Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
109 Reviews
1234.981655
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started working with Lazarex Cancer Foundation this year and I couldn't be more impressed. I am the brand ambassador of Team For Life, the endurance program for Lazarex. Their staff is extremely supportive, passionate and determined to help those with cancer, who have been told they have no other options, regain, dignity, hope and life. There is no other charity out there who does what they do. While research is important, there are people out there who need a cure now. They don't have time to wait, and that's when Lazarex steps in. I lost my father to stage 4 pancreatic cancer in just 35 days from diagnosis. Lazarex was founded because of this horrific disease but helps ALL end stage cancer patients which is wonderful. My heart is grateful to know that Lazarex is out there restoring hope not only by helping patients participate in clinical trials, but in getting these patients to the clinical trials it also takes us one step closer to finding a cure. It is beautiful mission, I love what they do and am honored to represent them. I feel like I am a part of a family.
October 20, 2014

more

October 20, 2014

In my travels, coaching marathon runners, I have met a lot of amazing people. Some were people where I immediately enjoyed their enthusiasm for life and raising money and awareness for that horrible disease, Cancer. Some of them have tragically died. The Lazarex Cancer Foundation could have helped. They get people to clinical trials, which could save their lives or at least extend them. And the families are sent to the trials with their loved ones, the patients. Clinical trials are also a way for science to fully come to fruition with their research. These trials could find an ultimate cure for different forms of cancer. Cancer strikes people from all walks of life, at all ages. That is what I have sadly been witness to. Nothing is more important than a life. And that is what those passionate people at the Lazarex Cancer Foundation set out to do every day. They are truly dedicated to a great cause.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Lazarex since it's beginning and I cannot think of a better organization to donate my time and money to. The work that Lazarex does is absolutely incredible. This is one of the truely great non-profits.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I started out as a volunteer for Lazarex Cancer Foundation in 2009. In full disclosure the founder and president is my sister and it was our family's experience with pancreatic cancer that sowed the seeds for her to start the foundation. When I moved to CA I was able to donate my time for various needs. I helped out with the annual fundraisers and I joined the foundation's Team for LIfe as a fundraising participant in several half marathons. My experience was always very positive in regards to the staff, the organization (100% of direct donations got to Program Services because the founders cover the annual overhead), and the mission.

Lazarex is a relatively small cancer charity that has a big mission and I have been with them over the years since, as the Communications Manager, to witness the foundation's growth, heart, impact and the very hard work of raising funds. It is not a sexy mission, it isn't about funding research, it is about assisting people with advanced cancer (and no treatment options) to participate in FDA clinical trials because it is their last option to fight cancer. Lazarex helps identify clinical trials and covers the out of pocket costs (when needed) of participation like travel, lodging, some medical test or drugs, and a travel companion. So the foundation is helping to move research forward because without test subjects the treatments being tested will never get approved by the FDA. BUT the main focus is the people who need access to these treatments today because they may not have a tomorrow.

If you are looking for a foundation that is providing a service like no other and fills a huge gap in cancer care and treatment, Lazarex Cancer Foundation is the charity to support with your funds, time and talent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If it was in the budget I would hire a CEO to free up the President for more time to focus on special projects, relationship building, PR and fundraising at the higher donor levels. Then I would hire a grant writer and an additional development specialist. Lazarex has seen huge growth in requests for services and while the funding side is growing, it is not keeping pace with the requests for services. Lazarex can do more with more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 17, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 10, 2013

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is extremely special and unique in so many ways. One being their mission, two being their amazing staff and volunteers, three being their VIP patients, four being their fabul... more

September 17, 2014

I've volunteered and worked for many non-profits, and Lazarex is by far the best of the best! The staff, the patients, the volunteer base, and most of all the mission. They are a top notch foundation all around, and I am honored to be a part of it. "It's About Living!!"
October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is extremely special and unique in so many ways. One being their mission, two being their amazing staff and volunteers, three being their VIP patients, four being their fabulous events, and the list goes on and on. I am very proud to be a part of the Lazarex Team, and I am very grateful for all that Lazarex does to support the Cancer community and Cancer patients who refuse to stop fighting!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It wasn't until I started working with Lazarex Cancer Foundation that I fully grasped and understood the importance of what they do, who they support, and how they support them. There are thousands of fabulous charities out there, many of which I continue to support, but Lazarex is extra special. Why? Because Lazarex is the only foundation that helps end-stage cancer patients, ANY cancer, ANY age, ANY race, ANY social status, ANYONE, when they have no other treatment options available to them and are relying on their last few drops of hope. I couldn't imagine being told that "there is nothing that can be done, and to start saying your goodbyes." This is everyone's worst nightmare for themselves, or even worse for their loved ones. And it is during this very sensitive and devastating time, that Lazarex comes to the rescue. Of course, they cannot save everyone, but they do their best to save as much time and memorable moments as possible for their cancer patients. To work for Lazarex and to actually meet the patients in person, to hear their stories, and to have them and their families thank us for supporting them, makes all the hard work worth it. And now, whenever I hear of someone with end-stage cancer, I am eager to tell them all about Lazarex and I encourage them to give us a call right away. It feels great to know there is still HOPE!! I have been so compelled by our patients that I even wrote a song for the foundation. I am currently working on recording it, and very excited to have it completed and presented. This is my small gift to all of our cancer patients. I know music is my medicine, so maybe it can help them as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 14, 2012

