Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 26, 2014

more

October 26, 2014

I have been on the Next Generation Board for almost a year; after a few years of attending events and doing volunteer work. It's truly been an honor to be a part of such a dedicated, passionate organization that has produced voluminous results in fighting homelessness in Chicago. Hearing first hand accounts from the youths and families that have been helped by LCN is definitely inspiring and of course inspires me to do what I can to help others who are in the same, or similar type of position. LCN has accomplished so much in the twelve years that they've been open, and there is no end of further accomplishment in the present and foreseeable future.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been involved with this organization for about a year. Their comittment to the community and passion for serving clients is amazing. The organization is also efficient and creative in the way it delivers its services.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I joined the Next Generation Board after listening to leaders from LCN speak about the organization's mission at a work event. Working with LCN has been a wonderful experience so far, and it feels great to work with such an incredible group of entrepreneurial, compassionate, and driven individuals to pursue the mission of fighting homelessness.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been in touch with LCN over the last few years and I believe it more than exceeds my expectations. The level of service to a under served population in Humboldt Park is absolutely amazing. Originally, I became acquainted with LCN just to gain information, but soon became a member of the board when I realized the immense amount of amazing work they do for the community!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

As someone who experienced homeless as a youth, I truly understand that importance of La Casa Norte work with Latino youth in Chicago in helping them to find and secure a permanent home. But more importantly, is that they teach and give the youth the skills and resources they need so that they won't find themselves homeless again. There are many orgainzations that help youth but there are few that really empower them to learn how to be successful on their own. La Casa Norte is one of those few organizations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To increase the organization's abilitiy to tell their stories to rest of the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I learned about La Casa Norte from the dynamic executive director and other board members who are truly dedicated to this organization. It is an extraordinary anchor in Chicago's west side neighborhood and is providing critical services to those most in need of them. The organization deserves our time and resources for the impact it is having on hundreds of lives!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

What has impressed me as a Board Member of La Casa Norte is the extent to which the people and the organization will extend itself to make a difference. Instead of just trying to work within the system, LCN employees actively try to help change the system to better serve their clients. They have a deep respect for those they serve, and reach out to those in need with full hearts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have been on the Board of La Casa Norte (LCN) for now almost two years but have known about their work since the beginning, ten years ago. What most amazes me about LCN work is how much they/us try to bring the mission to life! Whether at a Board meeting, fundraising event or working with staff or other volunteers on different projects, you always get this sense that its more than just about solving individual problems. It's about a greater purpose and the need to change how we as society understand, think and feel about homelessness in this country. I know, when I hear about what is being done and the impact it has not just on the families or individuals but on the systems then I feel a great sense hope for the future. Finally, when I talk with my friends and colleagues about LCN, I have sense of confidence and pride. Because I know the approach or strategies LCN uses are bringing about real change as they serve those families and individuals who are homeless and are hoping for a better future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have served on the Board of Directors of La Casa Norte for five years. I am so impressed with the management team, the leadership, vision, compassion, and truly wonderful people who work here.They are effectively working to combat homelessness. The programs they have developed are effective and appreciated by recipients who trust the staff. I have had several opportuniites to talk with clients of La Casa Norte. Each has described the life changing transitions that have occurred because of help they received from staff at La Casa Norte. I have watched Sol Flores, the Executive Director take the vision for a vibrant organization and make it become a reality. For the past ten years she has selected and prepared staff whose energy is focused on preventing the trauma of homelessness. I am in awe of this organization and the accomplishments that have occurred. We have a very committed Board of Directors. I cannot think of a better organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!Administrative assistanceAnnual galaClothing closet organizersComputer labFront desk greeterGarden clubHome cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youthHoliday wrapping partyHoliday party for youth & familiesHunger WalkMentorsPainting & Spring cleaningProfessional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketingTutoringTHANK YOU! Volunteer