Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

La Peña is a wonderful place that has so much to offer. As a non-profit is promotes peace an social justice through extraordinary art, great music and a range of classes. It is an awesome music venue, but also a hub for artists, activists, educators and those passionate about community and youth. I am so happy to have come across such a great place, the people are amazing, the artists are super talented and the mural outside the entrance reflects the beauty of the center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

La Peña is dope!!! certainly a Bay Area icon, and one of the most well-respect arts and activist organizations, locally and nationally - doing it righteous for close to 40 years. how many organizations and alternative art spaces can say that?!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

La Peña is more than just a non-profit. It provides a place for communities across differences to come together and learn from one another. I initially came to them for help with a school project on exiled Chileans and I've stuck around for the past 4 years. Going to La Peña feels like returning home. They have given me experience in fundraising, the knowledge of how to house mange, amazing shows and events, and most of all, relationships that will be remembered for a lifetime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Though my main relationship with the La Peña is through decades of prforming with La Peña Community Chorus, over the years I have also been an appreciative producer of both solidarity and cultural events there, a consistent donor to its overall program, and a delighted audience member at so many wonderful concerts, shows, and classes or lectures. It is an incredible resource for the progressive cultural community, providing a warm and supportive venue for presentations and classes. I have been a close supporter of La Peña for over 35 years and look forward to continuing to make a contribution and reaping all the rewards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

La Pena is a wonderful place to get together, and experience the flair of Latin America. They always have great performances which vary in style and taste. When you go there, you feel like in a family, they are so caring and nice. You can see the passion of the staff and everyone there to share cultures and customs. It is an amazing organization that needs to get the recognition it deserves!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I am willing and have the ability to help this charity raise money for this cause. Can anyone tell me who I can contact and their number. Any Volunteers? JulieLyons4@gmail.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

This cultural center has been a part of my growing up as well as a catalyst for my volunteerism and activism. From conscious and thought provoking political gatherings to cool kick backs in the lounge with art from all over the bay and world, to amazing events in the theater. It is a diverse melting pot of cultures, hearts and minds. I hope La Peña will stick around for another 30 years! Peace and blessings -L

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I've been counting the years- decades, really,- since I have been coming back and forth to La Peña...and I can't get enough of this place. This is where I found creative thinkers, critical visionaries, and imaginative social changers come and take action! ¡Viva la Peña!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was a volunteer lighting and sound technician at La Peña for a year or so. It was a wonderful and enlightening experience. I've been used to working concerts and typical musicals, but the original pieces that I worked there were brilliant, relevant to my experience as a queer person of color, and touching. Even the kid's musical shows I worked there made me happy, as it reminded me of the immersion into music my parents always tried to produce for me. The management are really great people as well. They deserve all the recognition, funding, and acclaim in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I absolutely love La Pena, It is by far accessible and affordable multicultural center of the East Bay. It brings in great artists, has wonderful classes, exhibitions, dance-parties, fundraisers, and educational events! Mariola, the director extraordinare of events is also one of the sweetest and most organized people I know. Thank you La Pena!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with Salesforce, help house manager during shows, help with campaigns and social media! Volunteer