Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.964295
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I volunteered for LCN once a week @ their drop-in center and I can honestly say it was the best, most inclusive, and welcoming space I have ever had the honor of working in. The staff is beyond kind and friendly to volunteers and you can tell they care about/take their jobs very seriously. The mission here is so important and the staff of this agency works incredibly hard to make sure that needs of their youth are being met. I was more than happy to volunteer for La Casa Norte and hope others will follow suit.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I was a volunteer at La Casa Norte last year and I was blown away at all the different things they do to help people who are facing homelessness. Many organizations just set up housing, or just pass out food, but La Casa Norte does it all. They have housing for teens, a free clothing closet that is full of nice clothes that range in use, and many other services that act as catalysts to help those in need. I stand for everything La Casa Norte does, and really do believe they are one of the greatest organizations in the greater Chicago area.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

As a Service Learning Coordinator at a local Chicago high school, I cannot say enough positive things about the mission and staff of La Casa Norte. Our students have helped sort items in the clothing closet, we painted one of LCN's facilities, and prepared a meal for the young adults LCN's provides a home to. LCN, however, continues to go above and beyond in not only providing volunteer opportunities for our students, but educating them on the plight of homelessness in Chicago and empowering students with hope in what work is being done (and what work they themselves can do) to make a positive difference. I had a student volunteer at La Casa Norte and reflect, "I didn't realize there were so many children in Chicago living without food. I want to learn more about why this is happening," while another student shared, "My family has almost been homeless. I'm glad I could come and help, even if in a small way." LCN's supportive and hard working staff has really opened the eyes of our students and welcome them to take an active role in the LCN mission. We are truly blessed to have LCN as a model partner in our Service Learning program.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Junjia Xi (Jenny) I have worked as a volunteer in La Casa Norte for more than two months. Working in La Casa Norte is a really great experience for me. I am excited to work here to help those homeless youth especially one day I helped with doing the photo shot. I can feel the happiness from those homeless youths when they saw the pictures i took for them. Also, people in this organization are nice to me and I learned a lot from the volunteer experience.
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte during a winter coat drive. I had the opportunity to meet and talk with members of the community who came in because they needed winter coats. La Casa Norte was filling a very real need and it was amazing to work with their staff while spending time with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I helped to give out winter coats to people they needed them. Even though I just volunteered for like 3 hours did it seem that it helped a lot. Also was it awesome to see how happy we made some people, especially kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte as part of project for my Master's program at DePaul. I spent a day at Solid Ground, LCN's male-intentional transitional housing facility for youth ages 16 to 21, and I could not have had a better experience. The residents, staff members, and I made lunch together, played games, and had a wide breadth of conversations, discussing everything from superheroes and movies to bullying, conflict resolution, drug use, and higher education. Besides having an excellent facility, it was clear to me that the staff and interns are committed to providing an educational experience for all residents and, most of all, promoting their autonomy and putting them on a path to independence. I was also blown away by the residents at Solid Ground, who were warm, welcoming, creative, and intellectually curious. I can't wait to spend more time at La Casa Norte.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte this past summer through a social service internship. Though I was expecting to learn from and enjoy my time at LCN, I was not prepared for it to be such a life-changing experience. LCN is truly the definition of an effective non-profit. On my first day at LCN, Sol Flores, the organization's Executive Director, told me never to worry about interrupting any staff member if it was to serve a client, because service to the clients was the reason for LCN's existence and the most important goal each day. As a new intern, this was extremely empowering and is also exemplary of the passion, dedication, humbleness, and ethos of service that pervades the organization. The staff of LCN believe strongly in their mission and strive to best serve each client that walks through their doors each day. As an intern, I carried out a project where I interviewed long-term clients of LCN, and each client that I spoke with identified LCN as a major factor in assisting them and helping them to get on their feet. I personally witnessed this each day as I saw caseworkers, therapists, and Sol form strong connections with clients and go above and beyond to serve them. Though LCN is doing an amazing service for the community, the organization is not content to remain where it is, but constantly strives to do even more. Within a few years, LCN will consolidate its services in one, first-of-its-kind center, and will be able to better assist clients with a true wrap-around model. LCN is an amazing place with a clear mission. Each staff member strives to serve the clients and continue to improve their services. La Casa Norte is, to me, the definition of an effective non-profit, and I will always be grateful for the time that I spent at such an inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!Administrative assistanceAnnual galaClothing closet organizersComputer labFront desk greeterGarden clubHome cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youthHoliday wrapping partyHoliday party for youth & familiesHunger WalkMentorsPainting & Spring cleaningProfessional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketingTutoringTHANK YOU! Volunteer