Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.97985
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
September 17, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 10, 2013

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is extremely special and unique in so many ways. One being their mission, two being their amazing staff and volunteers, three being their VIP patients, four being their fabul... more

September 17, 2014

I've volunteered and worked for many non-profits, and Lazarex is by far the best of the best! The staff, the patients, the volunteer base, and most of all the mission. They are a top notch foundation all around, and I am honored to be a part of it. "It's About Living!!"
October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is extremely special and unique in so many ways. One being their mission, two being their amazing staff and volunteers, three being their VIP patients, four being their fabulous events, and the list goes on and on. I am very proud to be a part of the Lazarex Team, and I am very grateful for all that Lazarex does to support the Cancer community and Cancer patients who refuse to stop fighting!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It wasn't until I started working with Lazarex Cancer Foundation that I fully grasped and understood the importance of what they do, who they support, and how they support them. There are thousands of fabulous charities out there, many of which I continue to support, but Lazarex is extra special. Why? Because Lazarex is the only foundation that helps end-stage cancer patients, ANY cancer, ANY age, ANY race, ANY social status, ANYONE, when they have no other treatment options available to them and are relying on their last few drops of hope. I couldn't imagine being told that "there is nothing that can be done, and to start saying your goodbyes." This is everyone's worst nightmare for themselves, or even worse for their loved ones. And it is during this very sensitive and devastating time, that Lazarex comes to the rescue. Of course, they cannot save everyone, but they do their best to save as much time and memorable moments as possible for their cancer patients. To work for Lazarex and to actually meet the patients in person, to hear their stories, and to have them and their families thank us for supporting them, makes all the hard work worth it. And now, whenever I hear of someone with end-stage cancer, I am eager to tell them all about Lazarex and I encourage them to give us a call right away. It feels great to know there is still HOPE!! I have been so compelled by our patients that I even wrote a song for the foundation. I am currently working on recording it, and very excited to have it completed and presented. This is my small gift to all of our cancer patients. I know music is my medicine, so maybe it can help them as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have a rare bone cancer called Chondrosarcoma. Three years ago, it progressed to the point of being inoperable and was spreading. My doctor at the time said I had five years or so to live. Thanks to Lazarex, I've been able to participate in several clinical trials of new drugs designed for my type of cancer. The medicines have extended my life expectancy a lot and the latest trial drug I'm taking has the potential to completely stop my cance from spreading.

The trials I've been enrolled in have all been out of town and required regular travel from my home in Albuquerque to hospitals in Houston and San Antonio. Without Lazarex's help, I would have had to stop the treatments because the cost of travel was bankrupting us. Stopping treatment would also mean losing my life to cancer, since there were no other treatment options.

But thanks to Lazarex, I can continue participating in clinical trails that are literally saving my life. We have hope and the chance for a future that includes living a long life. Thanks to Lazarex, my cancer doesn't get to win, I do.
September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 14, 2012

I have raised alot of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money an... more

September 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have raised quite a bit of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money and not know what the cause was all about. My name is on the line here as well. People in my community trust me so they trust what I believe in. The more I learned about Lazarex Cancer Foundation, the more impressed I was. As a cancer survivor myself, I knew how much research played a part in cures but this was so different. The research for these patients was already done to an extent, yet ongoing because they need these patients. Patients are on their own to get to these clinical trials to make these research studies a success. That's what impressed me and grabbed my heart. This money was going directly to the patient, a more than likely end stage patient with no more hope, to guide them to and through their clinical trial. After meeting quite a few of these patients now and seeing first hand the awesome results, I can honestly say that every dime I have raised for this foundation has been worth the asking of all my friends and family. I am so proud to be affiliated with Lazarex Cancer Foundation. They in turn make the volunteers feel special and make it fun for us to help them help others. I believe in the work of the Lazarex Cancer Foundation!
September 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have raised alot of money for various charities through the years. When I came across Lazarex Cancer Foundation, I needed to know what they were all about. I didn't want to ask people for money and not know what the cause was all about. My name is on the line here as well. People in my community trust me so they trust what I believe in. The more I learned about Lazarex Cancer Foundation, the more impressed I was. As a cancer survivor myself, I knew how much research played a part in cures but this was so different. The research for these patients was already done to an extent, yet ongoing because they need these patients. Patients are on their own to get to these clinical trials to make these research studies a success. That's what impressed me and grabbed my heart. This money was going directly to the patient, a more than likely end stage patient with no more hope, to guide them to and through their clinical trial. After meeting quite a few of these patients now and seeing first hand the awesome results, I can honestly say that every dime I have raised for this foundation has been worth the asking of all my friends and family. I am so proud to be affiliated with Lazarex Cancer Foundation. They in turn make the volunteers feel special and make it fun for us to help them help others. I believe in the work of the Lazarex Cancer Foundation!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with an aggressive stage 3 breast cancer and found a clinical trial a few states away that showed quite a bit of promise for my future with a breast cancer vaccine. Due to the extensive and frequent travel, there was no way I could afford to be in the trial.

Due to the
extent of my breast cancer, there was no way I could not afford to be in the trial!

I contacted everyone that I found online for assistance and after contacting the incredible people at Lazarex, I was afforded the opportunity to be in the clinical trial. Had I not received assistance from LCF, the expenses from the trial may have bankrupted my family. As a wife and a mom of two young boys, our entire family thanks God and prays for the employees and supporters of LCF.

