Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I learned about La Casa Norte from the dynamic executive director and other board members who are truly dedicated to this organization. It is an extraordinary anchor in Chicago's west side neighborhood and is providing critical services to those most in need of them. The organization deserves our time and resources for the impact it is having on hundreds of lives!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

As the Executive Director of StreetWise, and the former head of homeless services under Mayor Daley, I have reason to work with many non-profits serving adults and youth in crisis. La Casa Norte consistently provides effective, high quality service to Chicagoans in need. The staff are responsive to partner agencies and clients alike. La Casa Norte administrators run the agency with strong fiscal discipline and a clear strategic vision. I have referred many individuals to La Casa Norte over the years, and I have never doubted that each of them received the best social services available in a caring environment. – James V. LoBianco (Executive Director, StreetWise)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

It's always a pleasure to work with La Casa Norte. The wisdom of energy of their staff and leadership is inspiring! Their mission to help overcome homelessness in the city of Chicago is not only admirable; it's innovative. Combining job training, recreational activities, and even gardening brings a holistic approach to the challenges they face. The youth they serve are enriched for this service mix, and they have far greater potential to cultivate stability in their lives and seek out needed resources in the community. Can't say enough good things about ED Sol Flores and her team!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

We send a ton of service learning students to La Casa Norte to do community service as part of their academic course work and they always have a wonderful learning experience provided to them by the staff and clients of the organization. They are one of our top community partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

What has impressed me as a Board Member of La Casa Norte is the extent to which the people and the organization will extend itself to make a difference. Instead of just trying to work within the system, LCN employees actively try to help change the system to better serve their clients. They have a deep respect for those they serve, and reach out to those in need with full hearts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I don't have direct experience with LCN, but I have a number of good friends who have volunteered here. All of them have been just over the moon about their experiences--they love the people who work there, they think the mission is wonderful, and they feel like La Casa Norte actually gets things done. That combination is hard to come by.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte during a winter coat drive. I had the opportunity to meet and talk with members of the community who came in because they needed winter coats. La Casa Norte was filling a very real need and it was amazing to work with their staff while spending time with the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I helped to give out winter coats to people they needed them. Even though I just volunteered for like 3 hours did it seem that it helped a lot. Also was it awesome to see how happy we made some people, especially kids!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte as part of project for my Master's program at DePaul. I spent a day at Solid Ground, LCN's male-intentional transitional housing facility for youth ages 16 to 21, and I could not have had a better experience. The residents, staff members, and I made lunch together, played games, and had a wide breadth of conversations, discussing everything from superheroes and movies to bullying, conflict resolution, drug use, and higher education. Besides having an excellent facility, it was clear to me that the staff and interns are committed to providing an educational experience for all residents and, most of all, promoting their autonomy and putting them on a path to independence. I was also blown away by the residents at Solid Ground, who were warm, welcoming, creative, and intellectually curious. I can't wait to spend more time at La Casa Norte.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I volunteered at La Casa Norte this past summer through a social service internship. Though I was expecting to learn from and enjoy my time at LCN, I was not prepared for it to be such a life-changing experience. LCN is truly the definition of an effective non-profit. On my first day at LCN, Sol Flores, the organization's Executive Director, told me never to worry about interrupting any staff member if it was to serve a client, because service to the clients was the reason for LCN's existence and the most important goal each day. As a new intern, this was extremely empowering and is also exemplary of the passion, dedication, humbleness, and ethos of service that pervades the organization. The staff of LCN believe strongly in their mission and strive to best serve each client that walks through their doors each day. As an intern, I carried out a project where I interviewed long-term clients of LCN, and each client that I spoke with identified LCN as a major factor in assisting them and helping them to get on their feet. I personally witnessed this each day as I saw caseworkers, therapists, and Sol form strong connections with clients and go above and beyond to serve them. Though LCN is doing an amazing service for the community, the organization is not content to remain where it is, but constantly strives to do even more. Within a few years, LCN will consolidate its services in one, first-of-its-kind center, and will be able to better assist clients with a true wrap-around model. LCN is an amazing place with a clear mission. Each staff member strives to serve the clients and continue to improve their services. La Casa Norte is, to me, the definition of an effective non-profit, and I will always be grateful for the time that I spent at such an inspiring organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Participate in La Casa Norte’s volunteer opportunities, we need you!Administrative assistanceAnnual galaClothing closet organizersComputer labFront desk greeterGarden clubHome cooking night-make/serve dinner with our youthHoliday wrapping partyHoliday party for youth & familiesHunger WalkMentorsPainting & Spring cleaningProfessional services: accounting, fundraising, graphic design, legal, marketingTutoringTHANK YOU! Volunteer