Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.860475
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have been a board member of Lamp Community for over 4 years and have witnessed first hand the amazing work this organization does to help those who are homeless and suffer from mental illness, find a path to housing and stability. They meet you where you are (emotionally and physically) and unconditionally work with the client to create a plan for success. I am honored to be a part of the board and applause the work Lamp does every day!
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Treating the mentally ill homeless with respect and caring is what we do. We provide many of the needed services and help them find what we cannot do. Being a part of LAMP has enriched my life also and I will always be an enthusiastic spokesperson.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 20, 2012

A friend asked me for a way to 'give back', and in the process we both joined the board of LAMP Community. Lamp's approach to ending homelessness among the most vulnerable populations has proven to b... more

October 30, 2014

I've been involved with Lamp Community for over 10 years and can't contain my enthusiasm and pride for the work Lamp does! The staff is so dedicated to the people served, they're amazing. And, the members are also inspiring. It is an environment of possibility becoming reality on so many levels that it is contagious.
July 20, 2012

A friend asked me for a way to 'give back', and in the process we both joined the board of LAMP Community. Lamp's approach to ending homelessness among the most vulnerable populations has proven to be tremendously effective and sensitive to the needs of people with multiple issues, mental and physical illnesses, and/or addiction. I am proud to be involved with Lamp, especially when I listen to the people it has helped. Over and over, they say Lamp has changed their lives, yet I see that they have taken the opportunity to make the changes themselves.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Lamp is well positioned to serve the most vulnerable on skid row and other areas around Los Angeles -- the homeless struggling with mental illness. Lamp has a committed team that truly make a difference in peoples' lives.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I am honored to serve as a member of the Board of Directors of Lamp. With a background in social work, I know about the need for beds and health services including mental health. Lamp provides these with love and dedication, knowing the worth of every individual. As a citizen of Los Angeles I ask my fellow citizens to be aware, to care and to provide for this population as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 10, 2013

I worked with Lamp for more than 15 years and saw the changes it made in the lives of mentally ill men and women living in LA's Skid Row. A community was formed which transformed the lives of people ... more

October 31, 2014

I've seen the amazing changes Lamp has made on Skid Row. They've saved lives and reunited families. They bring out the best in everyone.
June 10, 2013

I worked with Lamp for more than 15 years and saw the changes it made in the lives of mentally ill men and women living in LA's Skid Row. A community was formed which transformed the lives of people who joined it. Lives were saved. Families were re-united. People found hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more money for it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money ... more

August 11, 2014

The members of LAMP so appreciate the help that is being given, it motivates me to do even more. The staff do not seem to have lost their idealism and work very hard to stretch the dollars and make a wonderful impact. LAMP is a great role model in the work with the homeless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money management, 12 step groups and many other services for the poorest residents of LA County. I am recognized when I walk down skid row as one of the helpers and am never afraid though I am 5'2'', 105 lbs and over 70.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

You (LAMP Inc and LAMP's CEO, Donna Gallup, has continued to make a different) are my best!!

Andrew (Sandy) Wellman

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Being at LAMP and meeting the members who are rebuilding their lives is an inspiration to those of us who are more fortunate. To survive mental disease and addiction is a lifelong challenge and those who suffer need support and a warm helping hand. Too many people are judgmental and critical, rather than helpful. I have a lot of respect for everyone involved, as it takes courage to admit to being mentally ill and/or addicted. I have a lot of respect for the employees who work very hard under sometimes difficult circumstances. I have a lot of respect for my fellow Board members who show up on Skid Row at 7:30 in the morning, and other times, giving their time and money to make a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I became involved with LAMP as the producer of the film THE SOLOIST. My initial work was coordinating with the organization to assist us in making an authentic and accurate movie. I was so impressed with the work the organization was doing that I joined the board. The leadership at LAMP has continued to grow the agency into one of the leaders on Skid Row in Los Angeles and has created successful partnerships with other agencies, government and private entities in order to help the homeless and specifically those with mental illness. I am big believer in LAMP's policy of inclusion and the goal to create more and better operated permanent supportive housing in Los Angeles.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers