Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Lamps model and care for human kind should be a footprint for the rest of the country to follow. The care they take in progressing quality of life for all humans is unmatched. It is a pleasure to be part of such a caring well run organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money ... more

August 11, 2014

The members of LAMP so appreciate the help that is being given, it motivates me to do even more. The staff do not seem to have lost their idealism and work very hard to stretch the dollars and make a wonderful impact. LAMP is a great role model in the work with the homeless.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money management, 12 step groups and many other services for the poorest residents of LA County. I am recognized when I walk down skid row as one of the helpers and am never afraid though I am 5'2'', 105 lbs and over 70.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

people are donating millions to Lamp community and there money is going to the top executives of the organization and they are not trying to end homelessness they are actually trying to keep they clients stuck in the cycle of homelessness. the director Stewart encouraged the advocates that worked there not to assist members in trying to develop self esteem and is micro managing there ssi money and not allowing the members to spend they money that are enrolled under the payee program not only is he not allowing the members to spend the money he makes threats to employees trying to assist members get off the streets and says he gets what he wants and can do what ever it is he pleases and if you don't like it u can quit your job. using a harm reduction model which allows members to continue to use illegal drugs and falsifying date to show they are housing individuals in order to keep getting donations. when the resources is set for failure in a perpetual cycle which brings the members back to the lamp for service after they have been evicted from there housing. they have no understanding of how to pay bills manager funds nothing, and further more there is husbands and wives working in the organization which does not allow the staff to freely for assistance in any area. the organization is horrible and they model is horrible and they are duping the public

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

fire all the uneducated people working in spots that have no formal education investigate the employee treatment

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Lamp is different from many other charities I have looked into volunteering at because they are extremely open and flexible. They are very unique in finding ways individuals can contribute in their own way and are not bound by cookie cutter volunteer opportunities. They are always open to collaborating and making a volunteer fit however is going to help their members.

In addition the staff members are extremely open and friendly and their dedication has been a motivation for me to get more involved. In the few months I have volunteered as a photographer and teacher of the first LAMP photography class for members, I have met first hand peoples lives who have been dramatically turned around because of LAMP services. It is an honor to play a small role in what they do and I hope they continue to grow and reach more people who are in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have attended an art exhibition and are volunteering with the art programs there. They are well run and organized and each person who comes in to participate are treated with respect and valued, creating a warm and safe place to create. They provide a much needed respite for anyone who comes in to engage in the creative process. It's a rare gift for a community who can greatly benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

As a volunteer, I have heard nothing but great things coming from the members while I visit their sites providing workshops. According to the testimony I have heard, Lampwas the first and only homeless facility that provided them the shelter and hope they needed when many had given up even on themselves. I feel honored to be a part of this amazing agency and legacy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

The day I walked into Lamp Community my life changed. Prior to Lamp I was in a battle with myself. I was performing what I would call self sabatage. I didnt care about anything, i didnt allow anyone to help me and I grew very isolated. As a transgender woman of color I faced alot of adversity within a short period of time. I believed nobody cared about me because the people I loved had hurt me and didnt accept me at the time. Relationships with others didnt last and I was suffering from servere mental illness. The only place that accepted and embraced me at the time seemed like the streets, there I found comfort in being myself and walking down my own path which at the time i wasnt aware was self destruction. One day I walked into Lamp to use the bathroom and ended up becoming a member, from there I recieved the services that lamp provides. I found purpose in wanting to give back and help because Lamp meet me where i was at! from the time i walked through the door Lamp provided me with a new positive direction. My advocate thought id be a great fit for a new project called the Peer Advocate Pilot Project (PAPP) through Lamp. PAPP is a program that integrades members into society by providing tool base skills that will give members self awareness and personal development. One of the tools that help me was titled " Taking Care Of Yourself" It was there I realized how much I was abusing myself and being my worst enemie. I wanted hope to regain control back over my life and thats what Lamp gave me. Today I work at lamp as a peer supporter advocating for my peers and helping them the same way lamp helped me. Lamp help me realize my purpose which is to now be a voice for a positive change and to help. Without Lamp I honestly dont know if I would still be here today. With my association through lamp and for Lamp I nominate it the #1 Non profit Organization, hands down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

After working in the social work field for 5 years, Lamp Inc. by far is the most comprehensive mental and housing service provider I have ever come across. Furthermore, Lamp's approach of "meeting the client where they are at", is truly inspiring because I have yet to come across a member who doesn't acknowledge that Lamp was only agency down in Skid Row that didn't judge them or turn them away when they needed help. And I can't say enough about how great the staff is. One memorable moment I can recall was during lunchtime a few weeks ago. I volunteered to serve lunch along with the regular kitchen staff on this particular day. Members (participants) were lined up to get their piece of pizza and a side of salad. Right from the get-go and without being asked, I noticed that a kitchen staff who was serving the pizza right next to me (I had the salad responsibilty) was making sure he was giving each individual the biggest pizza pieces he could find based on stated member preferences. I believe that many people would not have noticed the kind and nurturing gesture this particular staff member was taking the time to do. He created a space of dignity and grace that afternoon without ever using language. He reminded me about the power of action without words and for that I am very grateful. Lamp is truly an extraordinary place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

LAMP is an incredible organization that takes on the very neediest of all--chronically homeless folks with addiction issues and mental illness. Through intensive counselling and other services, it makes a huge difference in the lives of many in downtown Los Angeles. Its employees show tremendous dedication and enthusiasm every day. We need more organizations like LAMP!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers