Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.806455
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I worked with Lamp for more than 15 years and saw the changes it made in the lives of mentally ill men and women living in LA's Skid Row. A community was formed which transformed the lives of people who joined it. Lives were saved. Families were re-united. People found hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find more money for it

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

The right formula with the right heart. Would like to bring this to my state.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

Every time I walk down skid row in LA, and that is often, I am so glad that LAMP is part of the helping scene. We find homes for the homeless mentally ill, provide showers, laundry facilities, money management, 12 step groups and many other services for the poorest residents of LA County. I am recognized when I walk down skid row as one of the helpers and am never afraid though I am 5'2'', 105 lbs and over 70.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Lamp is different from many other charities I have looked into volunteering at because they are extremely open and flexible. They are very unique in finding ways individuals can contribute in their own way and are not bound by cookie cutter volunteer opportunities. They are always open to collaborating and making a volunteer fit however is going to help their members.

In addition the staff members are extremely open and friendly and their dedication has been a motivation for me to get more involved. In the few months I have volunteered as a photographer and teacher of the first LAMP photography class for members, I have met first hand peoples lives who have been dramatically turned around because of LAMP services. It is an honor to play a small role in what they do and I hope they continue to grow and reach more people who are in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I am more than happy to donate to the Lamp Community. Lamp has been improving incrementally since Donna Gallup, the present CEO, has taken very positive steps in Its orginization. As aa high school graduate I am sometimes surprised by the quality of my life and I have been more than happy to donate to Lamp. A friend that I graduated with and was a big part of my early life has not been so fortunate. As I am approaching retirement in New Jersey I heard from friends that he is homeless in California, and I can really appreciate the help that Lamp could be to him and others like him. The recent push for volunteerism is to be commended, encouraged and certainly supported.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

I have attended an art exhibition and are volunteering with the art programs there. They are well run and organized and each person who comes in to participate are treated with respect and valued, creating a warm and safe place to create. They provide a much needed respite for anyone who comes in to engage in the creative process. It's a rare gift for a community who can greatly benefit from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Lamp changes the lives of people on a daily basis. From Homeless to housed. Lamp gives people the chance of having a home.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

As a volunteer, I have heard nothing but great things coming from the members while I visit their sites providing workshops. According to the testimony I have heard, Lampwas the first and only homeless facility that provided them the shelter and hope they needed when many had given up even on themselves. I feel honored to be a part of this amazing agency and legacy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

You (LAMP Inc and LAMP's CEO, Donna Gallup, has continued to make a different) are my best!!

Andrew (Sandy) Wellman

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

The day I walked into Lamp Community my life changed. Prior to Lamp I was in a battle with myself. I was performing what I would call self sabatage. I didnt care about anything, i didnt allow anyone to help me and I grew very isolated. As a transgender woman of color I faced alot of adversity within a short period of time. I believed nobody cared about me because the people I loved had hurt me and didnt accept me at the time. Relationships with others didnt last and I was suffering from servere mental illness. The only place that accepted and embraced me at the time seemed like the streets, there I found comfort in being myself and walking down my own path which at the time i wasnt aware was self destruction. One day I walked into Lamp to use the bathroom and ended up becoming a member, from there I recieved the services that lamp provides. I found purpose in wanting to give back and help because Lamp meet me where i was at! from the time i walked through the door Lamp provided me with a new positive direction. My advocate thought id be a great fit for a new project called the Peer Advocate Pilot Project (PAPP) through Lamp. PAPP is a program that integrades members into society by providing tool base skills that will give members self awareness and personal development. One of the tools that help me was titled " Taking Care Of Yourself" It was there I realized how much I was abusing myself and being my worst enemie. I wanted hope to regain control back over my life and thats what Lamp gave me. Today I work at lamp as a peer supporter advocating for my peers and helping them the same way lamp helped me. Lamp help me realize my purpose which is to now be a voice for a positive change and to help. Without Lamp I honestly dont know if I would still be here today. With my association through lamp and for Lamp I nominate it the #1 Non profit Organization, hands down.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers