Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.978025
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife was diagnosed with Leiomyosarcoma Stage V in 2010. She went thru 4 Surgeries and 2 Chemotherapy treatments in the Sacramento area before the local Doctors said "there are no more options".We contacted Stanford University and they immediately referred us to Dr. Chawla in Santa Monica who specializes in Sarcoma and clinical trials, we were accepted as a patient. Then reality set in "How are we going to afford this we will need to travel a couple times a month". An Angel of Hope appeared in the Lazarex Foundation, they sponsored us for travel and lodging for almost two years as we sometimes had to travel 5 times a month for treatment.For some people one of the hardest things to do is ask for help but Tami Keeler the Patient Coordinator for Lazarex made the whole process seamless.The work they do extend lives,bring hope,give remission to patients. When and if you do ever meet the staff you can see they truly care about their patients and the fight for the Cure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

No words can ever express my gratitude to this wonderful organization. They were the light at the end of my dark journey after being diagnosed with sarcoma. With their assistance I was able to continue my treatment 3,000 miles away from home. Their staff are angels walking on earth and as I mentioned earlier, no words can express my sincerest gratitude. Thank you Lazarex, may all great things continue to come your way as your organization have made great things happen in so many of our lives that you have helped throughout the years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None....they are an amazing organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I’ve been an artist for over 50 years and was looking forward to a long retirement (on a small fixed income) to finally express all that I had learned, so it was a deep shock when I learned that I had stage 4 Orapharngeal cancer.

I did research and found that University of California San
Francisco, Mt. Zion had a highly recommended treatment cancer center. I live in southern Oregon and would have to rent a place in San Francisco for the duration of the treatment (8 weeks.) Then I learned of the cost of renting in S. F. It was a serious amount of money and way way out of my price range.

My prayers were answered when my sister Clara found Lazerex Foundation on the internet. They were so understanding and supporting of my situation. They agreed to and paid for the rental. Without them I would have been… well actually, I don’t know where I would have been without them. I could never been able to repay my sister (also on a fixed income.) Thank you Lazerex. I’ve been out of treatment for 5 months and I am clear of cancer.

Louis Colosimo
Central Point, Oregon

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a little clearer what Lazerex will pay for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Seventeen years ago I was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer called liposarcoma. The tumor was removed and three years later the tumor came back in the exact same location and that too was removed. I was declared cancer free. However, two years ago the cancer came back, only this time there were several tumors all within the pelvis. After a 10 hour surgery at UCSF the tumors were removed and we had hoped that this would be the end of it. However, seven months ago new lesions were discovered and this time surgery was out of the question. It was recommended that I enter a clinical trial in Southern California. I was accepted into the trial and have gone through six chemo-therapy treatments at this point. The tumors are reduced in size, but are still very much present. I'm a teacher at a private Christian school in Walnut Creek and have limited financial resources---we do not own a home and have been renting for over 23 years. When I heard of Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I contacted them and was accepted as a client. Lazarex has made it possible for me to be treated with the latest chemo-therapy protocol and I am profoundly thankful for their support. This has been such an encouragement to me, my wife, four children and 15 grandchildren. Thank you so much.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed in February 2012 with leiomyosarcoma (LMS) after a routine appointment with my regular doctor I had mentioned a slight pain in my left hip which I was sure was most likely arthritis. After reviewing my x-rays my doctor wanted to have a pet scan done to look further into that area. Still I wasn't that concerned at that point, however when you get the real news it's something that you will never forget. "You have a rare form of cancer and basically there was nothing our oncologist could do for us here in Palm Springs. At that time he made a call to a trial center in Santa Monica with Dr. Chawla. The whole ordeal was the scariest thing I have ever been through not to mention the pain that I was putting my family through. We started our trail in March after a long battle with our insurance company which at one point I wanted to give up it was so overwhelming and just didn't seem fare. After a few treatments when we started to worry about traveling and hotel expenses our daughter found Lazarex Cancer Foundation and with was given Tami's name and without any hesitations grief which we already had she took over and I can't say "thank you" enough to all of you for all your support and kindness. I am still in trails and we just take one day at a time but it's always nice to know that we are not alone in this fight. Mike and Vickie Stauf and from our daughter Christin Castellanos.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex has been a Godsend to me and and my husband. I have two brain tumors; my options were limited and very risky, so trips to Northwestern Memorial Hospital in Chicago were what we needed to do. We have to travel from Missouri to Chicago. It is such a long trip for us every two weeks for a year. The insurance company told us they would not participate in this treatment. We have so much to pay out of pocket for the medical , hospital, and doctor visits. Lazarex has been an answer to our prayers. God bless them for their continued work and for all those they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with Chronic Mylogenous Leukemia (CML) at age 46 in 2009. The FDA approved treatments did not work for me so after the first year of heartbreaking defeat, I applied for a clinical trial at UCSF. In order to participate in the clinical trial I had to relocate to San Francisco for the first 3 months, then return every month for the first year, then every 3 months and I am still doing that today. Without Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I would not have been able to participate, because I could not afford to, I simply do not have the money to pay to travel, rent a car and hotel fees that are associated with this clinical trial. Within 6 months of starting this new drug, my disease was undetectable and it remains undetectable to this day!! Lazrex Cancer Foundation gave me hope and a new life and the ability to participate in ground breaking treatment that I would otherwise have missed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been contending with Neuroendocrine cancer for about 15 years. The years have been filled with surgeries (one of them being a liver transplant), chemotherapy , etc. I am currently involved in my second clinical trial which is NOT covered by insurance. Anyone that shares a similar story would quickly agree that the stress of huge financial burdens exacerbates disease and, on occasion, exceeds the misery of the disease itself. Ironically, accepting charity has been one of my most difficult struggles throughout this experience .....until Tami Keeler and Lazarex Cancer Foundation. For me, it was divine intervention from the very first phone call continuing until present day. Their kindness, understanding, and extreme generosity has enabled me to participate in the clinical trial that is literally extending my life.
LIFE IS GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you, Tami and thank you, Lazarex!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...Not a thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Last year we were told by our insurance company that our medical trial was not corved and we had to come with our own money to pay for the treatment in Texas. We tried so many places for help and did not get anywhere. But when we approached Lazarex, Tami was so helpful and offered to helps us with the travel and lodging for the treatment. We exhausted all our saving money about $80,000 and still needed another $15,000 to take the last treatment they offered and my wife was able to extend her life because of them. They continue to support us and forever we will be greatfull for what they have done for us!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our daughter Brittany has been fighting terminal Alveolar Soft Part Sarcoma for over 12 years. She is alive today solely because of a successful phase one clinical trial and has a reasonable quality of life. Lazarax has been instrumental in helping us cope with the financial burdens associated with fighting cancer. Even though many clinical trials are paid for by the drug company, they many times do not cover the cost of travel and lodging which certainly can add up. Financial strains for the loved ones can be overwhelming. Thank you Lazarex.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It is working for our family as is!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the mailings for endurance event participants and fundraising appeals; do data entry; do a shift at one of our local fundraisers; support our patient advocacy program.