Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.920635
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 11, 2013

more

July 11, 2013

The Alchemist Brewery has relied on Lake Champlain International for technical advice in regards to water usage and wastewater treatment. The highly professional and competent group of people who work at LCI have always shared accurate and up to date information with us. LCI has been an incredible resource for our business as we grow. With water being the main ingredient in our beer, it is critical that we understand how to best protect our water sources. Moreover, it is important for us to understand how our water sources and our wastewater are interconnected. James and his crew have done an incredible job educating us and helping to move us in the right direction as we work to minimize our impact on the environment.
In addition to helping our business, LCI has been a great resource for us personally as we navigate the issues surrounding Class A and B sludge application. Our home town recently applied for a permit to produce and spread Class B sludge which will be spread on recreation fields adjacent to the Little River. Although sadly the permit has been granted, Russ and other staff from LCI attended many public hearings in our town. Russ asked all of the pertinent questions and supported opposing citizens 100%.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

I have known of the Lake Champlain International (LCI) Fishing Derby for some time now. However, I was unaware of what LCI was really all about until earlier this year when I had the opportunity to speak with Eric LaMontagne, Outreach Coordinator. After several meetings, we decided that the Vermont Beef Industry Council (VBIC) and LCI should partner up to grow a new marketing and promotional opportunity to leverage limited financial resources while promoting two great proteins...fish and beef, a surf and turf theme. The VBIC jumped on board to sponsor the LCI Fishing Derby that occurs on Father’s Day weekend. I am glad that we did!
The three-day event was organized, fueled by volunteers, great family fun, and I believe, successful.

As executive director, I challenged our board of directors to invest producer Check-Off dollars in the LCI Fishing Derby for the great exposure to an audience who already were hearty beef consumers. There was another reason to leverage Check-Off dollars. With time and education, we are able to demonstrate “cause and effect.” The VT Cattle Industry has, for well over a decade, made huge gains in collaborating with other industry partners like LCI to change management practices in an effort to restore our largest body of water, Lake Champlain to a pristine and livable lake for all to enjoy.

Vermont farmers are excellent stewards of the land and are working very hard to be responsible stewards of Lake Champlain and other lakes, ponds and streams because they recognize that water is non-renewable. We know today that there are many other sources of pollution to our water systems including towns, municipalities, the private sector and industries.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

LCI works tirelessly to protect Lake Champlain. They tell it like it is and do not mince words. Lake Champlain needs a group like LCI, and I am pleased to be a supporter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

Fantastic group of committed volunteers filling an important need. Professional staff stewarding limited resources. The proof is in the pudding. I am so proud to support their efforts.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

The Lake Champlain International is a unique Non-Profit in that its strength comes from the determination of the dedicated volunteers and the thousands of donors who join forces every year to promote the LCI through various events and Fishing Derbies.

It is through these events that the
good work of the LCI is spread via word of mouth across the map. Many of these events provide friends and families opportunities to partake in the beauty of Lake Champlain and feel the resolve to support the LCI in their work to protect this national resource.

My brother introduced me to the LCI 20 years ago and I have been Fishing the LCI Father’s Day Derby ever since. What was just a few of us is now a large group of people, husbands, wives, sons & daughters traveling to spend time together. This creates memories that we cherish and a bonding with the need to protect Lake Champlain for future generations.

The net of Fishing an LCI event is just this - Everyone Wins!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2011

more

January 11, 2011

Being native Vermonters, and now owning a small business that depends on a strong and healthy lake we need the fine folks at LCI more than ever. Our business is strongly influenced by the tireless efforts of everyone at LCI. Should anyone every have a question as to where to donate resources or time, you will never go wrong by getting involved with the outstanding folks at LCI.
To everyone involved with LCI, thanks for all you do!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Our business continues to grow each year with the growth of the LCI derby.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I had to make changes to this organization I would add more support staff to help them, as well as purchase a modest boat to allow the entire staff to tour the lake and visit boaters from time to time to explain what they do to help them enjoy a healthy lake.

December 11, 2010

more

December 11, 2010

Lake Champlain International is dedicated to improving the Lake so that all whom fish, swim and boat can do so throughout their lifetime. As a private donor, I have enjoyed our Lake Champlain for 40 years and wish to see our children understand the complexities and challenges of sustaining this Lake's water quality. Under the leadership of James Ehlers, the LCI Board and a dedicated staff, many citizens are coming to learn our responsibilities as stewards of Lake Champlain. It does take many concerned and educated villagers to raise a trout.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

educating lake-shore neighbors who are naive as to their landscaping habits and the resulting peril to our Lake's health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...think twice before I made any changes.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer