Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

I’ve been associated with the LAFD Foundation since they were formed four years ago. The way they communicate with donors and the way they get the biggest value for the fire department are impressive. They help our city in an important area of need.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

The LAFD Foundation has been a tremendous asset to the Los Angeles Fire Department. The Foundation has succeeded in supporting the needs of the LAFD where the city's budget falls short in areas such as training, safety equipment, and public outreach. With the support of the LAFD Foundation, the Los Angeles Fire Department recently launched a modern, user friendly ADA compliant website that meets the needs of the community and the members of the LAFD. Thank you to everyone at the Foundation for all of your hard work and thank you to everyone who has so generously supported their mission.
September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

This is an amazing organization that has transformed and greatly improved LAFD's visibility in the community and how the community can give/donate to LAFD in a more direct, meaningful and lasting way. They are a small team but they make a HUGE impact in the lives of firefighters every single day!
August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Based on my first-hand experience with the LAFDF, I can unequivocably say that not only does the Foundation serve an incredibly crucial role in the fabric of the LA community, it is also helmed by individuals who are deeply committed to the cause, and the work they do for that cause. While most of the public may not understand the Foundation's importance in meeting the needs of LA's courageous first-responders, they benefit from the Foundation's service each and every day. The LAFDF is one of Los Angeles's truly unsung heroes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help the Foundation figure out additional ways it might educate the public about -- and mobilize donations for -- the critically important ways the LAFDF protects public safety.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked directly with the LAFDF for eight months, and have rarely encountered a group of more concerted, committed people. Still in its infancy and with the capacity to go much, much further, the foundation has a clear mission and the necessary passion to support LAFD's firefighters for the long run. And they need it: The LAFD is critically underfunded. The foundation's president, Karen Wagener, is a tornado of committed energy, always willing to go the extra distance to generate the support needed to make a difference for these local heroes. I've witnessed enough of these kinds of foundations to recognize the great ones, and the LAFDF is exactly that. Please support them today!
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I have been a proud member of this Board for well over a year. I was drawn to serving the Foundation for a number of reasons, including the dedication of Karen Wagener and the absolute commitment of LAFD Foundation to enhancing the capabilities of the women and men of the LA Fire Department and therefore their effectiveness here in our community. Whether it is providing equipment such as brush helmets for the department (especially important during this drought) or stair chairs to be used in medical emergency situations -- or helping to improve department readiness and fitness through donations of gym equipment -- the LAFD Foundation provides much needed support for this vital City service. In times of declining City budgets, the Foundation is needed now more than ever.
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I have seen at Foundation events how the Foundation makes a difference by collecting money from donors, buying necessary equipment which the City budget doesn't provide and providing support for the Department. The events are professionally handled, including demonstrations by the Fire Department personnel. I am confident that my donations are being well spent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

We have partnered with Karen Wagener and Diana Soukounian since 2011. We assist LAFDF by helping to produce their fund-raising events. We also produce their Medal of Valor Awards Luncheon. Working closely with the Foundation is a joy - not only because these two individuals are dedicated to their cause but also because the men and women of the Los Angeles Fire Department are so very deserving of the grants, materials and programs provided by the Foundation. In this day and age, with city, state and federal budgets being drastically cut, it is with great pride that we assist the Foundation raise money to provide equipment and services to a department that risks their bodies and lives to serve the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

As a beneficiary of grants from the Fire Department Foundation, all of us at Fire Station 46, located in South Los Angeles, are grateful for the work of the foundation. They have been able to provide items as small as dishes, tree trimming equipment to provide security for our fire station, shop vac, tools for maintaining fire department equipment, a washing machine to wash our work uniforms at work so we are not bringing contaminated clothes home to our family, flashlights for everyone and a large-screen television/monitor for our training room. Whether the answer is “yes” or “no,” the foundation responds quickly. the Firefighter Foundation has made a huge impact on the ability for our fire station to do its job in an efficient and safe manner.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I became familiar with the work of the Los Angeles Fire Department (LAFD) Foundation through Jay Grodin, Chairman of the LAFD Foundation board of directors. I learned that the LAFD Foundation is a superb non-profit organization that helps the LAFD meet numerous unmet needs due to budgetary shortfalls. Because of the tremendous service provided by this Foundation and their outstanding board of directions and staff, i accepted an invitation to join their board. The capabilities of the LAFD have been enhanced thanks to the Foundation funding training and numerous items such as 83 stair chairs for moving sick and injured individuals down stairs and steep slopes. Again, the Los Angeles Fire Department Foundation is a superb non-profit that has made a difference for the Los Angeles Fire Department. I am proud to be a member of their board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers