Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.920635
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

My husband and I live on Lake Champlain in the summer at Long Point in N. Ferrisburgh where I held a Board position 14 years and served as President of the Board for 8 yrs. Lake Champlain and agriculture define Long Point. The health of the Lake is critical to all of us who live beside, recreate in, and, drink waters from (as with the Champlain Water District) Lake Champlain. It defines our ecosystem on the west coast of Vermont! We have donated to some of, and listened to all of the major organizations in Vermont working toward the health of Lake Champlain. I believe that LCI has moved beyond studies and rhetoric to public education and outreach. I have seen LCI get into the hearts and heads of Vermonters, as no other single organization has, to help each one of us understand what we can each do to make a difference in the long term health of Lake Champlain and it's tributaries. BRAVO, LCI!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to help it raise more funds for educational outreach to get the word out on the Blue program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 17, 2014

more

June 17, 2014

After not fishing for 32 years I got hooked on Lake Champlain fishing last year. Ever since then I bought my boat last July after the LCI tournament. My goal this year was to fish the LCI for the first time. What a huge success , we caught a lot of Lake Trout and one beautiful Brown Trout. The quality of the fish was excellent with all the fish very fat and obviously well fed from all the baitfish in the lake.we also had very few lamprey marks on the fish we caught. Great organization doing an outstanding job to help preserve the fishery and environment of Lake Champlain. Submitted by Dale S.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 21, 2014

more

April 21, 2014

For anyone who loves the lake, this is an excellent resource.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 31, 2014

more

March 31, 2014

I am writing this review as a Vermont native, an avid fisherman of Lake Champlain and the tributaries, a local business man, and friend of Lake Champlain. The LCI is my favorite advocate group. Its all about fishing and water quality in Lake Champlain.
March 28, 2014

more

March 28, 2014

I was a member of The Burlington Board of Health for two terms, and during that time we worked on trying to educate the general public on the use of non pesticide products for their lawns and gardens, the P.O.P.E project. Last year my property was certified by LCI and I installed there logo sign on my front lawn..As a result many new family neighbors have inquired about the plaque and have initiated prevention of storm water runoff in their own yards. How cool is that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have witnessed the support that the LCI has provided to the Lake Champlain watershed for the past 20 years. I have been a participant in their derbies and have witnessed their outreach and and education efforts. It is truly remarkable the time and effort they put into developing and sustaining our region. We are very luck to have such a dedicated non-profit group looking out for our environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

Lake Champlain International was instrumental in thwarting an effort by some townhouse community members to reinstate the use of herbicides on the lawns. Ross Saxton, Director of Conservation and Education, responded to my request to speak at a board meeting to outline the negative a effects of pesticide use and to suggest alternatives as our community borders on a tributary to Lake Champlain. Mr. Saxton spoke knowledgeably and professionally with a calm demeanor which helped to defuse a contentious meeting. Mr. Saxton's presentation helped to persuade a few fence sitters to vote to abandon the use of pesticides. Thanks to Lake Champlain International for your efforts to improve the quality of Lake Champlain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only contact I have had with this organiztion has been positive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

LCI is a powerhouse of an organization working tirelessly for clean water, happy fish, and happy people. Their policy and advocacy work reaches out locally, regionally, and nationally with an articulate, thoughtful, timely, and unwavering voice. Vermonters are lucky to have LCI speaking on their behalf.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I appreciate the tireless efforts of this fine organization and James Ehlers in protecting Lake Champlain. Regular facebook postings by James keeps me well informed about important issues affecting water quality within the LC Basin. This work is crucial to our future quality of life!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

LCI is a great organization that cares about the greater good of Lake Champlain and its resources. Every year I go to the LCI to enjoy the natural beauty of Lake Champlain. If it wasn't for the restless efforts of the LCI lake Champlain would be nothing like it is today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer