Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 30, 2014

more

March 30, 2014

I've followed La Pena for more than 30 years, going back to the time when I worked in an office across the street from that striking mural emblazoned across its front. More recently, I've become a donor. The organization is in the midst of a major rejuvenation campaign designed to maintain its invaluable role as a center for politics and the arts for another four decades. I'm proud to be supporting the effort.
November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

La Peña is a wonderful place that has so much to offer. As a non-profit is promotes peace an social justice through extraordinary art, great music and a range of classes. It is an awesome music venue, but also a hub for artists, activists, educators and those passionate about community and youth. I am so happy to have come across such a great place, the people are amazing, the artists are super talented and the mural outside the entrance reflects the beauty of the center.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

La Peña is dope!!! certainly a Bay Area icon, and one of the most well-respect arts and activist organizations, locally and nationally - doing it righteous for close to 40 years. how many organizations and alternative art spaces can say that?!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a child La Peña was a space where my family sought refuge. A place where Chilenos and other exiled people could find home in a country so far from it. Growing up it would become a space of inspiration and learning. It was here I first heard spoken-word poetry, first saw art that reflected something I could understand, and met people from all walks of life, from every generation imaginable. Now as an adult La Peña remains a space of inspiration that educates the community through the arts, that forges bonds between people at community gatherings, and offers a space for all of us to have a voice and display our talents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

La Peña is more than just a non-profit. It provides a place for communities across differences to come together and learn from one another. I initially came to them for help with a school project on exiled Chileans and I've stuck around for the past 4 years. Going to La Peña feels like returning home. They have given me experience in fundraising, the knowledge of how to house mange, amazing shows and events, and most of all, relationships that will be remembered for a lifetime.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

La Peña is truly a special place that feels like family. It is authentic and important in it's history and passion for the arts. At every event that I have attended at La Peña, I have walked away inspired and have felt an extension of family there. I have been looking for ways to bring this depth of character and passion to centers in Seattle, WA.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

La Pena serves a diverse p opulation by offering cultural and political events that serve to raise awareness and promote action around social, environmental and economic justice.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

Though my main relationship with the La Peña is through decades of prforming with La Peña Community Chorus, over the years I have also been an appreciative producer of both solidarity and cultural events there, a consistent donor to its overall program, and a delighted audience member at so many wonderful concerts, shows, and classes or lectures. It is an incredible resource for the progressive cultural community, providing a warm and supportive venue for presentations and classes. I have been a close supporter of La Peña for over 35 years and look forward to continuing to make a contribution and reaping all the rewards.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

La Pena is a wonderful place to get together, and experience the flair of Latin America. They always have great performances which vary in style and taste. When you go there, you feel like in a family, they are so caring and nice. You can see the passion of the staff and everyone there to share cultures and customs. It is an amazing organization that needs to get the recognition it deserves!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

La Peña is like a family. My husband in is the la Peña Community Chorus and whenever they perform, the staff and volunteers at la Peña and the Valpariso Restaurant make it feel like a family reunion that rejoices in music and fellowship. The message of social justice permeates all that happens there. It is a unique and important venue in the Bay Area - a real treasure. Kaye McKleroy

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help with Salesforce, help house manager during shows, help with campaigns and social media! Volunteer