Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
54 Reviews
1234.925935
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

I have known of the Lake Champlain International (LCI) Fishing Derby for some time now. However, I was unaware of what LCI was really all about until earlier this year when I had the opportunity to speak with Eric LaMontagne, Outreach Coordinator. After several meetings, we decided that the Vermont Beef Industry Council (VBIC) and LCI should partner up to grow a new marketing and promotional opportunity to leverage limited financial resources while promoting two great proteins...fish and beef, a surf and turf theme. The VBIC jumped on board to sponsor the LCI Fishing Derby that occurs on Father’s Day weekend. I am glad that we did!
The three-day event was organized, fueled by volunteers, great family fun, and I believe, successful.

As executive director, I challenged our board of directors to invest producer Check-Off dollars in the LCI Fishing Derby for the great exposure to an audience who already were hearty beef consumers. There was another reason to leverage Check-Off dollars. With time and education, we are able to demonstrate “cause and effect.” The VT Cattle Industry has, for well over a decade, made huge gains in collaborating with other industry partners like LCI to change management practices in an effort to restore our largest body of water, Lake Champlain to a pristine and livable lake for all to enjoy.

Vermont farmers are excellent stewards of the land and are working very hard to be responsible stewards of Lake Champlain and other lakes, ponds and streams because they recognize that water is non-renewable. We know today that there are many other sources of pollution to our water systems including towns, municipalities, the private sector and industries.


More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

I have volunteered many times with LCI, weighing and recording fish as well as running fish back to the water. The work of LCI is very important both in supporting the conservation of Lake Champlain as well as engaging the citizens as stewards of the lake. We need more organizations like LCI that work both with the people as well as scientists, government, and partners in order to collectively manage, conserve, and protect our clean and healthy waters and all the ecosystems that such support.

Thanks you LCI!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 8, 2013

more

July 8, 2013

Let's Go Fishing! is a wonderful program to not only teach Vermont youth the joys of fishing, but also environmental ethics and responsibly, basic ecology, and works to foster a connection and respect for the great outdoors. As an environmental educator, it is great to see programs like this available to youth and families across the state. In a age of increasing disconnect from our the natural world, Let's Go Fishing works to restore that connection and respect for a life long connection to our local environments and natural worlds around us. Having lead a Let's Go Fishing workshop, I have seem first hand how the experience of exploring the world around us can influence a child, along with the whole family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

Lake Champlain International was instrumental in thwarting an effort by some townhouse community members to reinstate the use of herbicides on the lawns. Ross Saxton, Director of Conservation and Education, responded to my request to speak at a board meeting to outline the negative a effects of pesticide use and to suggest alternatives as our community borders on a tributary to Lake Champlain. Mr. Saxton spoke knowledgeably and professionally with a calm demeanor which helped to defuse a contentious meeting. Mr. Saxton's presentation helped to persuade a few fence sitters to vote to abandon the use of pesticides. Thanks to Lake Champlain International for your efforts to improve the quality of Lake Champlain.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only contact I have had with this organiztion has been positive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I have volunteered for LCI on a number of occasions, As they say in their literature, they work hard for a "fishable, swimable, drinkable lake". All of their efforts are directed toward that end. They not only sponsor the enormously popular Lace Champlain International Fishing Derby every Fathers' Day Weekend, but they use the funds generated to increase their outreach into the entire lake watershed. I have helped with getting the word out about the "Blue" program, designed to help homeowners upgrade their properties to prevent runoff into the lake. I have also assisted with children's outreach and education. LCI is an organization focused on its goals. I am proud to be associated with it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

LCI is a powerhouse of an organization working tirelessly for clean water, happy fish, and happy people. Their policy and advocacy work reaches out locally, regionally, and nationally with an articulate, thoughtful, timely, and unwavering voice. Vermonters are lucky to have LCI speaking on their behalf.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

I have volunteered for LCI for several years now, starting with a little work over the Father's Day Fishing Derby 7 years ago, expanding to helping in the office for weekly for most of the year. I find the LCI people to be dedicated, hard-working, and great folks to work with. Lake Champlain is one of Vermont's best natural resources, and they work tirelessly to keep its beauty and use available to all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I appreciate the tireless efforts of this fine organization and James Ehlers in protecting Lake Champlain. Regular facebook postings by James keeps me well informed about important issues affecting water quality within the LC Basin. This work is crucial to our future quality of life!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

LCI works tirelessly to protect Lake Champlain. They tell it like it is and do not mince words. Lake Champlain needs a group like LCI, and I am pleased to be a supporter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

LCI is a great organization that cares about the greater good of Lake Champlain and its resources. Every year I go to the LCI to enjoy the natural beauty of Lake Champlain. If it wasn't for the restless efforts of the LCI lake Champlain would be nothing like it is today.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist at one of our fishing-related fundraising events with the weighing of fish, assist in the office with data entry, assist at one of our children's outreach events, organize a letter-writing campaign to public officials Volunteer