the first year, then every 3 months and I am still doing that today. Without Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I would not have been able to participate, because I could not afford to, I simply do not have the money to pay to travel, rent a car and hotel fees that are associated with this clinical trial. Within 6 months of starting this new drug, my disease was undetectable and it remains undetectable to this day!! Lazrex Cancer Foundation gave me hope and a new life and the ability to participate in ground breaking treatment that I would otherwise have missed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have a rare bone cancer called Chondrosarcoma. Three years ago, it progressed to the point of being inoperable and was spreading. My doctor at the time said I had five years or so to live. Thanks to Lazarex, I've been able to participate in several clinical trials of new drugs designed for my type of cancer. The medicines have extended my life expectancy a lot and the latest trial drug I'm taking has the potential to completely stop my cance from spreading.

The trials I've been enrolled in have all been out of town and required regular travel from my home in Albuquerque to hospitals in Houston and San Antonio. Without Lazarex's help, I would have had to stop the treatments because the cost of travel was bankrupting us. Stopping treatment would also mean losing my life to cancer, since there were no other treatment options.

But thanks to Lazarex, I can continue participating in clinical trails that are literally saving my life. We have hope and the chance for a future that includes living a long life. Thanks to Lazarex, my cancer doesn't get to win, I do.
August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with an aggressive stage 3 breast cancer and found a clinical trial a few states away that showed quite a bit of promise for my future with a breast cancer vaccine. Due to the extensive and frequent travel, there was no way I could afford to be in the trial.

Due to the
extent of my breast cancer, there was no way I could not afford to be in the trial!

I contacted everyone that I found online for assistance and after contacting the incredible people at Lazarex, I was afforded the opportunity to be in the clinical trial. Had I not received assistance from LCF, the expenses from the trial may have bankrupted my family. As a wife and a mom of two young boys, our entire family thanks God and prays for the employees and supporters of LCF.

Without LCF, my 10 year survival rate would be quite dismal.

Incredible foundation supported by an amazing staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Karen, Tammy and the spectacular support staff that run the operation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife was diagnosed with Leiomyosarcoma Stage V in 2010. She went thru 4 Surgeries and 2 Chemotherapy treatments in the Sacramento area before the local Doctors said "there are no more options".We contacted Stanford University and they immediately referred us to Dr. Chawla in Santa Monica who specializes in Sarcoma and clinical trials, we were accepted as a patient. Then reality set in "How are we going to afford this we will need to travel a couple times a month". An Angel of Hope appeared in the Lazarex Foundation, they sponsored us for travel and lodging for almost two years as we sometimes had to travel 5 times a month for treatment.For some people one of the hardest things to do is ask for help but Tami Keeler the Patient Coordinator for Lazarex made the whole process seamless.The work they do extend lives,bring hope,give remission to patients. When and if you do ever meet the staff you can see they truly care about their patients and the fight for the Cure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

No words can ever express my gratitude to this wonderful organization. They were the light at the end of my dark journey after being diagnosed with sarcoma. With their assistance I was able to continue my treatment 3,000 miles away from home. Their staff are angels walking on earth and as I mentioned earlier, no words can express my sincerest gratitude. Thank you Lazarex, may all great things continue to come your way as your organization have made great things happen in so many of our lives that you have helped throughout the years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None....they are an amazing organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I’ve been an artist for over 50 years and was looking forward to a long retirement (on a small fixed income) to finally express all that I had learned, so it was a deep shock when I learned that I had stage 4 Orapharngeal cancer.

I did research and found that University of California San
Francisco, Mt. Zion had a highly recommended treatment cancer center. I live in southern Oregon and would have to rent a place in San Francisco for the duration of the treatment (8 weeks.) Then I learned of the cost of renting in S. F. It was a serious amount of money and way way out of my price range.

My prayers were answered when my sister Clara found Lazerex Foundation on the internet. They were so understanding and supporting of my situation. They agreed to and paid for the rental. Without them I would have been… well actually, I don’t know where I would have been without them. I could never been able to repay my sister (also on a fixed income.) Thank you Lazerex. I’ve been out of treatment for 5 months and I am clear of cancer.

Louis Colosimo
Central Point, Oregon

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a little clearer what Lazerex will pay for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Seventeen years ago I was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer called liposarcoma. The tumor was removed and three years later the tumor came back in the exact same location and that too was removed. I was declared cancer free. However, two years ago the cancer came back, only this time there were several tumors all within the pelvis. After a 10 hour surgery at UCSF the tumors were removed and we had hoped that this would be the end of it. However, seven months ago new lesions were discovered and this time surgery was out of the question. It was recommended that I enter a clinical trial in Southern California. I was accepted into the trial and have gone through six chemo-therapy treatments at this point. The tumors are reduced in size, but are still very much present. I'm a teacher at a private Christian school in Walnut Creek and have limited financial resources---we do not own a home and have been renting for over 23 years. When I heard of Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I contacted them and was accepted as a client. Lazarex has made it possible for me to be treated with the latest chemo-therapy protocol and I am profoundly thankful for their support. This has been such an encouragement to me, my wife, four children and 15 grandchildren. Thank you so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed in February 2012 with leiomyosarcoma (LMS) after a routine appointment with my regular doctor I had mentioned a slight pain in my left hip which I was sure was most likely arthritis. After reviewing my x-rays my doctor wanted to have a pet scan done to look further into that area. Still I wasn't that concerned at that point, however when you get the real news it's something that you will never forget. "You have a rare form of cancer and basically there was nothing our oncologist could do for us here in Palm Springs. At that time he made a call to a trial center in Santa Monica with Dr. Chawla. The whole ordeal was the scariest thing I have ever been through not to mention the pain that I was putting my family through. We started our trail in March after a long battle with our insurance company which at one point I wanted to give up it was so overwhelming and just didn't seem fare. After a few treatments when we started to worry about traveling and hotel expenses our daughter found Lazarex Cancer Foundation and with was given Tami's name and without any hesitations grief which we already had she took over and I can't say "thank you" enough to all of you for all your support and kindness. I am still in trails and we just take one day at a time but it's always nice to know that we are not alone in this fight. Mike and Vickie Stauf and from our daughter Christin Castellanos.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex has been a Godsend to me and and my husband. I have two brain tumors; my options were limited and very risky, so trips to Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago were what we needed to do. We have to travel from Missouri to Chicago. It is such a long trip for us every two weeks for a year. The insurance company told us they would not participate in this treatment. We have so much to pay out of pocket for the medical , hospital, and doctor visits. Lazarex has been an answer to our prayers. God bless them for their continued work and for all those they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the mailings for endurance event participants and fundraising appeals; do data entry; do a shift at one of our local fundraisers; support our patient advocacy program.