Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
1234.744195
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

me ha ayudado a hacer algo importe y bueno para el planeta y que ay que ayudarlo siempre porque es lo mas hermoso que dios nos ha dado :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

la reserva es una excelente fundacion que ayuda a reforetar los bosques de la zona

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

As a retiree living in Costa Rica, I found myself looking for a volunteer opportunity. Happily, I went to La Reserva!! I found inspiration, friendship and a small group of dedicated folks determined to reforest and restore the natural world - while endlessly and creatively seeking funding. If our planet can be saved from the ravages of humanity, La Reserva will be among the most influential! Micaela

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 12, 2012

I first experienced the work of La Reserva Forest Foundation 6 years ago on a tour through their preserve with Roberta Ward Smiley, founder, as my guide. What she helped me see was that small changes ... more

October 17, 2012

A real grass-roots organization, LRFF puts all its efforts into planting trees and protecting existing forested areas. We have planted over 100,000 trees in the 6 years we've been in existence and have plans in the works to plant another 70,000! We are helping combat global climate change, protecting water sheds, providing biological corridors for migratory animals, and educating people about the critical role tropical forests play in the health of our planet.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2012

I first experienced the work of La Reserva Forest Foundation 6 years ago on a tour through their preserve with Roberta Ward Smiley, founder, as my guide. What she helped me see was that small changes in the environment have a huge impact on all surrounding life. The growth of LRFF over the past few years has been impressive, the most recent project put 38,000 trees in the ground in an area that will improve the lives of flora & fauna and the indigenous people living there. I appreciate being able to work for a non-profit where I know monies raised are NOT being used for advertising or fund-raising but are going directly to reforestation efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2011

La Reserva has the simple mission of planting trees to help heal the earth. Last year they planted 10,000 trees, this year plans are in the works to triple that number. La Reserva works with local farmers, foreign born residents, and indigenous people - whoever wants to join in the campaign to reforest areas with native species and to preserve existing forests.
The dedication of LRFF Founders, Roberta Ward Smiley and Dan Spreen Wilson are an inspiration They embody selfless devotion to their work. Tours through the La Reserva preserve in Costa Rica have transformed the lives of many among whom I am happy to take my place.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the amazing diversity of animals that have come into the La Reserva Forest Preserve simply because of the increase in habitat. Watching it grow from a group planting a few hundred trees in a year to one which plants thousands.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find firm, long-term funding for them so that they could continue their amazing work.

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Working at La Reserva was the best experience of my life and I feel privileged to have been apart of the wonderful work they do every single day. During my time there I got to see first hand the importance of La Reservas work and work with the people, like the Maleku, whom the charity helps support. I learnt about forest regeneration at all levels and how imperative it is we support the natural regeneration of tropical forests as La Reserva does. I can't recommend this organisation, its work and members enough - if you can support it in anyway it will be one of the best things you do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 24, 2012

more

April 24, 2012

I have been working as a volunteer with La Reserva Forest Foundation for almost 3 months now. I have learned and seen alot about this great organisation. The dedication to reforest and preserve the tropical forests is amazing. The people that work here and that work with us are inspiring. La Reserva recently reforested an area near the Rio Sol, its a corridor for flora and fauna to migrate and spread to different locations. These corridors are of high importance and La Reserva is doing a great job creating these corridors. Next to creating corridors and slowly reforesting the world, La Reserva helps the local and/or indiginous people by providing jobs in helping maintaning these reforested areas. Also La Reserva helps in educating those who are involved or interested in reforestation and preservation. I have gain great insights of what I would like to work with in the future. Preserving the worlds tropical forests can be done by giving forests a higher economic value than its destructive values (timber, agriculture), in my opinion carbon sequestration is a great solution. I would highly recommend this organisation to any other future volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 3, 2010

As a former board member and "volunteer," I was helpful in many ways in the founding and organization of La Reserva. It was intense work, because Roberta and Dan are intensely involved in this project... more

April 23, 2012

As a volunteer, I served as a founding member of the Board of the La Reserva Forest Foundation, watching it grow from an idea to a committed and energetic leader of reforestation efforts in the Arenal Tempisque Conservation Area, an area cited as a biosphere reserve by UNESCO as one of the most important watersheds in Central America. Inspired by what La Reserva was doing, we planted thousands of trees on our own property nearby and have been rewarded with the creation of a mini biological corridor for hundreds of species. This has been rewarding work indeed, and we applaud the persistence and dedication of La Reserva in creating a new culture of growth and conservation around Lake Arenal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

April 3, 2010

As a former board member and "volunteer," I was helpful in many ways in the founding and organization of La Reserva. It was intense work, because Roberta and Dan are intensely involved in this project, with a passion for living trees and creating forests to preserve the aquifers and offer opportunities for animal populations to migrate. Costa Rica is one of the most bio-diverse countries on the planet, and we are losing that diversity at an alarming rate. Just one example: the howler monkey population has dropped by 50% in just the last 15 years -- mostly due to loss of habitat, as well as the forest "bridges" that connect one habitat with another. Working with Dan and Roberta is an education -- not just about forests, but about what it means to be so dedicated and energetic in the pursuit of one's dream. Their trajectory over the past few years has been electrifying. They are now known everywhere, including among all the environmental institutions, both public and non-profit. They participate in some of these organizations and carry their message wherever they go -- especially in the local schools. They give tours of the forest they've created, collect seedlings, sell indigenous trees from their nursery, maintain the thousands of trees they've planted, and manage a thorough-going communications program. This is truly an organization worthy of support!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

deciding to dedicate the greater part of our farm to reforestation. La Reserva planted the seedlings -- they were tiny! -- but the miracle has been how fast they have grown. Many have been inspired by this plot and have decided to reforest themselves.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

all great and all passionate about what they're doing.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

From my father, with whom i had a more than lifelong sore contact, i inherited money, during his life and after he eventually passed with 86 yrs of age. I was never an example of gratitude, and could have spent it wiser. - The repeating thoughts were, i want your love, and not your money - Slowly though forgiveness and acceptance did seep through, and somehow early this year i needed to do something again. Trees and planting trees, has a place in my heart. Unfortunately I don't have land of my own to plant on. Roberta's dedication and enthusiasm in this had already touched me over the years. In the name of my father i made quite a big donation to LRFF, and now a grove is planted there, with his name. Their response, and the effect it had on me was overwhelming, beyond words. I cried and cried....... Something good happened on various levels.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I simply feel good about this organization, and the good vibrations they radiate. I find it very touching what they are doing, doing good to nature, to humanity, helping and restoring and inspiring others to join them doing good, and feel good about life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask them to move into my backyard.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Rio Sol Corridor in Costa Rica. Which is serving multiple purposes.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Partly personal reasons, partly feeling the need to do a big donation again, for a good purpose, an investment in feeling GOOD.

What would you tell others about this organization?

LRFF is doing great work to the world, I am glad, feel inspired and honored to know them. For all those people who grow up, and live in apartments, ( so often dominated by tv and computer) who do not have a garden, this is a great way to relate to nature, to plant or to have others plant FOR them. Go visit them, - if possible - feel inspired! - or read up on the website.

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

La Reserva Forest Foundation is amazing. This foundation has a team of dedicated people who work endlessly to try to make a better world for the rest of us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

The work of La Reserva Forest Foundation is so precious, that all words would be not enough. La Reserva is saving our Earth, in fact is saving us, our civilization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers