Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

There is no organization that I know of like 'L'Arche Greater Washington DC".. Their witness daily is a testament to the passion of the commitment of the organization...It is not just the volunteers or the staff bit the entire community including the core residents that make L'Arche uniquely different than so many other wonderful organizations. I am all in with them and I believe that anyone who encounters this organization will be all in and never be the same..With gratitude, Jack McHale

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word everywhere

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I first experienced L'Arche 20 years ago as a reading tutor for one of the core members. It wasn't long before they began inviting me to stay for dinner and eventually I became an assistant. The two years I spent with the community inspired me to become a licensed creative arts therapist and to this day my work is strongly informed by my time with this remarkable group of people. In all of my years working in for-profit and not-for-profit organizations, L'Arche continues to stand above the rest. I have never experienced an organization that tends to the well being of its clients and staff with as much integrity and compassion as I found at L'Arche.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I love L'Arche and L'Arche D.C. I am from L'Arche Cleveland and when we get together with other L'Arche communities in the Eastern Region of the USA we always have such a wonderful time as we celebrate each other and the gifts that each person brings. It is so wonderful to see the coremembers interacting with each other. They know one another well. I am grateful to be part of L'Arche.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I visited L'Arche D.C. after my son, who goes to college at CUA, became friends with of the assistants. As a result I visited the L'Arches home on 3 different occasions while visiting D.C. The home, its residents and assistants are made from love. They truly live as a family. It takes a special calling for those who volunteer. They are selfless individuals who truly live to serve others. God bless L'Arche for the opportunity if gives its residents.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word about this amazing non-profit. Perhaps others will follow L'Arches lead.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

August 10, 2014

I was invited to a L'Arche event by a colleague working with people with disabilities. What first got my attention was that the members of l'Arche workforce and core members operated the event together. The mutual respect among all L'Arche members demonstrated the core value of mutual relationship.

The welcoming to L'Arche was and is authentic, warm and open. Invitations to dinner at the house and community gatherings further grew my relationships with L'Arche. Never have I experienced such truth in an organization living out its mission in the world. I donate to L'Arche because my values of respect and dignity of people living in relationship with each other are active, growing and constantly nurtured there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly none.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

I don't know how to aptly describe the wonder and beauty of L'Arche. It truly changed my life and I watched it transform individuals, neighborhoods, programs and other volunteers for the 2 and a half years I lived in one of the homes as a volunteer. As a social worker in the field of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, I can firmly state that there is nothing like it for people with disabilities. It is a place of love, dedication, selflessness, and commitment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure there were L'Arches in every state in this country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

L'Arche is an outstanding & inspiring nonprofit agency. I know members of the community (key word!) through meeting them at church. All, staff & clients, are open, friendly & welcoming. They've hosted our family for dinner more than once (including our grandchildren). That was a great experience of their community. I can't think of a nonprofit I've ever encountered that has been so inspiring.
Donna Davis

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing I can think of

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I was amazed by the dedication of L'Arche volunteers when I first met them and have grown to appreciate the whole organization the more I learn about them. The dedication to the well-being of the Corp Members and their inclusion as equal members of the community is a beautiful model. My wife and I have slowly increased our donations to L'Arche and focused our money on L'Arche because we can see a direct impact.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have invited L'Arche to visit my students at The Catholic University for over four years because the story of how this community was founded and how they continue to positively impact persons with and without intellectual disability represents to me the perfect example of excellent social service.

- Matt Tapie, The Catholic University of America

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their presence in every city in the world! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

L'Arche GWDC excels in providing a community of friendship for persons with intellectual disabilities. Serving the entire Greater Washington, DC and Arlington, VA region, the community demonstrates a profound gift of understanding how to care for the poor. The nonprofit is run with precision and intelligence, holding to the very best practices in every area. Supporting L'Arche GWDC financially is not only a good idea, but one where you can know that everything you give is received and utilized in the best way possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make dinner, do yardwork, play games, file paperwork Volunteer