Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I am willing and have the ability to help this charity raise money for this cause. Can anyone tell me who I can contact and their number. Any Volunteers? JulieLyons4@gmail.com

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

Musical and cultural diverse programing have provided for me some of the most exciting, energetic, informative, deeply felt experiences in the past. I greatly appreciate their staff´s efforts to bring artist-musicians, spoken word, film, activism and much more to La Peña exposing the public to wonderful discoveries. La Peña Cultural Center is a valued nonprofit entity in the Bay Area community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

La Peña Cultural Center was founded in the 1970s by political exiles from Chile and local activists. It serves the community by offering musical performances, classes, lectures, films, and a venue for community events. I am a member of the La Peña Community Chorus, which is one of many groups which use the facilities to gather, practice, and present performances. The chorus is fortunate to have two excellent directors. The Chorus provides the opportunity for its many members to enrich their lives musically while at the same time bringing messages of social justice and solidarity to our local communities and even abroad. La Peña Community Center and La Peña Chorus are an important part of my life and my community. La Peña Community Center deserves support to remain a vibrant and enriching part of our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

A great cultural center with a wide range of concerts and other performances, talks and discussions of issues [including a regular science topic presentation], films, comedy, theater and dance performances. Art exhibits change monthly. The center hosts classes from music to yoga and has a chorus that performs pretty often. Most performances are directed toward all ages and persuasions, and audiences are diverse, but a group of young leaders are organizing shows and events to attract more young audience members, as well. Some events have a leftist bent that continues activist involvement since the center's founding by Chileans who fled the Pinochet violent dictatorship in the 1970s. Overall, it's a great place to soak up culture and meet people, with a fun cafe/restaurant on one side.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I have taken classes at La Pena, which helped me to develop as a practicing musician. I have been impressed that each teacher not only shares technical expertise in the music form, but also the cultural and historical context of the music. Classes are super fun, and often help you network so you meet people who you can play with professionally!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

This cultural center has been a part of my growing up as well as a catalyst for my volunteerism and activism. From conscious and thought provoking political gatherings to cool kick backs in the lounge with art from all over the bay and world, to amazing events in the theater. It is a diverse melting pot of cultures, hearts and minds. I hope La Peña will stick around for another 30 years! Peace and blessings -L

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I've been going to LP since I was a youth. Great place to meet like minded conscious folks, build community, hear international music & lean about different struggles happening locally & the worldwide.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I've been counting the years- decades, really,- since I have been coming back and forth to La Peña...and I can't get enough of this place. This is where I found creative thinkers, critical visionaries, and imaginative social changers come and take action! ¡Viva la Peña!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I was a volunteer lighting and sound technician at La Peña for a year or so. It was a wonderful and enlightening experience. I've been used to working concerts and typical musicals, but the original pieces that I worked there were brilliant, relevant to my experience as a queer person of color, and touching. Even the kid's musical shows I worked there made me happy, as it reminded me of the immersion into music my parents always tried to produce for me. The management are really great people as well. They deserve all the recognition, funding, and acclaim in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

I absolutely love La Pena, It is by far accessible and affordable multicultural center of the East Bay. It brings in great artists, has wonderful classes, exhibitions, dance-parties, fundraisers, and educational events! Mariola, the director extraordinare of events is also one of the sweetest and most organized people I know. Thank you La Pena!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with Salesforce, help house manager during shows, help with campaigns and social media! Volunteer