Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.860475
Write A Review
November 1, 2014

more

November 1, 2014

i first learned of LAMP when i viewed the video Lost Angels Skid Row is my Home. i was immediately drawn to the story of the homeless in L A. i learned of the many struggles they have to deal often on a daily basis. After seeing the success LAMP has experienced i sent a small donation to LAMP. Shortly afterwards i was impressed with the response i received from LAMP's Director of Individual
Giving . Her name is Zhenya. She called me. i then decided i should visit their facilities in Los Angeles. i flew down for a two day visit. During my visit there i learned about several of their staff members. i also spent time with a few individuals they have taken off the streets. I subsequently donated more money. During my first visit i learned of the departments staffed to help the homeless help regain their sense of self dignity. i was deeply moved by their food and art department staffs. I later decided to donate things which I thought might be helpful to their photography and art department. i made my second visit when i drove down photography and art items that should help them in their efforts. i can't say enough about their work. Please consider how much your assistance even if minor might mean to those struggling to make a life for themselves. Remember much like a stone skipped on a still pond one may never know how the 'ripples' of thoughtful acts may influence those touched by them.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

We have donated to and worked with Lamp over the past 18 months, and believe them to be of the highest integrity and very diligent in their mission. I personally look forward to assisting them in the future because of their mission to help the homeless without any other agenda.
August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

This organization really helps homeless mentally ill people. I used to work in the area and refer clients there with good results

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I am more than happy to donate to the Lamp Community. Lamp has been improving incrementally since Donna Gallup, the present CEO, has taken very positive steps in Its orginization. As aa high school graduate I am sometimes surprised by the quality of my life and I have been more than happy to donate to Lamp. A friend that I graduated with and was a big part of my early life has not been so fortunate. As I am approaching retirement in New Jersey I heard from friends that he is homeless in California, and I can really appreciate the help that Lamp could be to him and others like him. The recent push for volunteerism is to be commended, encouraged and certainly supported.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 21, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
July 21, 2012

I have been involved with LAMP as a donor and volunteer for the past decade. Their model is very effective in dealing with homelessness. They focus on the chronically mentally ill, house them and provide extensive services at a cost that is below $20K. It is less expensive for LAMP to house a homeless person than it is for them to be on the street. It is a very professionally run organization. The director is focused and driven. The staff is committed and is very competent. The results are evident. If LAMP were increased tenfold or even more they could solve homelessness in Los Angeles.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Solving homelessness.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding ten fold.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Homelessness.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

It not only was a good cause it is well run. They very effectively provide homes and wrap around services for individuals who need support.

What would you tell others about this organization?

That it is extraordinary.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers