Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.920635
Write A Review
June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I am writing this note from the perspective of a volunteer because that is how I came to be involved with this organization. I've been working with their Executive Director, James Ehlers, in collaboration with another non-profit and in the process I have found myself rapidly engaged with the mission and action of LCI. The staff at LCI are tireless in their advocacy of Swimmable, Fishable, Drinkable water and are incredibly creative in reaching out to "non-traditional stake holders" (that would be me). Any organization that can convince this non-fishing mom to volunteer for 10 hours at their Father's Day Derby has got to be pretty darn dynamic! Hats off to LCI - I look forward to working with you for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 27, 2014

more

April 27, 2014

A few months ago I became an LCI volunteer. I can say that everyone I have worked with so far has been fantastic. They are an enthusiastic and passionate at what they do. Every time I get a chance to help out they make sure I know my time spent helping is appreciated. I truly enjoy my time volunteering.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have been an LGF instructor for several years and since the LCI took the lead on the program it has become a very energetic and richly rewarding program. The LCI support and organization is second to none. Setting up clinics have become much simpler, comprehensive and more organized. I now have a network of contacts as well as numerous opportunities to jump in and help at other events. I find myself truly able to reach out to families and introduce them to the outdoors and fishing ensuring opportunities for future generations. Keep up the good work, LCI.
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I have been an instructor with The Let's Go Fishing Program for many, many years now and it's one of the most rewarding programs I've ever been associated with. The educational efforts by this program and the LCI in general are second to none. As an angler and Vermont resident, I feel very fortunate to have the LCI as a teacher, protector and advocate for Lake Champlain and I look forward being involved with them for a long time.

Jimmy Kennedy
April 24, 2014

more

April 24, 2014

I became a LCI volunteer last year. I decided to become a LCI volunteer because my parents both fished and showed me the thrill and joy of fishing at a very young age. They have both passed away, however, I wanted to pass on the knowledge and joy of fishing to our younger generation. It is a way to teach others how our natural resources can be and should be preserved and protected for future generations. Let's Go Fishing does this and then some. It teaches those who participate about the ecology,habitat, ethics and all methods of legal fishing. And most importantly it encourages families to get into the outdoors and enjoy the sport of fishing together.
August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I have been an avid stream fisherman for most of my life. A couple of years ago I was fishing the Willoughby River in the spring and looked up and down the river and there was only 7 or 8 people fishing. Even more disturbing to me was that I was the youngest person on the river that day @ 66 years old. When I had an opportunity to work with 'LETS GO FISHING" - which teaches young kids the aspects and joys of fishing, I jumped at it. It's so rewarding to see the smiles on children's faces when you teach them how to properly tie knots or casting and catching with the back yard bass program. I am so glad that I am having an opportunity to give back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

I have been volunteering with LCI's Let's Go Fishing! program for 2 years now. I took their training program because of my love of fishing and because I believe that our beautiful natural resources should be preserved and protected for future generations. This program does so much more than that. Let's Go Fishing ! encourages families to get into the outdoors and enjoy the sport of fishing together. It also teaches about ecology,habitat, ethics and all methods of legal fishing and the different types of gear.
All of the volunteers I have been fortunate to work with were knowledgeable and enthusiastic.
The Lake Champlain watershed is a special place and this program promotes the use and care and protection of it , while promoting the idea of families doing things together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a change. I would promote the idea of habitat protection, ethics and ecology more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013

more

July 22, 2013

We recently moved to Vermont and I was lucky enough to get connected with LCI very quickly. They work tirelessly on the various & complex issues which impact the health of Lake Champlain. Lake health affects everyone in the Champlain basin but so many people remain uneducated about the impacts of their actions on the lake. LCI does a great job both in education and advocacy. I have been impressed with the frequency of their media coverage to help keep lake health in the forefront of everyone's minds. Keep up the good work! There's still much to do but you're making progress.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I have been volunteering with the LCI for the last 10 years. Over this time I have filled many roles from being a runner from station to station to organizing the Little anglers derby. I also volunteer as an instructor for The Lets Go Fishing kids program.It is through organizations like LCI that make a difference in bringing people and the environment together. I found over the years the the one organization to go to is the LCI. It has the organization to promote enviornmental issues and help solve the problems.
T. Karl Hubbard

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I have volunteered many times with LCI, weighing and recording fish as well as running fish back to the water. The work of LCI is very important both in supporting the conservation of Lake Champlain as well as engaging the citizens as stewards of the lake. We need more organizations like LCI that work both with the people as well as scientists, government, and partners in order to collectively manage, conserve, and protect our clean and healthy waters and all the ecosystems that such support.

Thanks you LCI!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer