Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.789475
Write A Review
February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

My life changed forever when I met the founder of Last Hope Cat Kingdom and visited the facility. The property is the biggest in the area (18 acres or so..) and has a huge, climate controlled cattery. The cattery has 9 separate rooms with windows and screen doors so that the healthy cats can go in and out. There are large yards in the front and back (each of these "yards" are larger than most people's entire property, I might add) which the cats have access to. There are cat trees everywhere as well as fresh food and water everywhere you look. I have been personally very heavily involved with Last Hope for about the last year and have seen the dedication that all involved have to helping animals. I have seen the founder, Renate, drop everything and literally jump into her car and race off to scoop some poor creature off the side of the road and race it to the vet. Last Hope has obtained grants in order to issue low cost spay/neuter vouchers to residents in the county so that we can combat the root of the pet overpopulation problem - too many unaltered animals. Last Hope participated in community events and provides education to the public regarding resources available to them and has assisted other rescues when they have had a need. I really can't say enough about this non profit. If you are ever in the Atwater area, I encourage you to call and schedule an appointment to see the facility and (hopefully) to meet Renate. You will be glad you did.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014

more

January 14, 2014

June 2013 news headline: Dozens of animals found dead and sick in Atwater
http://abclocal.go.com/kfsn/story?id=9156393

"He said many of the animals were severely emaciated, some had their eyes swollen shut, and others were infected with diseases. A team of veterinarians from across the
state evaluated the pets and euthanized about two hundred of them on site."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

First off I want to start off by saying I am so honored and blessed to know and work with Last Hope Cat Kingdom and it's Staff. These people are extremely dedicated into making sure all the animals are loved, taken care of, socialized, and healthy. Lots of animals that are sick, abused, hurt, abandoned, etc come into Last Hope. These amazing volunteers get up bright and early and work until late after the sun has gone down. Many of these animals have known them since birth do to pregnant cats and dogs being dropped off. Not to mention The horses, goats, Pot belly pigs and more that are also at Last Hope on the farm side.

You have read it before Last Hope was founded by Renate and Her late daughter Mona with the passion and love in their hearts to help these beautiful animals. I met Renate and Mona through a work place that I used to groom at. I did not know them well but over time I learned about them and what they were doing and I instantly had a heart for them. How amazing that two people would take on a world of animals, however, as I learned it was more than two that are out there dedicated to cleaning, feeding, building, caring and more with all the animals out there.

I lost my job due to an accident however, I have been blessed to be a volunteer to help Last Hope Cat Kingdom on their journey to save lives. Renate inspires me with strength, love and devotion. The kind I hope that I will be able to show to others. The volunteers are all amazing and wonderful and inspire me to know that there are many caring hearts and they are all truly wonderful.

Take a day go out to Last Hope Cat Kingdom and volunteer. Just one day. It is amazing to see what all these volunteers do each day. Remember this is a non-profit organization, and even better a No-Kill shelter. There is always laundry needing to be done, cat boxes needing to be cleaned, sweeping, mopping, dusting, washing, fixing food, and water, socializing, petting and loving, and so much more. The dedication alone is truly amazing. They need volunteers, ones that have a passion for animals. Volunteers who will gladly give up a day out of the week or two or out of the month that will come and help.

It can be as little as once a year, that one day helps. It can be only doing laundry and that will help or doing one room cleaning and that does help. It may seem small but it is a big help. Last Hope will appreciate it. If you can't volunteer your time but still want to help, they are always looking for donations. Yes money as well but stuff like, cat food, dog food, hay, alfalfa, pig food, all animal food lol, cat litter, cat boxes, brooms, trashcans, trashbags, mops, buckets, paper towels, blankets, laundry soap, cat and dog toys, cat and dog furnature, beds, dog houses, etc... so much they really do appreciate even the smallest of things. Such as going to local pet stores and buying a snack or one can of food it does help.

Of course Adopting always helps too, with so many animals needing home adopters and fosters are always welcome. Please remember there is a fee to adopt. But it is to make sure they are going to the right people. You will know if you are right because you will make it happen to own the pet. You will be willing to spend money for that special baby to be your own.

There is so much that can be done and if you are willing call, come on over, or email to see what you can do today.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

I first visited Last Hope Cat Kingdom a few years ago and upon my first visit was overwhelmed by their tremendous commitment to helping needy animals. They help SO many animals that are abused, sick and without homes. The organization is powered by a group of the most devoted volunteers who give so much of themselves to help keep the organization going. Seeing Last Hope's commitment inspired me to want to do more, to help more, to make a difference, simply because I saw how much this organization was doing. I cannot speak highly enough for the level of care that this organization provides and would recommend them to anyone who wants to get involved and help animals in need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 23, 2012

more

January 23, 2012

Last Hope is a non-profit 501c3 shelter in Merced County. They are the only shelter that actively rescues, shelters and rehomes dogs and cats from Merced County. Founded by Mona, (Renate's) daughter as a cat shelter, that helped rescue and spay and neuter thousands of feral cats, the shelter now rescues dogs, cats horses, goats, and pot belly pigs. Unlike rescues in other counties, that can work with other 501's in their community, they stand alone, and has the burden of often being the only firewall between life and death. Along with Cat House on the Kings, Last Hope is the only major valley organization that helps rescue and rehome thousands of cats. John. TheBigFixCentralValley.org

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2012

more

January 14, 2012

We adopted our dog from Last Hope not realizing it was the same organization we volunteer for! LHCK has brought so many needy animals together with loving families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

There was a stray dog that had been abandoned in my neighborhood. I had been trying to catch it for a while but it was being continually hit by people and was very shy. I was not sure what to do with it even if I did manage to catch it so I contacted Last hope. Pam Moody contacted me from their facebook page and worked with me each step of the way. When I was finally able to catch the poor sweet thing she came and transported her to the last hope shelter. there the dog was finally looked at and given medical attention. She is sweet and wagging her tail and starting to warm up to people after her horrible ordeal. Thanks Last Hope.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

Awesome organization that helps a lot of people and lots of animals!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

Last Hope is an organization of HUGE hearts. I've had many experiences with them ranging from volunteer, to donor, to client served. It's hard to pick one story when they give 110% every day of their lives. I guess I'll share the story of a little darling I adopted from the shelter. I first came to volunteer at Last Hope when my own elderly kitty became sick and passed. Volunteering at Last Hope was therapeutic for me. I was able to give back to these other cats with no homes for all that my kitty did for me. After volunteering at the shelter for about a year, I became familiar with a female kitty in need of a home. Unfortunately for her, she had a heart murmur which made her a special needs kitty and harder to place. In addition, she was a survivor of the fire that occurred on New Year’s Eve 2011. After some thought, I agreed to see how she would do with my remaining male kitty. They are a happy little pair now (after the introductory period). She is a wonderful kitty and I can’t imagine life without her. Like all cats, she has her own cattitude--but she is such a love! We never replace a loved pet, but our heart always seems to grow for new ones.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012

more

January 13, 2012

I started volunteering for Last Hope Cat Kingdom about four years ago. I didnt have anything else to do with my free time so I figured why not help the animals. That decision changed the rest of my life. I realize through working with the animals that I had a great love and passion. I am currently a senior and after I graduate high school I will go to college to become a veterinarian. Before I started volunteering there I wasnt sure what I wanted to do but now I know.There name may be Last hope Cat Kingdom but they currently have cats,dogs,pigs,horses,and goats. This is a great worthy charity, they help all types of animals everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers