Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
113 Reviews
1234.98235
Write A Review
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Lazarex since it's beginning and I cannot think of a better organization to donate my time and money to. The work that Lazarex does is absolutely incredible. This is one of the truely great non-profits.
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is a well kept secret that needs to be out for everyone to know about! What they do for the patients and clinical research is truly amazing. As a volunteer and professional in the non profit space that works with multiple organizations it is so refreshing to see a non profit like Lazarex be as strategic and focused with clinical trials for cancer research and serve cancer patients. The organization is focused, the staff are dedicated and passionate and they continuously focus on how they can improve the volunteer experience and get more patients in clinical trials.
October 2, 2014

more

October 2, 2014

I started out as a volunteer for Lazarex Cancer Foundation in 2009. In full disclosure the founder and president is my sister and it was our family's experience with pancreatic cancer that sowed the seeds for her to start the foundation. When I moved to CA I was able to donate my time for various needs. I helped out with the annual fundraisers and I joined the foundation's Team for LIfe as a fundraising participant in several half marathons. My experience was always very positive in regards to the staff, the organization (100% of direct donations got to Program Services because the founders cover the annual overhead), and the mission.

Lazarex is a relatively small cancer charity that has a big mission and I have been with them over the years since, as the Communications Manager, to witness the foundation's growth, heart, impact and the very hard work of raising funds. It is not a sexy mission, it isn't about funding research, it is about assisting people with advanced cancer (and no treatment options) to participate in FDA clinical trials because it is their last option to fight cancer. Lazarex helps identify clinical trials and covers the out of pocket costs (when needed) of participation like travel, lodging, some medical test or drugs, and a travel companion. So the foundation is helping to move research forward because without test subjects the treatments being tested will never get approved by the FDA. BUT the main focus is the people who need access to these treatments today because they may not have a tomorrow.

If you are looking for a foundation that is providing a service like no other and fills a huge gap in cancer care and treatment, Lazarex Cancer Foundation is the charity to support with your funds, time and talent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If it was in the budget I would hire a CEO to free up the President for more time to focus on special projects, relationship building, PR and fundraising at the higher donor levels. Then I would hire a grant writer and an additional development specialist. Lazarex has seen huge growth in requests for services and while the funding side is growing, it is not keeping pace with the requests for services. Lazarex can do more with more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2013

I was diagnosed with Chronic Mylogenous Leukemia (CML) at age 46 in 2009. The FDA approved treatments did not work for me so after the first year of heartbreaking defeat, I applied for a clinical tri... more

October 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a patient of Lazarex Cancer Foundation. When I was diagnosed with Chronic Leukemia and the FDA approved treatments did not work for me, Lazarex Cancer Foundation helped me enter a clinical trial for a new drug. Without the help of Lazarex, I would not have been able to participate in this trial. I had to relocate to San Francisco to participate and Lazarex paid all my housing, airfare, rental car fees so I could go. I had to stop work and without Lazarex helping me financially, I don't know where I'd be now. They saved my life! Lazarex still supports me today because I am still in the trail. THANK YOU LAZAREX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with Chronic Mylogenous Leukemia (CML) at age 46 in 2009. The FDA approved treatments did not work for me so after the first year of heartbreaking defeat, I applied for a clinical trial at UCSF. In order to participate in the clinical trial I had to relocate to San Francisco for the first 3 months, then return every month for the first year, then every 3 months and I am still doing that today. Without Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I would not have been able to participate, because I could not afford to, I simply do not have the money to pay to travel, rent a car and hotel fees that are associated with this clinical trial. Within 6 months of starting this new drug, my disease was undetectable and it remains undetectable to this day!! Lazrex Cancer Foundation gave me hope and a new life and the ability to participate in ground breaking treatment that I would otherwise have missed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 10, 2013

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is extremely special and unique in so many ways. One being their mission, two being their amazing staff and volunteers, three being their VIP patients, four being their fabul... more

September 17, 2014

I've volunteered and worked for many non-profits, and Lazarex is by far the best of the best! The staff, the patients, the volunteer base, and most of all the mission. They are a top notch foundation all around, and I am honored to be a part of it. "It's About Living!!"
October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is extremely special and unique in so many ways. One being their mission, two being their amazing staff and volunteers, three being their VIP patients, four being their fabulous events, and the list goes on and on. I am very proud to be a part of the Lazarex Team, and I am very grateful for all that Lazarex does to support the Cancer community and Cancer patients who refuse to stop fighting!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It wasn't until I started working with Lazarex Cancer Foundation that I fully grasped and understood the importance of what they do, who they support, and how they support them. There are thousands of fabulous charities out there, many of which I continue to support, but Lazarex is extra special. Why? Because Lazarex is the only foundation that helps end-stage cancer patients, ANY cancer, ANY age, ANY race, ANY social status, ANYONE, when they have no other treatment options available to them and are relying on their last few drops of hope. I couldn't imagine being told that "there is nothing that can be done, and to start saying your goodbyes." This is everyone's worst nightmare for themselves, or even worse for their loved ones. And it is during this very sensitive and devastating time, that Lazarex comes to the rescue. Of course, they cannot save everyone, but they do their best to save as much time and memorable moments as possible for their cancer patients. To work for Lazarex and to actually meet the patients in person, to hear their stories, and to have them and their families thank us for supporting them, makes all the hard work worth it. And now, whenever I hear of someone with end-stage cancer, I am eager to tell them all about Lazarex and I encourage them to give us a call right away. It feels great to know there is still HOPE!! I have been so compelled by our patients that I even wrote a song for the foundation. I am currently working on recording it, and very excited to have it completed and presented. This is my small gift to all of our cancer patients. I know music is my medicine, so maybe it can help them as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have a rare bone cancer called Chondrosarcoma. Three years ago, it progressed to the point of being inoperable and was spreading. My doctor at the time said I had five years or so to live. Thanks to Lazarex, I've been able to participate in several clinical trials of new drugs designed for my type of cancer. The medicines have extended my life expectancy a lot and the latest trial drug I'm taking has the potential to completely stop my cance from spreading.

The trials I've been enrolled in have all been out of town and required regular travel from my home in Albuquerque to hospitals in Houston and San Antonio. Without Lazarex's help, I would have had to stop the treatments because the cost of travel was bankrupting us. Stopping treatment would also mean losing my life to cancer, since there were no other treatment options.

But thanks to Lazarex, I can continue participating in clinical trails that are literally saving my life. We have hope and the chance for a future that includes living a long life. Thanks to Lazarex, my cancer doesn't get to win, I do.
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 14, 2012

I have raised alot of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money an... more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have raised quite a bit of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money and not know what the cause was all about. My name is on the line here as well. People in my community trust me so they trust what I believe in. The more I learned about Lazarex Cancer Foundation, the more impressed I was. As a cancer survivor myself, I knew how much research played a part in cures but this was so different. The research for these patients was already done to an extent, yet ongoing because they need these patients. Patients are on their own to get to these clinical trials to make these research studies a success. That's what impressed me and grabbed my heart. This money was going directly to the patient, a more than likely end stage patient with no more hope, to guide them to and through their clinical trial. After meeting quite a few of these patients now and seeing first hand the awesome results, I can honestly say that every dime I have raised for this foundation has been worth the asking of all my friends and family. I am so proud to be affiliated with Lazarex Cancer Foundation. They in turn make the volunteers feel special and make it fun for us to help them help others. I believe in the work of the Lazarex Cancer Foundation!
September 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have raised alot of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money and not know what the cause was all about. My name is on the line here as well. People in my community trust me so they trust what I believe in. The more I learned about Lazarex Cancer Foundation, the more impressed I was. As a cancer survivor myself, I knew how much research played a part in cures but this was so different. The research for these patients was already done to an extent, yet ongoing because they need these patients. Patients are on their own to get to these clinical trials to make these research studies a success. That's what impressed me and grabbed my heart. This money was going directly to the patient, a more than likely end stage patient with no more hope, to guide them to and through their clinical trial. After meeting quite a few of these patients now and seeing first hand the awesome results, I can honestly say that every dime I have raised for this foundation has been worth the asking of all my friends and family. I am so proud to be affiliated with Lazarex Cancer Foundation. They in turn make the volunteers feel special and make it fun for us to help them help others. I believe in the work of the Lazarex Cancer Foundation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with an aggressive stage 3 breast cancer and found a clinical trial a few states away that showed quite a bit of promise for my future with a breast cancer vaccine. Due to the extensive and frequent travel, there was no way I could afford to be in the trial.

Due to the
extent of my breast cancer, there was no way I could not afford to be in the trial!

I contacted everyone that I found online for assistance and after contacting the incredible people at Lazarex, I was afforded the opportunity to be in the clinical trial. Had I not received assistance from LCF, the expenses from the trial may have bankrupted my family. As a wife and a mom of two young boys, our entire family thanks God and prays for the employees and supporters of LCF.

Without LCF, my 10 year survival rate would be quite dismal.

Incredible foundation supported by an amazing staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Karen, Tammy and the spectacular support staff that run the operation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2013

I have been volunteering for Lazarex Cancer Foundation for over 6 years. This foundation is unlike any other charity I have seen anywhere. Their mission is to make sure no end-stage cancer patient ... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation (LCF) is the ONLY cancer foundation that works with end-stage cancer patients to help them navigate and participate in clinical trials. LCF basically funds the cancer patient and a family member so the patient can enroll in a clinical trial. Although all the medical costs are covered by the trail, travel and living expenses are not. This is where LCF comes in- taking the financial burden away from the patient.

I have been an active volunteer for LCF almost from the beginning. I truly believe I am making a difference in the fight against cancer each and every time I volunteer.

Almost 100% of donations goes directly to patients!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Lazarex Cancer Foundation for over 6 years. This foundation is unlike any other charity I have seen anywhere. Their mission is to make sure no end-stage cancer patient goes without a chance at life-saving clinical trials because of money issues. The staff works tirelessly to raise money to fulfill this mission. They do so much good and give hope to cancer patients who have been told there is no more hope. Please check them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love what this foundation does. Having personally been affected by multiple family members with cancer, when they get to the point where the doctors say there's nothing else they can do, it really brakes your heart. The only choice you have is to either watch them die or try clinical trials, which can't be covered by insurance. Lazarex comes in by providing that hope, and allowing end stage cancer patients AND their families to have more time with each other. They help find clinical trials along with helping fund it. I will always volunteer or help with anything they need as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the mailings for endurance event participants and fundraising appeals; do data entry; do a shift at one of our local fundraisers; support our patient advocacy program.