Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
47 Reviews
1234.702135
Write A Review
July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

LRFF under the compassionate and dedicated leadership of Roberta Ward Smiley and Daniel Wilson, along with their many amazing volunteers, are bringing about necessary and measurable results. Not only do they positively impact the reforestation in Costa Rica, they are educating and inspiring countless others around the world to embark on similar efforts to help restore our precious planet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide funding for the administration to expand the collaborative potential and create satellite chapters to establish with other reforestation groups around the globe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Awesome people doing awesome things. A great experience to be a part of the organization and surrounded by positive energy and influential people.
September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

La Reserva Forest Foundation (LRFF) in Tilaran/Costa Rica.... founded by Roberta Ward Smiley and Daniel Spreen Wilson and helped by their local VolunteerTeam and many Volunteers from all over The Globe to restore and preserve the Rainforest in Costa Rica. Roberta, Daniel and their volunteers show us a passionate care & love for Mother Earth and their grand enthusiasm in planting young trees to create this brandnew Rainforest and adding their contribution for the " Good " of Planet Earth! Not only having Heart for Mother Nature but also for their inhabitants in many ways! Connected with LRFF and their great Mission some years ago via The Love Foundationgroup and wishing to them lots of more young trees from People all over the Globe to keep the lungs of Planet Earth clean and all its good effects!
September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Like all those people who came and vanished through the passing of time You Roberta with your love of nature ...hands and greasy elbows .... commit in doing what many don't .....You make deserts bloom ......
Good planets are hard to find keep up the good work with La
Riserva..................................
November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

me ha ayudado a hacer algo importe y bueno para el planeta y que ay que ayudarlo siempre porque es lo mas hermoso que dios nos ha dado :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

la reserva es una excelente fundacion que ayuda a reforetar los bosques de la zona

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

As a retiree living in Costa Rica, I found myself looking for a volunteer opportunity. Happily, I went to La Reserva!! I found inspiration, friendship and a small group of dedicated folks determined to reforest and restore the natural world - while endlessly and creatively seeking funding. If our planet can be saved from the ravages of humanity, La Reserva will be among the most influential! Micaela

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 12, 2012

I first experienced the work of La Reserva Forest Foundation 6 years ago on a tour through their preserve with Roberta Ward Smiley, founder, as my guide. What she helped me see was that small changes ... more

October 17, 2012

A real grass-roots organization, LRFF puts all its efforts into planting trees and protecting existing forested areas. We have planted over 100,000 trees in the 6 years we've been in existence and have plans in the works to plant another 70,000! We are helping combat global climate change, protecting water sheds, providing biological corridors for migratory animals, and educating people about the critical role tropical forests play in the health of our planet.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

I first experienced the work of La Reserva Forest Foundation 6 years ago on a tour through their preserve with Roberta Ward Smiley, founder, as my guide. What she helped me see was that small changes in the environment have a huge impact on all surrounding life. The growth of LRFF over the past few years has been impressive, the most recent project put 38,000 trees in the ground in an area that will improve the lives of flora & fauna and the indigenous people living there. I appreciate being able to work for a non-profit where I know monies raised are NOT being used for advertising or fund-raising but are going directly to reforestation efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2011

La Reserva has the simple mission of planting trees to help heal the earth. Last year they planted 10,000 trees, this year plans are in the works to triple that number. La Reserva works with local farmers, foreign born residents, and indigenous people - whoever wants to join in the campaign to reforest areas with native species and to preserve existing forests.
The dedication of LRFF Founders, Roberta Ward Smiley and Dan Spreen Wilson are an inspiration They embody selfless devotion to their work. Tours through the La Reserva preserve in Costa Rica have transformed the lives of many among whom I am happy to take my place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the amazing diversity of animals that have come into the La Reserva Forest Preserve simply because of the increase in habitat. Watching it grow from a group planting a few hundred trees in a year to one which plants thousands.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find firm, long-term funding for them so that they could continue their amazing work.

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Working at La Reserva was the best experience of my life and I feel privileged to have been apart of the wonderful work they do every single day. During my time there I got to see first hand the importance of La Reservas work and work with the people, like the Maleku, whom the charity helps support. I learnt about forest regeneration at all levels and how imperative it is we support the natural regeneration of tropical forests as La Reserva does. I can't recommend this organisation, its work and members enough - if you can support it in anyway it will be one of the best things you do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I have been working as a volunteer with La Reserva Forest Foundation for almost 3 months now. I have learned and seen alot about this great organisation. The dedication to reforest and preserve the tropical forests is amazing. The people that work here and that work with us are inspiring. La Reserva recently reforested an area near the Rio Sol, its a corridor for flora and fauna to migrate and spread to different locations. These corridors are of high importance and La Reserva is doing a great job creating these corridors. Next to creating corridors and slowly reforesting the world, La Reserva helps the local and/or indiginous people by providing jobs in helping maintaning these reforested areas. Also La Reserva helps in educating those who are involved or interested in reforestation and preservation. I have gain great insights of what I would like to work with in the future. Preserving the worlds tropical forests can be done by giving forests a higher economic value than its destructive values (timber, agriculture), in my opinion carbon sequestration is a great solution. I would highly recommend this organisation to any other future volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers