Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.789475
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

My experience with Last Hope Cat Kingdom dates back to 2008, when I began working at a local pet store. I quickly began to see the key role LHCK played in helping SO many local animals find new, and more importantly, GOOD homes. Furthermore, this organization provided(and still does) low cost spay/neuter clinic trips to as many clients as possible. In addition to these invaluable services, Last Hope shelters many unadoptable animals, giving them sanctuary for the remainder of their natural lives. Many volunteers, myself included, band together to provide foster care for animals awaiting adoption when the Animal Sanctuary is at capacity. Last Hope is with each volunteer each step of the way, to make sure the fostered animals receive any needed medical care or other assistance while awaiting placement. Just recently, a young kitten was brought to my doorstep at 8:30 p.m., near death, in my opinion. She had an upper respiratory infection and a gash on her chin. She was also suffering from extreme low blood sugar and was completely lethargic. I called Renate, and bless her heart, she sent one her assistants to my house THAT NIGHT to tend to the little cat. That little cat is now thriving and will soon be spayed so she can find her forever home. Another example of Renate's devotion to Last Hope was the time I had two cats whose owner faced eviction in 3 days. Renate took the cats for adoption without thinking twice, saving them from a certain trip to Animal Control. Admittedly, it is sometimes hard to reach a volunteer when calling Last Hope. But please remember this is a VOLUNTEER based organization:) Everybody is trying their best:)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Seeing the animals I foster receive good homes, being able to trap feral/stray cats and get them sterilized to avoid further repopulation at low cost clinics I found my forever best friend, Olly, a Jack Russell terrier that I adopted through Last Hope Cat Kingdom. He had been hit by a car, and received life saving surgery funded by Last Hope. He is a happy dog who brings me lot of joy now:)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage all the volunteers to communicate more with one another to minimize confusion/delay.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Improved communication throughout the chain of volunteers.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Working with Last Hope Cat Kingdom has had a profound impact on my outlook towards the plight of stray, feral and unwanted animals. I have made many new friends, changed the lives of many animals with my volunteer efforts, and made me a better person.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel like I am making a difference. While I know I cannot save all the animals that cross my path, I have definitely saved a good many, and this makes my heart smile.

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

We are so blessed to have such a caring animal shelter in Merced county! They are truly dedicated to the well being of all animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

My aunt had introduced me to a lady who worked with Cats, she found this article in the newspaper and invited me to stay with her one summer and wanted to know if I wanted to volunteer for the Cat place, I said sure, when I got there I was amazed to see so many cats looking for a home, I met the owner, Renate Schmitz, she is an amazing lady and her heart is full of passion for the Cats, for the animals, this lady lives to keep this place going and any help they can take is greatly appreciated. So I started working there, I fell in love with a cat who had been there his whole life, he was so friendly and so kind, always wanted attention, was so skinny, I adopted him, He is such a ball of joy, sleeps with all the animals including horses and other cats, even the DOG!, that aside, when I worked at The Last Hope Cat kingdom I was changing cat litter boxes, giving medicine to sick cats/kittens, changing out the food and water and putting fresh in. They have more than just Cats at the Last Hope Cat Kingdom, they have dogs, horses & other amazing animals that come from all over California or even other places too I'm sure. Each animal here has their story to tell and what you see in their eyes is hope that someone will adopt them & care for them like you would your own pet. This Cat Kingdom is truly an amazing place to help out. When I heard about the fire I rushed 2 days after it happened on a Train, packed a bag with my best friend and took the train out there to help out this Cat Kingdom. I live for this Kingdom, and if they needed me there I would be there in an instant. This impact on the cat kingdom not only changed my life but the lives of other Cats & Renate, I was truly upset to see so many innocent lives lost due to the fire that happened, The Cat Kingdom is up and running on their feet but they need a bit more help than that. Any donations or food..anything helps them out. My best friend and I fell in love with so many cats, each deserves a home and if the Cats could speak, they would be yelling out Thank you to anyone who gave a donation of some sort. The cats are what these volunteers live for and work for.. I live for these cats and the home that they are provided by the one and only Lady in memory of her Daughter, Renata Schmitz. This Lady is truly an amazing person for doing this, her daughter originally started this Cat kingdom for the passion of Animals. I myself would help out there all the time if I could. Animals need the love, the support & most of all a home. Do what your heart thinks is right & help out a Cat or Dog, any animal today. Adopt.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 11, 2012

more

January 11, 2012

I donated to the shelter last year when they had a fire. More recently I adopted a puppy they rescued and cared for. I think this organization really strives to make a difference in our community. When I visited the facility I was greeted by many happy healthy animals. The puppy I adopted has been in good health and brought much joy to our family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 10, 2012

more

January 10, 2012

I adopted my precious dog from lasthope and the people there are very helpful and awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 10, 2012

more

January 10, 2012

Great facility, and wonderful, caring people. The Last Hope Cat Kingdom is a wonderful haven for needy animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 9, 2012

more

January 9, 2012

Last Hope Cat Kingdom is an all species animal rescue in Atwater, CA. This wonderful rescue is located on 18 acres where it is home to not only cats, but dogs, horses, pigs, goats and several other animals as well. This rescue adopted out over 600 cats last year alone. I'm very proud to be a part of this amazing place. It is operated on donations from the public. We also are very involved in the local spay and neuter programs as well as transporting them for this service every month. I believe this rescue is great prospect to be accepted on your list of sponsors. I cannot sing the praises of Last Hope Cat Kingdom enough. It is truly a wonderful place to visit and bring your family along.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have adopted numerous animals from Last Hope. When anyone has an emergency and needs help, Last Hope is there if at all possible. Currently there are a couple of cats who's owners home burned down. They are in Last Hope's care until the owner can find a place to live with his animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To have more volunteers I think is on the wish list of any organization. There is a great dedicated crew here, but the more the merrier!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Honestly, I can't think of anything. They allow me to do what I do, never complain if I make a mistake.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

This place has had an immense impact on me and my family. It's a great place to teach children the love of animals. Teaching them to be kind to them and respectful of them as well.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It warms my heart to be a part of Last Hope Cat Kingdom. The photo below is of the pigs rescued a few months ago from a farm where the neighbor was shooting and killing them. Twenty six pigs came to the Safety of Last Hope.

January 9, 2012

more

January 9, 2012

Last Hope is a wonderful no-kill shelter where homeless and unwanted animals (of all kinds) can live out their lives safely. One of the major goals at Last Hope is to find suitable homes for the animals who can be adopted. I have been volunteering for the past few months by helping with adoptions. The non-profit shelter needs more volunteers to help with all aspects of running the shelter and with reaching goals for adoptions. They need volunteers to do anything and everything - from cleaning up to taking pictures and from visiting to helping with transporting dogs and cats for adoption events. They can also use donations, including items for large and small animals. Last Hope really is the last hope for so many animals in the Central Valley and they do wonderful things but they really need the community's help to continue their important and compassionate work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 9, 2012

more

January 9, 2012

I have worked at rescues for years and being in college it has become harder tp get out and volunteer. Once I found Last Hope I couldn't stop going! I love the rescue the animals and everything the people there do. I am there at least once a week and I always look forward to going again!!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

adopting out animals to families and seeing the joy and love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get more consistent help. (There are people who go out on a regular basis but they could always use a little more help :))

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I bring all my friends! I love it there and I am always welcome!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I feel great after I love the animals

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers