Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte during a winter coat drive. I had the opportunity to meet and talk with members of the community who came in because they needed winter coats. La Casa Norte was filling a very real need and it was amazing to work with their staff while spending time with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I helped to give out winter coats to people they needed them. Even though I just volunteered for like 3 hours did it seem that it helped a lot. Also was it awesome to see how happy we made some people, especially kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte as part of project for my Master's program at DePaul. I spent a day at Solid Ground, LCN's male-intentional transitional housing facility for youth ages 16 to 21, and I could not have had a better experience. The residents, staff members, and I made lunch together, played games, and had a wide breadth of conversations, discussing everything from superheroes and movies to bullying, conflict resolution, drug use, and higher education. Besides having an excellent facility, it was clear to me that the staff and interns are committed to providing an educational experience for all residents and, most of all, promoting their autonomy and putting them on a path to independence. I was also blown away by the residents at Solid Ground, who were warm, welcoming, creative, and intellectually curious. I can't wait to spend more time at La Casa Norte.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte this past summer through a social service internship. Though I was expecting to learn from and enjoy my time at LCN, I was not prepared for it to be such a life-changing experience. LCN is truly the definition of an effective non-profit. On my first day at LCN, Sol Flores, the organization's Executive Director, told me never to worry about interrupting any staff member if it was to serve a client, because service to the clients was the reason for LCN's existence and the most important goal each day. As a new intern, this was extremely empowering and is also exemplary of the passion, dedication, humbleness, and ethos of service that pervades the organization. The staff of LCN believe strongly in their mission and strive to best serve each client that walks through their doors each day. As an intern, I carried out a project where I interviewed long-term clients of LCN, and each client that I spoke with identified LCN as a major factor in assisting them and helping them to get on their feet. I personally witnessed this each day as I saw caseworkers, therapists, and Sol form strong connections with clients and go above and beyond to serve them. Though LCN is doing an amazing service for the community, the organization is not content to remain where it is, but constantly strives to do even more. Within a few years, LCN will consolidate its services in one, first-of-its-kind center, and will be able to better assist clients with a true wrap-around model. LCN is an amazing place with a clear mission. Each staff member strives to serve the clients and continue to improve their services. La Casa Norte is, to me, the definition of an effective non-profit, and I will always be grateful for the time that I spent at such an inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!

Administrative assistance
Annual gala
Clothing closet organizers
Computer lab
Front desk greeter
Garden club
Home cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youth
Holiday wrapping party
Holiday party for youth & families
Hunger Walk
Mentors
Painting & Spring cleaning
Professional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketing
Tutoring

THANK YOU! Volunteer