Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a beneficiary of grants from the Fire Department Foundation, all of us at Fire Station 46, located in South Los Angeles, are grateful for the work of the foundation. They have been able to provide items as small as dishes, tree trimming equipment to provide security for our fire station, shop vac, tools for maintaining fire department equipment, a washing machine to wash our work uniforms at work so we are not bringing contaminated clothes home to our family, flashlights for everyone and a large-screen television/monitor for our training room. Whether the answer is “yes” or “no,” the foundation responds quickly. the Firefighter Foundation has made a huge impact on the ability for our fire station to do its job in an efficient and safe manner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Los Angeles Fire Department personnel recently created and delivered an "LAFD Wounded Warrior Weekend" hosting 30 wounded veterans for a weekend of activities in the Los Angeles area. The young men and women who sustained injuries in Iraq and Afghanistan were treated to an awards banquet, USC football game with tailgate lunch/dinner and visits to LA area fire stations.

The LA Fire Foundation supported the weekend event and supported the Wounded Warriors by providing badly needed logistical support and administrative expertise. They did so with only one call and were instrumental in a successful event.

The event was an overwhelming success and received accolades from the wounded veterans who participated and gave so much for their country. We look forward to partnering with the LA Fire Foundation next year for a repeat of what is sure to become an annual event.

Mike Castillo, Captain
Los Angeles Fire Department

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing at all. They are responsive, nimble and respond to our needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

AS a Captain for the LAFD I count on the LAFD Foundation to help us with our youth programs. The financial support has kept our programs running and helped students who might have been drawn to gangs in our inner city and poor areas. Instead these students become cadets in our FIRE academy and graduate high school. Most go on to college and some become firefighters for the department.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The Fire Foundation is doing a fantastic job assisting the LAFD. I am the Battalion Chief in charge of Grants for the Department. As a project manager, I needed a laptop and software to give my staff the ability to track the 93 projects we manage for the LAFD. The Fire Foundation was there. Immediately they processed my request, and worked with our IT Department to facilitate the right software that was compatible with our current systems. Thank you so much. I could not facilitate all of the Federal Grant funding without it. Karen and Diana have been amazing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

While the normal budget process addresses most of the Fire Department's needs, there is an increasing deficit in specialty equipment funds. And when other funding sources fall short, the Fire Foundation answers the call... As the Commander of the LAFD's elite Air Operations Section, I have had several recent occasions to request the Foundation's assistance with major project funding. From the personal response of Foundation President Karen Wagener to the professional approach of prioritizing requests - the value of our relationship with the Foundation is immeasurable. To the Directors, Board and Staff of the Fire Foundation - a heartfelt thanks for supporting the Air Operatns Section.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

For the last two years I have served as the Fire Department’s liaison to the foundation. Their board of directors and staff are committed to the mission of the LAFD and to supporting us with needed equipment, technology, training and youth programs. Members and staff of the Fire Department love working with the foundation and appreciate all they do to support us. Our community is more aware of the work of the department because of the visibility we get from the foundation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2012

more

April 3, 2012

As the program director of our LAFD Youth Academy and a captain for the LAFD - I have had several of my requests funded through the LAFD Foundation. They have always come through for us. It may be buying gear for our students or lunch for our cadets ~ we know we can count on the support. Our cadets have also learned a great deal from the volunteer activities as well. THANKS!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers