Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.860475
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Lamps model and care for human kind should be a footprint for the rest of the country to follow. The care they take in progressing quality of life for all humans is unmatched. It is a pleasure to be part of such a caring well run organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 10, 2013

I worked with Lamp for more than 15 years and saw the changes it made in the lives of mentally ill men and women living in LA's Skid Row. A community was formed which transformed the lives of people ... more

October 31, 2014

I've seen the amazing changes Lamp has made on Skid Row. They've saved lives and reunited families. They bring out the best in everyone.
June 10, 2013

I worked with Lamp for more than 15 years and saw the changes it made in the lives of mentally ill men and women living in LA's Skid Row. A community was formed which transformed the lives of people who joined it. Lives were saved. Families were re-united. People found hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more money for it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

I have volunteered several times for LAMP, and have found them to be very easy to work with and friendly. Their shelter spaces, at least the ones I've been to, are quite nice and the people they service are very warm and open. Highly recommended.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Volunteering for LAMP has been an amazing experience. Each event I take part in I am truly touched by their passion and drive to help their members reach their life goals. LAMP truly provides hope and structure for each individual which in turn enables them to find their own voice and path in this world.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I have had the opportunity to volunteer for LAMP for a few different events and activities. I am always blown away by the work they do. Not only are they finding homes and jobs for their members, but they are giving their members a chance to express themselves, find self worth, and enjoy life. I am humbled by the work that they do.
August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money ... more

August 11, 2014

The members of LAMP so appreciate the help that is being given, it motivates me to do even more. The staff do not seem to have lost their idealism and work very hard to stretch the dollars and make a wonderful impact. LAMP is a great role model in the work with the homeless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money management, 12 step groups and many other services for the poorest residents of LA County. I am recognized when I walk down skid row as one of the helpers and am never afraid though I am 5'2'', 105 lbs and over 70.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

people are donating millions to Lamp community and there money is going to the top executives of the organization and they are not trying to end homelessness they are actually trying to keep they clients stuck in the cycle of homelessness. the director Stewart encouraged the advocates that worked there not to assist members in trying to develop self esteem and is micro managing there ssi money and not allowing the members to spend they money that are enrolled under the payee program not only is he not allowing the members to spend the money he makes threats to employees trying to assist members get off the streets and says he gets what he wants and can do what ever it is he pleases and if you don't like it u can quit your job. using a harm reduction model which allows members to continue to use illegal drugs and falsifying date to show they are housing individuals in order to keep getting donations. when the resources is set for failure in a perpetual cycle which brings the members back to the lamp for service after they have been evicted from there housing. they have no understanding of how to pay bills manager funds nothing, and further more there is husbands and wives working in the organization which does not allow the staff to freely for assistance in any area. the organization is horrible and they model is horrible and they are duping the public

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire all the uneducated people working in spots that have no formal education investigate the employee treatment

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Lamp is different from many other charities I have looked into volunteering at because they are extremely open and flexible. They are very unique in finding ways individuals can contribute in their own way and are not bound by cookie cutter volunteer opportunities. They are always open to collaborating and making a volunteer fit however is going to help their members.

In addition the staff members are extremely open and friendly and their dedication has been a motivation for me to get more involved. In the few months I have volunteered as a photographer and teacher of the first LAMP photography class for members, I have met first hand peoples lives who have been dramatically turned around because of LAMP services. It is an honor to play a small role in what they do and I hope they continue to grow and reach more people who are in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have attended an art exhibition and are volunteering with the art programs there. They are well run and organized and each person who comes in to participate are treated with respect and valued, creating a warm and safe place to create. They provide a much needed respite for anyone who comes in to engage in the creative process. It's a rare gift for a community who can greatly benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

As a volunteer, I have heard nothing but great things coming from the members while I visit their sites providing workshops. According to the testimony I have heard, Lampwas the first and only homeless facility that provided them the shelter and hope they needed when many had given up even on themselves. I feel honored to be a part of this amazing agency and legacy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers