Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.946435
Write A Review
November 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

LALDEF is an amazing organization that I feel grateful to have been a part of. Their staff is dedicated, hard-working, and incredibly welcoming. Their work makes a big difference in the local community. Of all the volunteer experiences I have participated in, teaching ESL at LALDEF was one of the most rewarding experiences. I learned a lot and developed amazing relationships with my students. I 100% recommend this organization.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My experience with LALDEF has been such a positive one! I have been mentored by the FUTURO Mentoring Program that is from LALDEF through out my junior and senior year of high school. That in itself is enough to give LALDEF an A++. I have seen the way LALDEF volunteers have helped immensely in the community of Trenton. From ESL classes I have sat in, to legal help regarding immigration that I have volunteered with, LALDEF covers a large platform of various areas of concentration to help those who need it. I have also volunteered in the tax season-long initiative to do people's taxes, free of charge. I am amazed at how many people have benefited from the Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund, and will proudly continue to volunteer for this wonderful non-profit so the community of Trenton can keep benefiting from it's services, and better itself.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

LALDEF is a non- profit organization that has changed the lives of many families. When a person arrives to our offices she/he feels the welcoming of our house. families can trust in us. We can help them to obtain an ID ( it means given them an identity) or offering English or computer classes it means helping these families to have a better communication between them. Laldef has impact the lives of many people changing their views from a negative vision to a positive one full of hope and faith. Lets support LALDEF !!!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I've worked on LALDEF's ESL and ID card initiatives and I continue to be amazed at how much they mean to the recipients. LALDEF does so much with limited financial resources and a very minimum staff.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

I was a volunteer before to help do the identification cards for people in Princeton and Trenton. It was great working with the staff of LALDEF. They make sure to help out others in ay inquiries they have. I also got my taxes done once at them and they were great also! They made sure I understood everything I was being asked and everything I was signing.

-Mari

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I have volunteered with LALDEF's free tax assistance program, am a donor, and have greatly benefited from LALDEF's expertise in my role as Chair of the Princeton Human Services Immigration Subcommittee.

Maria Juega, LALDEF's Executive Director, took time from her impossible schedule to
help Princeton Human Services and the Princeton Police Department develop a much more immigrant friendly protocol for local police interactions with the federal ICE agency. It states that the police job is public safety, not as an arm of federal deportations. This has greatly strengthened community trust in our police.

In addition, Ms Juega helped Human Services and the police develop a process and intake form for cases of alleged wage theft. This has helped us recover thousands of dollars in unpaid wages for low income workers. Bravo LALDEF!
September 17, 2014

more

September 17, 2014

As a tutor in LALDEF's English classes for adults, I have witnessed first hand the incredible and increasingly critical work that the organization is doing. With a rapidly growing Latino community in the Trenton area, coupled with an economy that favors skilled labor over non-skilled labor, learning English is one of the most effective ways Spanish speaking adults can bolster the financial situation of their families.

The English classes are but a small portion of the work that LALDEF is doing, and the guidance that LALDEF provides to their clients helps them navigate a seemingly indecipherable series of laws, regulations, and requirements related to citizenship and naturalization.

The staff is amazing and fully dedicated to the organization's mission. I wish more people knew about and supported LALDEF!
September 2, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 10, 2012

LALDEF is making a difference in the community by helping immigrants better assimulate and advance themselves in education, health, work and civic participation. This organization succeeds because of... more

September 2, 2014

Great organization that helps the community at large.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 10, 2012

LALDEF is making a difference in the community by helping immigrants better assimulate and advance themselves in education, health, work and civic participation. This organization succeeds because of the strong group of volunteers and dedicated leaders who give tirelessly and with pride. I like how they are inviting of the non Latinos in the community and try hard to create a common bond.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2011

The Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund (LALDEF) is a organization that gets the WHOLE community involved. latino and non Latino.They are a dedicated group of people trying to sort out some of the social injustice issues and bring solutions,

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

they helped my family member

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Few words could do justice in describing the positive impact that LALDEF provides has on local community. LALDEF is place where people come to be empowered to overcome the barriers of living in an underserved and, often, marginalized communities. As one of their first paid staff, I learned first hand of stories from people that left a profound impact on my naive understanding of the immigrant community. From helping clients advocate for themselves against abusive labor practices, helping persons prepare for their citizenship exams, learn English and computer skills to facilitating support for families who had lost loved ones in traumatic immigration raids, LALDEF is an organization that provides services based on the community's needs - a real representation of grassroots work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a million dollars so they could do more...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

LALDEF was at the forefront of the community ID card effort, which demonstrates its commitment to inclusion and an open system so immigrants don't have to hide in the shadows. Their programs are designed to help clients achieve self-sufficiency so that their contributions to our communities can be strengthened.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

With more funding, LALDEF would be able to offer even more services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers