Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I have seen at Foundation events how the Foundation makes a difference by collecting money from donors, buying necessary equipment which the City budget doesn't provide and providing support for the Department. The events are professionally handled, including demonstrations by the Fire Department personnel. I am confident that my donations are being well spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

We have partnered with Karen Wagener and Diana Soukounian since 2011. We assist LAFDF by helping to produce their fund-raising events. We also produce their Medal of Valor Awards Luncheon. Working closely with the Foundation is a joy - not only because these two individuals are dedicated to their cause but also because the men and women of the Los Angeles Fire Department are so very deserving of the grants, materials and programs provided by the Foundation. In this day and age, with city, state and federal budgets being drastically cut, it is with great pride that we assist the Foundation raise money to provide equipment and services to a department that risks their bodies and lives to serve the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a beneficiary of grants from the Fire Department Foundation, all of us at Fire Station 46, located in South Los Angeles, are grateful for the work of the foundation. They have been able to provide items as small as dishes, tree trimming equipment to provide security for our fire station, shop vac, tools for maintaining fire department equipment, a washing machine to wash our work uniforms at work so we are not bringing contaminated clothes home to our family, flashlights for everyone and a large-screen television/monitor for our training room. Whether the answer is “yes” or “no,” the foundation responds quickly. the Firefighter Foundation has made a huge impact on the ability for our fire station to do its job in an efficient and safe manner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I became familiar with the work of the Los Angeles Fire Department (LAFD) Foundation through Jay Grodin, Chairman of the LAFD Foundation board of directors. I learned that the LAFD Foundation is a superb non-profit organization that helps the LAFD meet numerous unmet needs due to budgetary shortfalls. Because of the tremendous service provided by this Foundation and their outstanding board of directions and staff, i accepted an invitation to join their board. The capabilities of the LAFD have been enhanced thanks to the Foundation funding training and numerous items such as 83 stair chairs for moving sick and injured individuals down stairs and steep slopes. Again, the Los Angeles Fire Department Foundation is a superb non-profit that has made a difference for the Los Angeles Fire Department. I am proud to be a member of their board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to work closely with Karen Wagener and Diana Soukounian on the 2013 LAFD Medal of Valor Awards Ceremony and Luncheon. The LAFD Foundation was wonderful to work with, providing timely and informative communications throughout the entire process so that we could get the word out to the media about this special event. I would highly recommend working with this wonderful organization, as it is evident that they truly care about the firefighters who work so hard to protect us, day in and day out. Wonderful organization, great cause, and hard-working people behind it all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

LAFD Foundation identifies fundraising objectives through a holistic, team approach. And I can attest that they recruit their donors and volunteers with the same approach. I met the Foundation team at one of their events and was taken by their enthusiasm, inclusiveness, sincerity. I’ve been proud to be a volunteer – staffing events, meeting with street-level donors – ever since. Many in LA assume that our tax dollars are sufficient to keep us safe. The Foundation daily meets incredulity and downright disbelief. That they are able to raise awareness with grace, hard work, and incredible style is a joy to behold. This past year the Foundations’ campaigns have gained additional attention with the production of a documentary and coverage by local broadcast media featuring the Foundation. It’s been a privilege to be able to help this amazing team as they support one of LA’s greatest institutions. And most of all they seem to think their best reward having a member of LAFD call out, hey, thank you so much for the flashlight, the computer, the chairs, the hose, thank you so much!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

As a banker for the LAFD Foundation I became aware of struggles that the Los Angeles Fire Department face. Through volunteering at events and attending board member meetings I learned about challanges and shortages at local fire stations that I couldn't even imagine existed. The LAFD Foundation is able to address specific needs of local fire stations and assist stations with protecting the coomunity. My time will always be available for this cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Los Angeles Fire Department personnel recently created and delivered an "LAFD Wounded Warrior Weekend" hosting 30 wounded veterans for a weekend of activities in the Los Angeles area. The young men and women who sustained injuries in Iraq and Afghanistan were treated to an awards banquet, USC football game with tailgate lunch/dinner and visits to LA area fire stations.

The LA Fire Foundation supported the weekend event and supported the Wounded Warriors by providing badly needed logistical support and administrative expertise. They did so with only one call and were instrumental in a successful event.

The event was an overwhelming success and received accolades from the wounded veterans who participated and gave so much for their country. We look forward to partnering with the LA Fire Foundation next year for a repeat of what is sure to become an annual event.

Mike Castillo, Captain
Los Angeles Fire Department

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing at all. They are responsive, nimble and respond to our needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

AS a Captain for the LAFD I count on the LAFD Foundation to help us with our youth programs. The financial support has kept our programs running and helped students who might have been drawn to gangs in our inner city and poor areas. Instead these students become cadets in our FIRE academy and graduate high school. Most go on to college and some become firefighters for the department.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

As a former Fire Commissioner, I am more aware than most people of the needs of the Los Angeles Fire Department. As Chairman of the Fire Department Foundation board of directors, it is my privilege to meet some of those needs. I am well supported by the staff of the foundation, and impressed with their dedication to our mission. The foundation and the fire department are functioning more and more as a team. The process is thoughtful and fun. We are a young organization, but growing and moving in the right direction.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers