Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.924535
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I have been an avid stream fisherman for most of my life. A couple of years ago I was fishing the Willoughby River in the spring and looked up and down the river and there was only 7 or 8 people fishing. Even more disturbing to me was that I was the youngest person on the river that day @ 66 years old. When I had an opportunity to work with 'LETS GO FISHING" - which teaches young kids the aspects and joys of fishing, I jumped at it. It's so rewarding to see the smiles on children's faces when you teach them how to properly tie knots or casting and catching with the back yard bass program. I am so glad that I am having an opportunity to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been volunteering with LCI's Let's Go Fishing! program for 2 years now. I took their training program because of my love of fishing and because I believe that our beautiful natural resources should be preserved and protected for future generations. This program does so much more than that. Let's Go Fishing ! encourages families to get into the outdoors and enjoy the sport of fishing together. It also teaches about ecology,habitat, ethics and all methods of legal fishing and the different types of gear.
All of the volunteers I have been fortunate to work with were knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
The Lake Champlain watershed is a special place and this program promotes the use and care and protection of it , while promoting the idea of families doing things together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a change. I would promote the idea of habitat protection, ethics and ecology more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

We recently moved to Vermont and I was lucky enough to get connected with LCI very quickly. They work tirelessly on the various & complex issues which impact the health of Lake Champlain. Lake health affects everyone in the Champlain basin but so many people remain uneducated about the impacts of their actions on the lake. LCI does a great job both in education and advocacy. I have been impressed with the frequency of their media coverage to help keep lake health in the forefront of everyone's minds. Keep up the good work! There's still much to do but you're making progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I have been volunteering with the LCI for the last 10 years. Over this time I have filled many roles from being a runner from station to station to organizing the Little anglers derby. I also volunteer as an instructor for The Lets Go Fishing kids program.It is through organizations like LCI that make a difference in bringing people and the environment together. I found over the years the the one organization to go to is the LCI. It has the organization to promote enviornmental issues and help solve the problems.
T. Karl Hubbard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I have volunteered many times with LCI, weighing and recording fish as well as running fish back to the water. The work of LCI is very important both in supporting the conservation of Lake Champlain as well as engaging the citizens as stewards of the lake. We need more organizations like LCI that work both with the people as well as scientists, government, and partners in order to collectively manage, conserve, and protect our clean and healthy waters and all the ecosystems that such support.

Thanks you LCI!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Let's Go Fishing! is a wonderful program to not only teach Vermont youth the joys of fishing, but also environmental ethics and responsibly, basic ecology, and works to foster a connection and respect for the great outdoors. As an environmental educator, it is great to see programs like this available to youth and families across the state. In a age of increasing disconnect from our the natural world, Let's Go Fishing works to restore that connection and respect for a life long connection to our local environments and natural worlds around us. Having lead a Let's Go Fishing workshop, I have seem first hand how the experience of exploring the world around us can influence a child, along with the whole family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I have volunteered for LCI on a number of occasions, As they say in their literature, they work hard for a "fishable, swimable, drinkable lake". All of their efforts are directed toward that end. They not only sponsor the enormously popular Lace Champlain International Fishing Derby every Fathers' Day Weekend, but they use the funds generated to increase their outreach into the entire lake watershed. I have helped with getting the word out about the "Blue" program, designed to help homeowners upgrade their properties to prevent runoff into the lake. I have also assisted with children's outreach and education. LCI is an organization focused on its goals. I am proud to be associated with it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

I have volunteered for LCI for several years now, starting with a little work over the Father's Day Fishing Derby 7 years ago, expanding to helping in the office for weekly for most of the year. I find the LCI people to be dedicated, hard-working, and great folks to work with. Lake Champlain is one of Vermont's best natural resources, and they work tirelessly to keep its beauty and use available to all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Lake Champlain International (LCI) volunteer for almost 2 years now and expect to be one for a long time coming. I have always been treated with the utmost respect by organizers and fellow volunteers. Whenever I've confirmed to a volunteer opportunity I was always met with strong guidance regarding my role at the event. I have found a clear understanding of their mission and sense of purpose in the community, to be quite powerful among event attendees. I look forward to many summer evenings on a swimmable, fishable, drinkable lake and I owe that in part to LCI.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
December 12, 2010

This organization is top notch from top to bottom. They reach out to everyone and promote family participation. LCI at the ballpark is one of my favorites for my young children and myself as a pare... more

October 26, 2012

The LCI is a dedicated group of people that help educate our community and stick up for a cleaner Lake Champlain. They represent not only anglers of the fishing community, but the public's best interest. It goes way beyond a fishing derby!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 12, 2010

This organization is top notch from top to bottom. They reach out to everyone and promote family participation. LCI at the ballpark is one of my favorites for my young children and myself as a parent proud to be associated with LCI and Bobber Bob. They have great programs that reach out to kids that are less fortunate and provide them with fishing rods and tackle and mentoring them to spark there interest in fishing. It's thru an activity like fishing that bonds family and kids that lasts a lifetime.



The folks that run this organization are some of the hardest working individuals and are very dedicated to it's success.



What LCI means to me is way beyond the stereo typical fishing derbies that are for profit. They lobby for sportsman and give everyone a common voice in the sportsman's best interest. Things like lamprey control are high on the list of projects that have improved Lake Champlain salmon / trout fishing to a world class fishery like the Great Lakes. James is a true steward and advocate for our lake. With his help and his LCI team future generations will look back at this golden age of our lake (2010 and beyond) and say he did all the right things to turn this ship around off course from years of neglect.



Thank you James and the LCI!



Ronald Winter





The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Many positive outcomes or results of the LCI that have affected my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None at this time.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer