Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I have volunteered with LALDEF's free tax assistance program, am a donor, and have greatly benefited from LALDEF's expertise in my role as Chair of the Princeton Human Services Immigration Subcommittee.

Maria Juega, LALDEF's Executive Director, took time from her impossible schedule to
help Princeton Human Services and the Princeton Police Department develop a much more immigrant friendly protocol for local police interactions with the federal ICE agency. It states that the police job is public safety, not as an arm of federal deportations. This has greatly strengthened community trust in our police.

In addition, Ms Juega helped Human Services and the police develop a process and intake form for cases of alleged wage theft. This has helped us recover thousands of dollars in unpaid wages for low income workers. Bravo LALDEF!
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

As a tutor in LALDEF's English classes for adults, I have witnessed first hand the incredible and increasingly critical work that the organization is doing. With a rapidly growing Latino community in the Trenton area, coupled with an economy that favors skilled labor over non-skilled labor, learning English is one of the most effective ways Spanish speaking adults can bolster the financial situation of their families.

The English classes are but a small portion of the work that LALDEF is doing, and the guidance that LALDEF provides to their clients helps them navigate a seemingly indecipherable series of laws, regulations, and requirements related to citizenship and naturalization.

The staff is amazing and fully dedicated to the organization's mission. I wish more people knew about and supported LALDEF!
September 2, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 10, 2012

LALDEF is making a difference in the community by helping immigrants better assimulate and advance themselves in education, health, work and civic participation. This organization succeeds because of... more

September 2, 2014

Great organization that helps the community at large.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2012

LALDEF is making a difference in the community by helping immigrants better assimulate and advance themselves in education, health, work and civic participation. This organization succeeds because of the strong group of volunteers and dedicated leaders who give tirelessly and with pride. I like how they are inviting of the non Latinos in the community and try hard to create a common bond.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2011

The Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund (LALDEF) is a organization that gets the WHOLE community involved. latino and non Latino.They are a dedicated group of people trying to sort out some of the social injustice issues and bring solutions,

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

they helped my family member

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Few words could do justice in describing the positive impact that LALDEF provides has on local community. LALDEF is place where people come to be empowered to overcome the barriers of living in an underserved and, often, marginalized communities. As one of their first paid staff, I learned first hand of stories from people that left a profound impact on my naive understanding of the immigrant community. From helping clients advocate for themselves against abusive labor practices, helping persons prepare for their citizenship exams, learn English and computer skills to facilitating support for families who had lost loved ones in traumatic immigration raids, LALDEF is an organization that provides services based on the community's needs - a real representation of grassroots work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a million dollars so they could do more...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

LALDEF was at the forefront of the community ID card effort, which demonstrates its commitment to inclusion and an open system so immigrants don't have to hide in the shadows. Their programs are designed to help clients achieve self-sufficiency so that their contributions to our communities can be strengthened.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

With more funding, LALDEF would be able to offer even more services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Recently NY city adopted a municipal identification card to residents regardless of their immigration status. Guess what LADLEF began a similar program at least 3 years ago. This is why I believe in LADLEF!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

LALDEF is a great organization. I have been a witness to their effort in making this community a better place. Their dedication and commitment is definitely inspiring. I am a volunteer and have also benefited from their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

LALDEF fills in a much needed gap in Mercer County. The leardeship team is top notch and results, such as the identification cards, palpable and impactful

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have been part of LALDEF for over two and a half years with the different programs and initiatives that LALDEF has are truly geared to help the Trenton community. It is a very rewarding experience to be part of an organization that dedicates itself to providing adult education classes, immigration services and workshops, health and well-being family events, community photo-ID, tax return preparation, among other programs that truly help residents of Trenton. Those who are served by LALDEF are genuinely grateful for the services provided.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 21, 2011

The Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund provides information and advocacy for families dealing with the problems of our broken immigration system and also provides advice to other social j... more

July 16, 2012

As a volunteer ESL teacher, I encounter many individuals and families who need help. LALDEF acts as a liaison between legal experts and immigrant families. The organization organized and implemented a program for members of the community, both documented and undocumented, to acquire a community ID card which is helpful at doctors' offices and in case of emergencies. Throughout the year, LALDEF sends an e-letter to keep the community informed concerning upcoming legislation, educational opportunities and health care assistance. LALDEF is a wonderful non-profit whose members work tirelessly to promote social justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2011

The Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund provides information and advocacy for families dealing with the problems of our broken immigration system and also provides advice to other social justice groups who are advocating for immigrants. LALDEF sponsors educational opportunities for the public such as movies, panels and round-table discussions. LALDEF also provides and promotes the use of community ID cards which have been endorsed by the Mercer County Sheriff and Prosecutor's Office. The cards have given helpful information for first responders, health care providers and public libraries and have helped immigrants become an integral part of their communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Maria Juega, one of the Founders of LALDEF has participated in panel discussions sponsored by our social justice committee. She is guiding members of our community as we endeavor to bring the Mercer County Area ID card to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is well-run. Perhaps there could be branches of LALDEF is other area communities.

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers