Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
113 Reviews
1234.98235
Write A Review
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I started working with Lazarex Cancer Foundation this year and I couldn't be more impressed. I am the brand ambassador of Team For Life, the endurance program for Lazarex. Their staff is extremely supportive, passionate and determined to help those with cancer, who have been told they have no other options, regain, dignity, hope and life. There is no other charity out there who does what they do. While research is important, there are people out there who need a cure now. They don't have time to wait, and that's when Lazarex steps in. I lost my father to stage 4 pancreatic cancer in just 35 days from diagnosis. Lazarex was founded because of this horrific disease but helps ALL end stage cancer patients which is wonderful. My heart is grateful to know that Lazarex is out there restoring hope not only by helping patients participate in clinical trials, but in getting these patients to the clinical trials it also takes us one step closer to finding a cure. It is beautiful mission, I love what they do and am honored to represent them. I feel like I am a part of a family.
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

Lazarex Cancer Foundation not only helps individuals fund and navigate through clinical trials, they provide hope and purpose for cancer patients who have none and who are told to get their affairs in... more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation is truly unique. They work first hand with end stage cancer patients providing personal assistance through navigation of clinical trial options, and financial assistance to help defray the costs associated with them. Working firsthand with the Lazarex staff and volunteering with many of their events, I can attest to how passionate and determined they are about their mission and their patients. Not only does Lazarex provide hope for their patients; they advocate for their patients who are not ready to give up their fight yet. Lazarex works with cancer patients who come from all walks of life, various different cancer diagnosis', age ranges and ethnicities. Cancer doesn't discriminate and neither does Lazarex.
October 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex Cancer Foundation not only helps individuals fund and navigate through clinical trials, they provide hope and purpose for cancer patients who have none and who are told to get their affairs in order. The individuals who work at Lazarex Cancer Foundation are true heroes. Their dedication and passion for their mission is apparent in everything they do. The patients they have helped and the years of life and hope they have given them is incredible. I feel honored to volunteer and support this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

As a public relations professional, I have worked with many nonprofits during the course of my career. None has touched my heart more than Lazarex. By connecting end-stage cancer patients to clinical trials and covering travel costs for each patient and a companion, they successfully extend the lives of their clients, fill a void in the cancer treatment cycle, and blaze a trail for effective treatments and cures. I spent the better part of a year volunteering my services. Along the way, it became clear to me that Lazarex Cancer Foundation is the best nonprofit you've never heard of. I am pleased to note that LCF Founder Dana Dornsife is enjoying a higher media profile and was even named KNX 1070 News Radio "Hero of the Week." The organization is attracting more and more supporters including former California Governor Gray Davis, the Los Angeles City Council, and people from all walks of life who are donating their time and money to this great cause. For those of us who have lost loved ones before their time, we share one wish -- more time with them. The story of Ben Doherty speaks to the value of LCF's extraordinary work. Ben was told by his doctors that he had three months to live the same week he found out his wife was pregnant. Thanks to Lazarex, Ben is still with us more than five years later.
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've been working with Lazarex for over 2.5 years. It is an amazing organization devoted to helping people with cancer navigate their clinical trial options and helping defray the travel costs associated with participation in these clinical trials. To my knowledge, it is the ONLY cancer foundation that does this.
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the Lazarex Cancer Foundation as a member of Team for Life, their endurance athletics branch raising awareness of the Foundation and the work needed to be done to assist now. My father-in-law was diagnosed with Stage 4 Pancreatic Cancer and during his battle the Foundation assisted in bringing hi into contact with clinical trials to aid in the battle. Each time I have had contact either through the Brand Ambassador for Team for Life or directly to the Foundation, I have found those I talk to caring, helpful and ready to assist.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In my travels, coaching marathon runners, I have met a lot of amazing people. Some were people where I immediately enjoyed their enthusiasm for life and raising money and awareness for that horrible disease, Cancer. Some of them have tragically died. The Lazarex Cancer Foundation could have helped. They get people to clinical trials, which could save their lives or at least extend them. And the families are sent to the trials with their loved ones, the patients. Clinical trials are also a way for science to fully come to fruition with their research. These trials could find an ultimate cure for different forms of cancer. Cancer strikes people from all walks of life, at all ages. That is what I have sadly been witness to. Nothing is more important than a life. And that is what those passionate people at the Lazarex Cancer Foundation set out to do every day. They are truly dedicated to a great cause.
October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 26, 2012

The seeds for LAzarex were sown via our families effort to assist our son-in-law, Mike Miller, in his fight with pancreatic cancer. New medications were researched as were clinical trials to determine... more

October 19, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The president and founder of Lazarex is my daughter and I could not be prouder of her and her dedicated staff for the services they provide their cancer clients and the the role they fill in assisting clients to find clinical trials. Lazarex is a unique Non Profit because of the aforementioned mission and it is a shame that it is not more widely known. and funded.
October 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The seeds for LAzarex were sown via our families effort to assist our son-in-law, Mike Miller, in his fight with pancreatic cancer. New medications were researched as were clinical trials to determine what was the best course of action for Mike. The plan that evolved did include both new medication and a clinical trial. Although Mike ultimately passed away the quality of his life was significantly improved and extended by one year through the program that evolved. This entire effort set the stage for Lazarex to be born as a non-profit company with exactly the same goals of financial assistance when needed, new medication research along with new clincal triials. Lazarex does bring"hope" to its clients and has grown to the point where it is assisting more and more clients to lead a better life. Your donation and /or becoming a volunteer will significantly helpLazarex in this effort.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 17, 2010

My review of Lazarex Cancer Foundation would be without a doubt 5 stars. They actually deserve 10 stars in their outstanding service, caring, love and hope for their patients. more

October 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My mother was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer again in 2008. Knowing that she had to travel to California in order to seek treatment we had no idea how this was going to work financially for us. if it had not been for Lazarex she would have never been able to financially afford to take this treatment. With the financial help she received for housing, she is still alive and doing very well. We cannot thank Lazarex enough for everything they did for our family. We love the Lazarex team.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 17, 2010

My review of Lazarex Cancer Foundation would be without a doubt 5 stars. They actually deserve 10 stars in their outstanding service, caring, love and hope for their patients.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This is the most incrediable foundation I have ever experienced. Mom experienced it first hand with the funding which has enabled her to be in clinical remission. Love, Hope, Dignity is what Lazarex is all about. We can't thank them enough.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the love and peace they provide their recipients.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Unbelieveable. Kind, Loving, Caring, Hopeful. They just make you feel like such a special member of their family.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Provide financial assistance to so many patients who are told there is no treamtent left for them. So many families could experience the hope and joy we now have.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I live in SF and have been going to LA for my cancer treatments for over two years. I was required to fly and/or drive there three times a month, then once every three weeks. Transportation and lodging costs have accumulated tremendously. I am very thankful for the financial support from Lazarex Cancer Foundation. Their staff is very friendly and helpful, making me feel at ease with one less thing to worry about during my journey.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Lazarex is a great resource for people who cannot afford clinical trials. Lazarex takes care of the expenses for patients. They give every patient a fair chance of getting treated and living. I am grateful for all the work and help they give to patients.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help us with the mailings for endurance event participants and fundraising appeals; do data entry; do a shift at one of our local fundraisers; support our patient advocacy program.