Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
April 3, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2014

In all of my years volunteering for different organizations, LaAmistad has been the most well run, positive, consistent program I have come across. The attention to detail, follow-up, volunteer information and concern for each student is phenomenal. This is a wonderful organization and I can only hope I can find the equivalent on the west coast.

Thank you for the opportunity!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2012

more

July 1, 2012

When I knew about LaAmistad I was very impressed. The work and effort that this organization does isn't only organized and efficient but it is also done with love towards the children of the Hispanic community. They are always on the hunt to offer more afterschool programs so that they can exercise their love for soccer and other sports. The kids of LaAmistad are very talented children with a lot of potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2012

more

June 30, 2012

This was my first time participating in LaAmistad, and I can just say it was a absolutely wonderful expirence! As you get to know the children you develop a sort of attatchement to them. Helping them be able to succeed and being able to let them have the same opportunity to do great things, which is paramount in this non-profitable organization. I would love to be a volunteer again and see how far the kids have come from just one year ago! (:

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I have volunteered with many nonprofits. But with LaAmistad, I can actually see the impact of the tutoring program on the students as the year progresses. Volunteers receive direct feedback from parents, teachers and other volunteers. We know our successes when we see the improved grades at school. The program is so well organized. The volunteers love it and so do the children. They hate to miss a day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I do I.T. support for LaAmistad at my church. From what I have seen, the kids in the LaAmistad program are always smiling and seem so happy to be in the program. It is important for our children to be educated and nurtured. They are the future of the human race and are a gift from God!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Our school is lucky to be a part of LaAmistad. I have witnessed first hand the postive impact this program has on our students. Students are given tutoring and enrichment opportunities on a daily basis. The LaAmistad staff works with our staff to meet the needs of our students. Teachers are able to communicate directly with the volunteers. It is a great resource for our school.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

As a volunteer and board member, I see how LaAmistad transforms so many lives - children and families. The after school program - for Latin American and other "first generation" students - provides invaluable tutoring, mentoring, sports, and other personal enrichment programs. The successful results of this program in impacting lives are quantifiably documented. LaAmistad also provides preschool enrollment for numerous children and offers a variety of adult education classes. "English for Successful Living" classes help meet the widespread demand for the acquisition of the English language, so families can live more fulfilling lives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

Our school works closely with La Amistad at the individual level and at the organizational level. La Amistad's positive effect and lasting impact for families is clear.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I cannot overstate the positive elements of LaAmistad and its very capable director. It has been a privilege to be part of this program for the past two years and actually see young lives being transformed. If anyone questions the merits of this program I would recommend that they shadow one of the classes next fall and experience LaAmistad in action!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

LaAmistad recognizes that all children have potential and are important to our future but not all children have the support needed to excel in their schoolwork outside the classroom. LaAmistad provides a focused set of after school services primarily for Latino and other "first-generation" children whose parents may not yet be able to assist them with their studies. LaAmistad does not stop there, however, as they also provides and, in some cases, requires similar educations services for the parents such that they can alter the environment for their children in a positive way. The success of LaAmistad can be seen in the children themselves and the standardized test scores they achieve are remarkable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the children during their after school workday.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

scale it faster to other parts of the country that could benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Church

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Quality replication of the program to expand capacity.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Make a measurable difference in the families that take advantage of this service such that they can become positive contributors to our country.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Tutor a child Volunteer