Without LCF, my 10 year survival rate would be quite dismal.

Incredible foundation supported by an amazing staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone Karen, Tammy and the spectacular support staff that run the operation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2013

I have been volunteering for Lazarex Cancer Foundation for over 6 years. This foundation is unlike any other charity I have seen anywhere. Their mission is to make sure no end-stage cancer patient ... more

August 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation (LCF) is the ONLY cancer foundation that works with end-stage cancer patients to help them navigate and participate in clinical trials. LCF basically funds the cancer patient and a family member so the patient can enroll in a clinical trial. Although all the medical costs are covered by the trail, travel and living expenses are not. This is where LCF comes in- taking the financial burden away from the patient.

I have been an active volunteer for LCF almost from the beginning. I truly believe I am making a difference in the fight against cancer each and every time I volunteer.

Almost 100% of donations goes directly to patients!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for Lazarex Cancer Foundation for over 6 years. This foundation is unlike any other charity I have seen anywhere. Their mission is to make sure no end-stage cancer patient goes without a chance at life-saving clinical trials because of money issues. The staff works tirelessly to raise money to fulfill this mission. They do so much good and give hope to cancer patients who have been told there is no more hope. Please check them out.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love what this foundation does. Having personally been affected by multiple family members with cancer, when they get to the point where the doctors say there's nothing else they can do, it really brakes your heart. The only choice you have is to either watch them die or try clinical trials, which can't be covered by insurance. Lazarex comes in by providing that hope, and allowing end stage cancer patients AND their families to have more time with each other. They help find clinical trials along with helping fund it. I will always volunteer or help with anything they need as long as I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I have spent a good part of the last 2 years participating in endurance events. Together we have raced in 50+ different races. While registering for my girlfriend's first marathon at the end of 2013 for early 2014, we thought of how nice it would be if we raced and raised money for a charity. That was our first experience raising money for a charity and it felt GREAT. After registering for that event and choosing a charity, it was discovered that my girlfriend on her 29th birthday had early stage breast cancer. A few short weeks later my mother too was diagnosed with early stage breast cancer. After her first marathon we decided that our next marathon would be dedicated to some cancer related organization. That's how we discovered the Lazarex Cancer Foundation.

From the very beginning, from the first inquiry email, their fabulous group was very positive and receptive. Very quick to respond to any question, and very enthusiastic about our quest, they made the entire process as easy as possible. They armed us with very useful information, tips to raise money, and much much support. They also kept in frequent email communication to check up on us and see how well everything was going. With how hard they were working with us, it made us want to work just as hard, if not more, to help their beautiful cause. Their website is very inspiring and provided more than enough motivation to go and help them out from their mission statement, to the inspiring individuals and their stories, the constant updates of their involvement in the community, and the progress and strides they're making in the quest for inspiring hope and bringing change. If ever I was having a bad day, maybe some doubts in my mind about what I'm doing, or if I'm in search for a smile, I know I could always check their website and either watch one of their many youtube videos or read about the people they help, and I instantly feel better and inspired to go out and do some good in the world.

Lazarex has changed my perspective and motivation in life. It has made my relationship with my girlfriend and family better as well as inspired me to become a better person. I look at the world more positively and am 100x's more grateful for all of life's blessings. My girlfriend and I look forward to being involved again in any way possible and hope nothing but the best for this great organization. THANK YOU LAZAREX!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change a thing. I wish nothing but the best for all of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have supported Lazarex with our time and treasure. I worked with Lesley on the Southern California Gala, helping to obtain a few auction items and other behind-the-scenes work. I felt very appreciated for my contributions. My friends who attended the gala with me had the best time, both for the fun evening itself and for knowing they were helping such a worthy foundation. Thank you, Lazarex, for the opportunity to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife was diagnosed with Leiomyosarcoma Stage V in 2010. She went thru 4 Surgeries and 2 Chemotherapy treatments in the Sacramento area before the local Doctors said "there are no more options".We contacted Stanford University and they immediately referred us to Dr. Chawla in Santa Monica who specializes in Sarcoma and clinical trials, we were accepted as a patient. Then reality set in "How are we going to afford this we will need to travel a couple times a month". An Angel of Hope appeared in the Lazarex Foundation, they sponsored us for travel and lodging for almost two years as we sometimes had to travel 5 times a month for treatment.For some people one of the hardest things to do is ask for help but Tami Keeler the Patient Coordinator for Lazarex made the whole process seamless.The work they do extend lives,bring hope,give remission to patients. When and if you do ever meet the staff you can see they truly care about their patients and the fight for the Cure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

No words can ever express my gratitude to this wonderful organization. They were the light at the end of my dark journey after being diagnosed with sarcoma. With their assistance I was able to continue my treatment 3,000 miles away from home. Their staff are angels walking on earth and as I mentioned earlier, no words can express my sincerest gratitude. Thank you Lazarex, may all great things continue to come your way as your organization have made great things happen in so many of our lives that you have helped throughout the years.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None....they are an amazing organization

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the mailings for endurance event participants and fundraising appeals; do data entry; do a shift at one of our local fundraisers; support our patient advocacy program.