I have raised alot of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money an... more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have raised quite a bit of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money and not know what the cause was all about. My name is on the line here as well. People in my community trust me so they trust what I believe in. The more I learned about Lazarex Cancer Foundation, the more impressed I was. As a cancer survivor myself, I knew how much research played a part in cures but this was so different. The research for these patients was already done to an extent, yet ongoing because they need these patients. Patients are on their own to get to these clinical trials to make these research studies a success. That's what impressed me and grabbed my heart. This money was going directly to the patient, a more than likely end stage patient with no more hope, to guide them to and through their clinical trial. After meeting quite a few of these patients now and seeing first hand the awesome results, I can honestly say that every dime I have raised for this foundation has been worth the asking of all my friends and family. I am so proud to be affiliated with Lazarex Cancer Foundation. They in turn make the volunteers feel special and make it fun for us to help them help others. I believe in the work of the Lazarex Cancer Foundation!
September 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have raised alot of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money and not know what the cause was all about. My name is on the line here as well. People in my community trust me so they trust what I believe in. The more I learned about Lazarex Cancer Foundation, the more impressed I was. As a cancer survivor myself, I knew how much research played a part in cures but this was so different. The research for these patients was already done to an extent, yet ongoing because they need these patients. Patients are on their own to get to these clinical trials to make these research studies a success. That's what impressed me and grabbed my heart. This money was going directly to the patient, a more than likely end stage patient with no more hope, to guide them to and through their clinical trial. After meeting quite a few of these patients now and seeing first hand the awesome results, I can honestly say that every dime I have raised for this foundation has been worth the asking of all my friends and family. I am so proud to be affiliated with Lazarex Cancer Foundation. They in turn make the volunteers feel special and make it fun for us to help them help others. I believe in the work of the Lazarex Cancer Foundation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2013

I have been volunteering for Lazarex Cancer Foundation for over 6 years. This foundation is unlike any other charity I have seen anywhere. Their mission is to make sure no end-stage cancer patient ... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation (LCF) is the ONLY cancer foundation that works with end-stage cancer patients to help them navigate and participate in clinical trials. LCF basically funds the cancer patient and a family member so the patient can enroll in a clinical trial. Although all the medical costs are covered by the trail, travel and living expenses are not. This is where LCF comes in- taking the financial burden away from the patient.

I have been an active volunteer for LCF almost from the beginning. I truly believe I am making a difference in the fight against cancer each and every time I volunteer.

Almost 100% of donations goes directly to patients!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Lazarex Cancer Foundation for over 6 years. This foundation is unlike any other charity I have seen anywhere. Their mission is to make sure no end-stage cancer patient goes without a chance at life-saving clinical trials because of money issues. The staff works tirelessly to raise money to fulfill this mission. They do so much good and give hope to cancer patients who have been told there is no more hope. Please check them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love what this foundation does. Having personally been affected by multiple family members with cancer, when they get to the point where the doctors say there's nothing else they can do, it really brakes your heart. The only choice you have is to either watch them die or try clinical trials, which can't be covered by insurance. Lazarex comes in by providing that hope, and allowing end stage cancer patients AND their families to have more time with each other. They help find clinical trials along with helping fund it. I will always volunteer or help with anything they need as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I have spent a good part of the last 2 years participating in endurance events. Together we have raced in 50+ different races. While registering for my girlfriend's first marathon at the end of 2013 for early 2014, we thought of how nice it would be if we raced and raised money for a charity. That was our first experience raising money for a charity and it felt GREAT. After registering for that event and choosing a charity, it was discovered that my girlfriend on her 29th birthday had early stage breast cancer. A few short weeks later my mother too was diagnosed with early stage breast cancer. After her first marathon we decided that our next marathon would be dedicated to some cancer related organization. That's how we discovered the Lazarex Cancer Foundation.

From the very beginning, from the first inquiry email, their fabulous group was very positive and receptive. Very quick to respond to any question, and very enthusiastic about our quest, they made the entire process as easy as possible. They armed us with very useful information, tips to raise money, and much much support. They also kept in frequent email communication to check up on us and see how well everything was going. With how hard they were working with us, it made us want to work just as hard, if not more, to help their beautiful cause. Their website is very inspiring and provided more than enough motivation to go and help them out from their mission statement, to the inspiring individuals and their stories, the constant updates of their involvement in the community, and the progress and strides they're making in the quest for inspiring hope and bringing change. If ever I was having a bad day, maybe some doubts in my mind about what I'm doing, or if I'm in search for a smile, I know I could always check their website and either watch one of their many youtube videos or read about the people they help, and I instantly feel better and inspired to go out and do some good in the world.

Lazarex has changed my perspective and motivation in life. It has made my relationship with my girlfriend and family better as well as inspired me to become a better person. I look at the world more positively and am 100x's more grateful for all of life's blessings. My girlfriend and I look forward to being involved again in any way possible and hope nothing but the best for this great organization. THANK YOU LAZAREX!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing. I wish nothing but the best for all of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have supported Lazarex with our time and treasure. I worked with Lesley on the Southern California Gala, helping to obtain a few auction items and other behind-the-scenes work. I felt very appreciated for my contributions. My friends who attended the gala with me had the best time, both for the fun evening itself and for knowing they were helping such a worthy foundation. Thank you, Lazarex, for the opportunity to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the mailings for endurance event participants and fundraising appeals; do data entry; do a shift at one of our local fundraisers; support our patient advocacy program.