Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.878795
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Open Hands food pantry has been a blessing to me in my time of need. The volunteers there are always so nice and helpful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate food

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love the Helping Hands Food Pantry. I volunteered there for a week, it was the best week of my life. The joy it was to serve the people in that area, and watch the faces when we gave them food. Not only did I get to serve but I prayed for 68 families and passed out prayer rocks. It was very touching to listen to their stories, and made me realize what a servant is all about. I would love to go back and spend some more time there. I believe each person in the Lawrenceburg area needs to volunteer at least one day to see the joy in people heart. This is what we are called to do. God Bless David for all he does to help the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2013

more

July 29, 2013

I help serve meals once a month at Open Hands with a group of people from different churches in our area. The building is fantastic, handicap accessible, and serves so many needs. The kitchen is fully equipped, with plenty of room to prepare and serve food. There is enough seating in the dining area for 80 or so people, including a highchair and booster seat. The pantry area keeps non-perishables, breads, fresh fruits, and vegetables on their numerous shelving units, and I've noticed deep freezers and refrigerators for essential perishable items. I know volunteers do deliver meals and groceries to those unable to leave their homes.

In my experience, the people who come are kind, warm, and grateful. They come from all different backgrounds, and ages. Many eat as though they haven't in a while, preferring meats and high fat foods to sustain them, especially in the winter. Open Hands fills an immense need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization (and had a million dollars), I would... pave the parking lot, get a pantry-mobile to pick up people without transportation on cold or rainy days (the social aspect of eating together is so important), knock down a wall to expand the dining area, install a greenhouse so fresh vegetables wouldn't be luxury items, and place a prayer request box near the entry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

God has definately blessed Lawrenceburg with the Pantry. It strives to meet the needs of the comunity with food, medical and dental services. The staff truly care about the people they serve. I know they work hard at what they do! The needs of the community continue to climb so the need for Open Hands continues to rise also. And they continue to look for ways to help this area. I wish I could give more of my time to volunteer there than I do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

During my work with the Pantry, I can see how hard they work to make a little go a long way. Their goal is to make sure that the goods they receive get in the right hands and they do a great job meeting that goal. They leave an impressive mark on the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This ministry is a key part of our community by helping the less fortunate with food, medical and dental needs. The food pantry has been blessed with outstanding community support as the numbers of those we serve continues to grow.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

david, kim, debbie, and katie were extremly helpful thoughtful and considerate when assisting folks from the community here in anderson county. their sincerity and geniune affection for the community in which they have chosen to serve is evident in the conversations shared with individuals, who are diverse in their walk of life yet similar in their need for a hand up. keep up the excellent work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Anderson County Senior Center works closely with our Open Hands Food Pantry. Their volunteers are friendly, open to special requests, and work closely with clients to handle their needs. Our community is blessed to have this special resource. Times are tough. Many seniors have never had to use a food pantry, and they are always so pleased that their needs can be met so quickly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012


I have had the honor to partner with Open Hands for quite a while. The charity and compassion as well as long range vision that the pantry has in serving the community has enable us, Anderson Co. Recovery, to better sever the needs of our people. There is an outstanding spirit of excellence
exemplified in the quality and commitment that each of the leaders and all of the volunteers have the creates a safe place in which people who have needs can feel loved and cared for. I and our ministry are delighted to serve with Open Hands for many years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

i have worked with the open hands food pantry since it openned. The need for it grows stronger each week. Our number of clients grows each week. Sometimes it is hard to have enough food to help those in need. Open Hands food bank is also working with the new free medical clinic and dental clinic. This organization is supported by our community. The director and volunteer staff work long days to help those in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers