Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 9, 2014

I've been involved with the Washington DC and Virginia L'Arche communities for 5 years as a volunteer, donor and friend of the community.

One area that stands out for me is the L'Arche assistants, staff, and core member's genuine commitment to each other through both the good and
challenging times. They...we live authentically as a community. L'Arche has been and is an inspiration to me to live my life with authenticity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

One change: Create more L'Arche communities!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I learned about L'Arche and its founder Jean Vanier from an episode of Speaking of Faith, and started volunteering in the DC community soon thereafter. The peace and love I found at L'Arche was healing and soul-stirring; those in the community welcomed me like I had been there for years. The mission of L'Arche to provide unconditional support for all is a model for society, and its wonderful core members, assistants, and volunteers live and breathe that mission every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I volunteered with l'Arche DC in the late 1980s as a live-in assistant. I found it to be a helpful experience in my life, with a good life/work balance, strong community support, and lively metropolitan culture. The organization is well run and stable, and provides a great sign of the value of the person, no matter their intellectual capacity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I spent 8 months at L'Arche in one of the DC homes. It was truly a life changing experience to live and work in the home. There were - undoubtedly - really hard times in the home, but the good far outweighed the bad. L'Arche is what it aims to be - a community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

My daughter and future son-in-law are assistants in L'Arche communities in DC and Arlington, and I couldn't be more proud (and impressed)! I have visited their communities many times, and have observed the beauty of community life. The assistants are gifted, compassionate people who impart their talents daily while receiving gifts from the community core members. I have joined in several dinners and prayer nights, and come away feeling better about the world!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I was given the privilege to spend 8 weeks with L'Arche GWDC last summer and was struck instantly by how genuine the community is. The interactions between core members and assistants, between the houses and their neighbors, between volunteers and board members, and any combinations of those people are kind, gentle, and incredibly life-giving. Life at L'Arche is real -- there are hang-ups and disagreements and mistakes -- but there is so much support within the community that I felt at home right away. I think the world has a lot to learn from L'Arche about how to love and live in relationship with ALL people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

It has been a pleasure and a privilege to work with L'Arche towards their goals. It is a wonderful place!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

L'Arche is a truly amazing place, transforming the lives of both Care Members and Assistants. This place is the home I never know I was looking for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 27, 2012

L'Arche is a place where people are respectfully allowed to be themselves. People are loved for who they are and L'Arche stands as a beacon of what can be done when people consciously decide to treat ... more

May 2, 2013

L'Arche changed my life, but beyond that L'Arche changes the world one person at a time.

I had always felt uncomfortable around people with disabilities. I didn't know how to interact with them. Being involved with L'Arche made me realize there is no "them", there are just people - all of
whom have their own unique strengths and weaknesses. I know that when I describe L'Arche to those who haven't experienced it - and it is an experience, not just an organization - many people cannot understand what it is beyond a "group home." Since I first interacted with L'Arche and the Core Members, I have known that the term "group home" was far too cheap a descriptor. L'Arche is a home, a community, a family, and a lifestyle. It is the best of what our world can offer for both persons with disabilities and people as a whole.

Respect, dignity, and love are the core tenets of life at L'Arche and every person - Core Member, Assistant, Volunteer, etc - who enters a L'Arche home can immediately feel the TLC for the soul provided within. L'Arche provides a home for life for its Core Members, a community forever for its Assistants and Volunteers, and a true and remarkable worldview for everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 27, 2012

L'Arche is a place where people are respectfully allowed to be themselves. People are loved for who they are and L'Arche stands as a beacon of what can be done when people consciously decide to treat each other with mutual respect and care. So many other organizations that care for disabled adults do it in the capacity of "staff" and "residents." L'Arche is a family and you can see that from a distance. L'Arche takes a lot of emotional presence to be an effective member of the family, but the imprint it leaves on your life, on your soul, will last forever and open your eyes to see the world in a new and beautiful way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

L'Arche has contributed greatly to my understand of family, friendship, vulnerability, and love. There is no place like L'Arche. L'Arche is a home. It is a family. It is a place where gifts are shared and exchanged. It is a place where people grow, change, and are healed. L'Arche is also a sign that people with disabilities can be loved, valued, and cherished if only we are willing to take the time to be with them, and to let them be with us. My life in L'Arche began with the Greater Washington DC Community. I hope that others will also have the chance to interact with this energetic and kind group of friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make dinner, do yardwork, play games, file paperwork Volunteer