Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
April 3, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2014

In all of my years volunteering for different organizations, LaAmistad has been the most well run, positive, consistent program I have come across. The attention to detail, follow-up, volunteer information and concern for each student is phenomenal. This is a wonderful organization and I can only hope I can find the equivalent on the west coast.

Thank you for the opportunity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

When I knew about LaAmistad I was very impressed. The work and effort that this organization does isn't only organized and efficient but it is also done with love towards the children of the Hispanic community. They are always on the hunt to offer more afterschool programs so that they can exercise their love for soccer and other sports. The kids of LaAmistad are very talented children with a lot of potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

This was my first time participating in LaAmistad, and I can just say it was a absolutely wonderful expirence! As you get to know the children you develop a sort of attatchement to them. Helping them be able to succeed and being able to let them have the same opportunity to do great things, which is paramount in this non-profitable organization. I would love to be a volunteer again and see how far the kids have come from just one year ago! (:

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have volunteered with many nonprofits. But with LaAmistad, I can actually see the impact of the tutoring program on the students as the year progresses. Volunteers receive direct feedback from parents, teachers and other volunteers. We know our successes when we see the improved grades at school. The program is so well organized. The volunteers love it and so do the children. They hate to miss a day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I cannot overstate the positive elements of LaAmistad and its very capable director. It has been a privilege to be part of this program for the past two years and actually see young lives being transformed. If anyone questions the merits of this program I would recommend that they shadow one of the classes next fall and experience LaAmistad in action!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have just completed my first year as a volunteer at La Amasted. I tutored 5th greaders. I have been blown away by the quality of this program and the lasting effect it will have on these wonderful, bright children and their families. As a volunteer you are rewarded instantly as you see the bright smiles and giggles as your kids grasp new concepts. These children are truly amazing. The positive support they get here spreads to their homes and schools. It shows in their report cards as they continually out pace their fellow students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have enjoyed volunteering for a number of organizations in Atlanta; however, none have been as well organized and engaging as LaAmistad. The program is phenomenal! There are any number of ways to become involved and the program leaders make it extremely easy to find your niche. Volunteers are supported with training, supplies and pertinent information. You can give as much or as little of your time and talent as you wish-all is appreciated. Everyone is enthusiastic and extremely welcoming. It is a place where you not only help the community but make wonderful friends. I choose to help with after school study hall once a week. The children come in our classroom so excited and appreciative of the help they receive. LaAmistad fosters a genuine desire to learn and succeed in every child. As a volunteer you really get to know the children's learning strengths and weaknesses as you work with them one-on-one. More importantly, you get to know them as young people, as members of our community who really need and thrive with our support. I can not imagine anything more rewarding than the hugs I receive from the LaAmistad children or the thrill of sharing their enthusiasm for learning. I would highly recommend this program for anyone who can make time to give to our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

LaAmistad creates an amazing place for these smart, enthusiastic kids to learn and get tutoring help. Their initiative and love of learning always seems clear, and the library, extensive selection of games, and organized plans help these goals to be met. The kids are bright and LaAmistad does a great job of helping to feed their educational needs. Although my schedule was busy during the week, I found LaAmistad to be flexible and enjoyable, with plenty of different opportunities to volunteer and ways to help. Instead of feeling uncomfortable or hesitant as a new volunteer, I was welcomed and quickly shown how I could help. It felt great and I could tell that my presence was valued immediately through both the kindness of the staff and the enthusiasm of the kids themselves. Although they seek out the games, they easily settle into learning and follow any lesson or instructions. LaAmistad is a wonderful organization which greatly helps these kids every single day, making it an incredible place to volunteer and form connections with the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I arrived back home after living abroad for 2 years, adjusting to Atlanta as a brand new business professional. I wanted a way to stay connected and involved in the Hispanic community and La Amistad did not disappoint. It's very well organized, the kids are taught manners from the beginning, you feel like you're making a difference by helping them with their homework and just spending some quality time. Each volunteer plays a unique and important role. To sum, I highly recommend taking a look at them if you'd like to make a real difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Tutor a child Volunteer