Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

Few words could do justice in describing the positive impact that LALDEF provides has on local community. LALDEF is place where people come to be empowered to overcome the barriers of living in an underserved and, often, marginalized communities. As one of their first paid staff, I learned first hand of stories from people that left a profound impact on my naive understanding of the immigrant community. From helping clients advocate for themselves against abusive labor practices, helping persons prepare for their citizenship exams, learn English and computer skills to facilitating support for families who had lost loved ones in traumatic immigration raids, LALDEF is an organization that provides services based on the community's needs - a real representation of grassroots work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a million dollars so they could do more...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

LALDEF was at the forefront of the community ID card effort, which demonstrates its commitment to inclusion and an open system so immigrants don't have to hide in the shadows. Their programs are designed to help clients achieve self-sufficiency so that their contributions to our communities can be strengthened.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

With more funding, LALDEF would be able to offer even more services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Recently NY city adopted a municipal identification card to residents regardless of their immigration status. Guess what LADLEF began a similar program at least 3 years ago. This is why I believe in LADLEF!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

LALDEF is a great organization. I have been a witness to their effort in making this community a better place. Their dedication and commitment is definitely inspiring. I am a volunteer and have also benefited from their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

LALDEF fills in a much needed gap in Mercer County. The leardeship team is top notch and results, such as the identification cards, palpable and impactful

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I have been part of LALDEF for over two and a half years with the different programs and initiatives that LALDEF has are truly geared to help the Trenton community. It is a very rewarding experience to be part of an organization that dedicates itself to providing adult education classes, immigration services and workshops, health and well-being family events, community photo-ID, tax return preparation, among other programs that truly help residents of Trenton. Those who are served by LALDEF are genuinely grateful for the services provided.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 21, 2011

The Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund provides information and advocacy for families dealing with the problems of our broken immigration system and also provides advice to other social j... more

July 16, 2012

As a volunteer ESL teacher, I encounter many individuals and families who need help. LALDEF acts as a liaison between legal experts and immigrant families. The organization organized and implemented a program for members of the community, both documented and undocumented, to acquire a community ID card which is helpful at doctors' offices and in case of emergencies. Throughout the year, LALDEF sends an e-letter to keep the community informed concerning upcoming legislation, educational opportunities and health care assistance. LALDEF is a wonderful non-profit whose members work tirelessly to promote social justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2011

The Latin American Legal Defense and Education Fund provides information and advocacy for families dealing with the problems of our broken immigration system and also provides advice to other social justice groups who are advocating for immigrants. LALDEF sponsors educational opportunities for the public such as movies, panels and round-table discussions. LALDEF also provides and promotes the use of community ID cards which have been endorsed by the Mercer County Sheriff and Prosecutor's Office. The cards have given helpful information for first responders, health care providers and public libraries and have helped immigrants become an integral part of their communities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Maria Juega, one of the Founders of LALDEF has participated in panel discussions sponsored by our social justice committee. She is guiding members of our community as we endeavor to bring the Mercer County Area ID card to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is well-run. Perhaps there could be branches of LALDEF is other area communities.

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

Laldelf has made a significant impact in the inner city of Trenton helping the impoverished people in every way possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I run a parent support group for Latino parents in our community. LALDEF, and specifically Maria Juega, has come to speak at our meetings. Additionally, she sends me vital information relevant to the parents I work with on a very regular basis. I share this information t each of my meetings, and the parents have told me repeatedly that they have benefitted from the services and information, such as health, IDs, education, etc..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I volunteer to serve the steady stream of clients who need photo ID cards which carry emergency information and establish their residency so they can access services that they qualify for. This work helps me know and understand the immigrant community in my home city. The clients are treated with respect, and I enjoy their gratitude. It is a well organized program making a significant contribution to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers