Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.878795
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Our Sunday School class has volunteered there and served over 70 people supper. It was an awesome expierence. We were blessed as well as the people we fed. Our church collects food donations for Open Hands throughout the year. It is one of the ways God provides us to serve others. Open Hands is a wonderful organization and my prayer is that they would be able to continue to serve the community and show the love of Jesus Christ to the people who use their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

Leadership in the organization has mobilized all of the churches in our community to participate and pitch in to help our community. Everyone is welcome to contribute and volunteer and I have enjoyed working together with other Christians regardless of denomination. The experience has been such a blessing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

Open Hands Pantry is such a blessing to our community & takes care of so many! The ministry is just awesome & ran by God minded volunteers doing his work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

Open Hands Pantry is such a blessing to so many in the community, including all the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

open hands food pantry loves to help people in need. they go out of their way to make sure the needy has what they need and are satisfied when they leave. i love volunteering here because i love helping people and i love the way they pray for you and make you feel before leaving.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i wouldnt change a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love the Helping Hands Food Pantry. I volunteered there for a week, it was the best week of my life. The joy it was to serve the people in that area, and watch the faces when we gave them food. Not only did I get to serve but I prayed for 68 families and passed out prayer rocks. It was very touching to listen to their stories, and made me realize what a servant is all about. I would love to go back and spend some more time there. I believe each person in the Lawrenceburg area needs to volunteer at least one day to see the joy in people heart. This is what we are called to do. God Bless David for all he does to help the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I help serve meals once a month at Open Hands with a group of people from different churches in our area. The building is fantastic, handicap accessible, and serves so many needs. The kitchen is fully equipped, with plenty of room to prepare and serve food. There is enough seating in the dining area for 80 or so people, including a highchair and booster seat. The pantry area keeps non-perishables, breads, fresh fruits, and vegetables on their numerous shelving units, and I've noticed deep freezers and refrigerators for essential perishable items. I know volunteers do deliver meals and groceries to those unable to leave their homes.

In my experience, the people who come are kind, warm, and grateful. They come from all different backgrounds, and ages. Many eat as though they haven't in a while, preferring meats and high fat foods to sustain them, especially in the winter. Open Hands fills an immense need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization (and had a million dollars), I would... pave the parking lot, get a pantry-mobile to pick up people without transportation on cold or rainy days (the social aspect of eating together is so important), knock down a wall to expand the dining area, install a greenhouse so fresh vegetables wouldn't be luxury items, and place a prayer request box near the entry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

God has definately blessed Lawrenceburg with the Pantry. It strives to meet the needs of the comunity with food, medical and dental services. The staff truly care about the people they serve. I know they work hard at what they do! The needs of the community continue to climb so the need for Open Hands continues to rise also. And they continue to look for ways to help this area. I wish I could give more of my time to volunteer there than I do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

During my work with the Pantry, I can see how hard they work to make a little go a long way. Their goal is to make sure that the goods they receive get in the right hands and they do a great job meeting that goal. They leave an impressive mark on the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

david, kim, debbie, and katie were extremly helpful thoughtful and considerate when assisting folks from the community here in anderson county. their sincerity and geniune affection for the community in which they have chosen to serve is evident in the conversations shared with individuals, who are diverse in their walk of life yet similar in their need for a hand up. keep up the excellent work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers