Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I spent 8 months at L'Arche in one of the DC homes. It was truly a life changing experience to live and work in the home. There were - undoubtedly - really hard times in the home, but the good far outweighed the bad. L'Arche is what it aims to be - a community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2012

more

September 19, 2012

I think it is so very important for individuals with developmental disabilities to be in a community where they are part of mutually trans formative relationships and this is what L'Arche's foundation is.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

It's hard to say just how much being a part of the L'Arche Greater Washington DC community has meant to me. My time there has informed not only my current work (as a writer with a focus on sharing the stories of people with special needs), but the way I experience the world. When I arrived at L'Arche to be a direct-care assistant in 2007, I thought I'd stay for just one year. One year turned into five years, however, as I served in roles from assistant to home life coordinator to program director to consultant to volunteer and friend. Though it was a challenging journey at times, it was also full of joy. L'Arche DC, like any organization comprised of human beings, isn't perfect -- but its members are very good at giving one another second (and third, and fourth, and five-hundreth) chances. (Not to mention the fact that they know how to laugh, dance, and throw a good party.) They know how to ask good questions, how to grieve, and how to celebrate, and I am proud to have been a part of their life. And their practice of community-based caregiving is transformative. Supporting another person helps you to know your own vulnerability. When the core members at L'Arche welcomed me into their family, they changed my heart, and for that, I will always give thanks.

Videos

A Wish Come Clear Introduction (an introduction to my writing, relevant to L'Arche's mission)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

L'Arche in Greater Washington D.C. serves people with intellectual disabilites with great finesse wrapped in love. This intentional community welcomes people without disablilities to live in and enter into mutual relationships with the people who have challenges. The community is continually on a creative path of building a strong home life and pursues stimulating activities both intellectual and recreational to enhance the lives of everyone involved. It has been a joy to be involved for 13 years. Dorothy Copps Community Leader in the Adams Morgan neighborhood of Washington, D.C.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make dinner, do yardwork, play games, file paperwork Volunteer