Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

L'Arche is an outstanding & inspiring nonprofit agency. I know members of the community (key word!) through meeting them at church. All, staff & clients, are open, friendly & welcoming. They've hosted our family for dinner more than once (including our grandchildren). That was a great experience of their community. I can't think of a nonprofit I've ever encountered that has been so inspiring.
Donna Davis

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing I can think of

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I was amazed by the dedication of L'Arche volunteers when I first met them and have grown to appreciate the whole organization the more I learn about them. The dedication to the well-being of the Corp Members and their inclusion as equal members of the community is a beautiful model. My wife and I have slowly increased our donations to L'Arche and focused our money on L'Arche because we can see a direct impact.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I have invited L'Arche to visit my students at The Catholic University for over four years because the story of how this community was founded and how they continue to positively impact persons with and without intellectual disability represents to me the perfect example of excellent social service.

- Matt Tapie, The Catholic University of America

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their presence in every city in the world! :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

L'Arche GWDC excels in providing a community of friendship for persons with intellectual disabilities. Serving the entire Greater Washington, DC and Arlington, VA region, the community demonstrates a profound gift of understanding how to care for the poor. The nonprofit is run with precision and intelligence, holding to the very best practices in every area. Supporting L'Arche GWDC financially is not only a good idea, but one where you can know that everything you give is received and utilized in the best way possible.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2014

I've been involved with the Washington DC and Virginia L'Arche communities for 5 years as a volunteer, donor and friend of the community.

One area that stands out for me is the L'Arche assistants, staff, and core member's genuine commitment to each other through both the good and
challenging times. They...we live authentically as a community. L'Arche has been and is an inspiration to me to live my life with authenticity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

One change: Create more L'Arche communities!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I learned about L'Arche and its founder Jean Vanier from an episode of Speaking of Faith, and started volunteering in the DC community soon thereafter. The peace and love I found at L'Arche was healing and soul-stirring; those in the community welcomed me like I had been there for years. The mission of L'Arche to provide unconditional support for all is a model for society, and its wonderful core members, assistants, and volunteers live and breathe that mission every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I volunteered with l'Arche DC in the late 1980s as a live-in assistant. I found it to be a helpful experience in my life, with a good life/work balance, strong community support, and lively metropolitan culture. The organization is well run and stable, and provides a great sign of the value of the person, no matter their intellectual capacity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I spent 8 months at L'Arche in one of the DC homes. It was truly a life changing experience to live and work in the home. There were - undoubtedly - really hard times in the home, but the good far outweighed the bad. L'Arche is what it aims to be - a community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

My daughter and future son-in-law are assistants in L'Arche communities in DC and Arlington, and I couldn't be more proud (and impressed)! I have visited their communities many times, and have observed the beauty of community life. The assistants are gifted, compassionate people who impart their talents daily while receiving gifts from the community core members. I have joined in several dinners and prayer nights, and come away feeling better about the world!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I was given the privilege to spend 8 weeks with L'Arche GWDC last summer and was struck instantly by how genuine the community is. The interactions between core members and assistants, between the houses and their neighbors, between volunteers and board members, and any combinations of those people are kind, gentle, and incredibly life-giving. Life at L'Arche is real -- there are hang-ups and disagreements and mistakes -- but there is so much support within the community that I felt at home right away. I think the world has a lot to learn from L'Arche about how to love and live in relationship with ALL people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make dinner, do yardwork, play games, file paperwork Volunteer