Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe is the first professional dance company with which I danced in the 1980's. The experience pushed me past the level I ever pushed myself and I am certainly better for it. The company was very professional. I'll never forget the discipline and energy that Sis. Rfuaw had then and still has and how I so much wanted to be like her! I still know what my body can do, and am grateful for the experience. Sis. Rfuaw and Queen Mother Suma are my forever family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 15, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe, was my very first experience with dance and culture. It was a life changing experience. Everything they have ever taught me is still in my heart today. The African culture I learn while attending classes and as a performer really helped me to be the person I am today. I am going to participate in upcoming community projects and preparing to audition to be apart of the dance company. Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe is a really great organization to be a part of.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing but I would help them raise funds to get a place to call home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 11, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I've danced with Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe several times throughout my 45 year and I have truly enjoyed the knowledge and energy shared by Rfuaw, the Instructor. She is one of the few Master Dance American teachers born here in the United States. She teaches African dance as well as drumming and her son was a Master drummer at a young age .I've seen many African dance instructors throughout my life but very very few can come close to her knowledge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring them to where I live now, LOL.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 4, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I took a class and enjoyed myself so much I set up a workshop for my Women's Day Program. The Women enjoyed the workshop so much we then set up a community exercise class for six weeks. We cannot afford to pay what it is worth and the value that you get from Laini Kuumba/Sis Rfuaw.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

December 4, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Laini Kuumba is an organization that does good and ethical work in the New Orleans community, particularly those that have been disenfranchised in certain ways. They support the community by providing space for healing and comfort. As an organization, they do not just work as a typical non-profit because many regard Laini Kuumba as family. They truly exemplify unity and upliftment to oppressed people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe has played an active role in the positive development of many communities in Louisiana & Texas. The programming and community out reach has benefited people from new born to our seniors. For years this organization provides after school programs for public school students as well as teach home school from pre-k to 6th grades.

Additionally, Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe provides meal for the homeless and underserved communities of the greater New Orleans area.

Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe is a beacon of light on this sometimes dark world.

Arlean J. Edwards, CEO/President
The Talking It Up Show, Inc

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make would be to provide additionaly funding for further outreach.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

As a forty-eight years practitioner of the martial arts... Lani Kuumba Ngoma Troupe of New Orleans, Louisiana help transcend and enlighten my skills, insight, knowledge as well that of my students. They connected the dots culturally and spiritually that have taken my heart my love my health and my life to greater distant heights that I never thought was possible or attainable. If you are serious about getting to know and understand that man or woman in the mirror, Lani Kuumba Ngoma Troupe is the answer, they are the solution... As always I wish them beautiful sunrises and sunsets, to continuously illuminate their path and inspire their life journey...
Attest:
Imgi Mustafa Salahuddin

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Laini Kuumba Ngoma Troupe has played an active role in the positive development of many communites. They're programming and community out reach has benifitted people from 1 day old to 110 years old. They're service has been the " cup of chicken soup" to many underserved people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

This organization is a great asset to Louisiana. I check their Facebook page often to keep myself informed and educated. The work they do is priceless!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

Laini Kuumba Ngoupe Troupe, is a well established organization. It gives genuine support and concern to the New Orleans Arts community. There is no discrimination of anyone, all are welcomed. I have been volunteering with them for over an year and I Love it! I had no experience with dance nor gardening but with music and was willing to help any way I could. The staff were very excited for me to share my talents and experiences with Laini Kuumba Ngoupe Troupe. LKNT IS THE BEST!! WHO DAT!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes to this organization. I would like if they were provided appropriate space to reach more youth in the New Orleans community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers